We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Weekend away for my wife's birthday. Hotel has been updated and improved since we were last there 10 years ago but is still a bit tired.4 pm check in is a joke as is only having one lift. Given a very small room which also had a badly stained carpet the guy on reception was excellent and gave us a much larger and cleaner room, bed not comfortable need replacing . Used the pool and sauna which are out with the main building and good. Breakfast is ok and the staff a little uninterested. Ate in the main restaurant on the Saturday which has Nick Nairn's name to it. Menu is not extensive and we found the food quality variable but the service very good. Would I go again for the price, probably not

Room Tip: Front rooms high 317 good, 315 is small and dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    1,237
    806
    383
    183
See reviews for
713
1,976
62
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We were at the Hydro with a large group of family, including some children, all under 10. The hotel was lovely, rooms were fine and the facilities good. What let the place down were the public areas and the dining room. Not nearly enough seats in the public area, piano bar and reception area meant awkward sitting / standing groups which was a pest. The food was OK, but not as high a standard as we were expecting. As a large (20+) group we had pre-chosen our dinner choices to make it easier for both us and the kitchen staff. We still had to wait over half an hour for our starters, all of which were cold options. There were several surcharges on the menu which were not reasonable ie £3 extra for the cheese board which would have paid for all the cheese there, despite it being part of the set menu!
The rooms were fine, but the sofa bed was dreadful! Extremely uncomfortable, so badly curved that it was impossible to sleep on your side...not happy.
So, all in all, an OK experience, but at £150 per night not one I would choose to repeat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VJ_Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to complete the survey and for giving us feedback on your recent stay with your family.

I apologise that a number of aspects did not meet your expectations. Your comments have now been passed to our Heads of Department to review and will be used as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice room and nice dinner Breakfast a bit of a lottery buffet style . when we went to get breakfast the table was cleared and took ages to be reset it looked like a lack of leadership in Dining room . Gym centre had a nice pool ideal for a morning swim and grounds were lovely

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete the online questionnaire and to give us your valuable feedback regarding your breakfast dining experience.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed our Leisure facilities whilst you were here.

We do hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a wedding & the good was great.
The hotel is in a beautiful settings
However I wouldn't stay here again & doubtful any Hilton hotel
U can't get into your room until
4 pm & apparently thats standard Hilton practice .. That's half the day away !!! Not practical at all ..
They also over booked hotel & a couple of people at the wedding who booked there room last May got sent home in paid taxis
As there was no bedrooms for them which they found out at 7pm after the wedding dinner .. Shocking!!
Also the double bed was tiny as my 6ft 2 inch husbands feet were hanging out the bottom!!!
Pretty disappointing from a Hilton

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobgoblinlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing the online questionnaire.

Despite the issues that you have outlined we do value you praising the food at the hotel.

All your feedback has been taken on board to allow us to enhance the level of service that is delivered to our guests. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Loanhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel is really lovely. I was in the old building which I believe is nicer than the newer bit. My room was a little tired but still very nice. Not impressed you have to pay to watch films etc. The food was absolutely lovely first class. The service from the waiters was extremely attentive and very helpful. Breakfast was beautiful everthing you could ask for on a buffet and more. We skipped lunch we were so full.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane. I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about the Restaurant team, I will ensure that they receive them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had to be moved 2 times until we got a room we actually thought was what we had booked. One room smelt of newly cooked fish and chips! Drinks significantly over priced. Dining room food disappointing General quality of rooms in annexe to rear of building disappointing Watch out for large bump on gym floor!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank zumsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete the survey and to give us feedback on your recent stay in our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your visit. We will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team and will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casares, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I am writing this review on behalf of my parents. They were tour group from Japan. Unfortunately, the day they arrived in Scotland after long journey from Tokyo, my father became so ill and had to stay 2 days at the hotel. The hotel staff were so kind and helpful my mother was so impressed with the service. They were well looked after by the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel and again thank you very much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arroyohondo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on behalf of your parents.

I shall ensure your kind comments about the service they received whilst here is passed to the Team.

We do hope your father is recovering well after his illness.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
13.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing