We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip to Dunblane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel was lovely, staff very pleasant, food absolutely excellent, our room, though rather small, clean and modern with a decent sized bathroom. We very much enjoyed our stay and the hotel is ideally situated for Central Scotland sightseeing. My only negative comment is that you are charging £15.00 per day for internet access. This is 2014 not 1985! Wifi in hotels should be included free but even if you wish to recoup the cost of your server then £15.00 per day is just extortionate and is clearly just a money spinner. As we were on holiday we didn't use it and accessed free wifi while we were out and about but I would think business users would be forced to pay these rates. It left a really sour taste in our mouths. I have never stayed anywhere that charges anything like this for 24 access. I would have expected a week's wifi access for £15.00. Shame on you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I was delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us overall.

We do offer free Internet access in public areas for all our guests. This is limited to 1 hour usage per day and can be used on multiple devices. I can appreciate your frustation at the additional cost for internet access after the complimentary hours usage. Complimentary wifi is something we are considering for the future.

Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken to give us this feedback which we will use as part of our on-going commitment to improve and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,556 - 2,562 of 4,156 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were in Dunblane for a Diamond Wedding Party. We were overwhelmed by the assistance offered by Jim Lyon and his colleagues. The hotel is very lucky to employ such fantastic people who really can enhance the experience, and it reflects why so many guests do enjoy their stay like we did. Slept like a log and breakfast was great. Thanks Doubletree.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, which we reckon reduces the chance of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your valuable feedback after your recent stay with us for a Golden Wedding party.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please be assured I shall pass your comments personally to Jim Lyon along with the rest of team.

We hope it will not be too long until you can visit us again.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A return visit to the hydro..
We had a lovely stay overall. there was a wedding on the day we stayed which was actually very nice.. bride was stunning.. also a bus party of Chinese which was poorly organised .
When we arrived at 4 o clock our room was not ready so were given voucher for free drink in bar,
We didn't get our room till 5 o clock
Room very tired and basic but clean apart from dirty door in toilet ,
Our meal was lovely.
Breakfast was ok . could not complain , but just average.
Reception staff fairly lacklustre
Exception being man who gave us our key.
Overall no complaints .p,s. I PERSONALLY HATE THE COOKIES

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annyb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall apart from the Cookies!

We hope that we can welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane in the near future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stopped overnight on way to Outer Hebrides on Coach holiday.
Had read previous reports, and was a little apprehensive - however we had a great stay, the food was of good quality and was well presented. Breakfast there was a good selection of cereals, continental or hot British breakfast, cannot be faulted, only the toaster let the side down it was so slow to heat 2 slices of bread, glad I had not got my hot breakfast first!, but otherwise the hotel was very good, we had a walk before bed round the building, and sat for a while overlooking the drive what a view! Our room was clean and expected, had an easy chair and writing chair also there was a footstool to go with the easy chair, small side table also. Good shower, would use again (though this time be more conservative with the wine - £7.50 per glass).

Room Tip: Room in new Wing - away from front of building, however some do overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were given a DB&B voucher for Dunblane Hydro as a gift for our Golden Wedding Anniversary from our son. When I booked I asked for a nice room and stated it was an anniversary gift. I did try unsuccessfully to upgrade. Our double guest room, which is described on the website as "bright", "elegant" and even "beautiful" was anything but that, in fact it was dark and uninteresting and would be easily beaten by a Premier Inn, functional and more suited to a coach party booking. Our view was of a busy car park. Although this was most disappointing we did enjoy the restaurant food and service. All communications we had received from the hotel indicated that we had something to really look forward to, but I'm afraid we felt really disenchanted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us to celebrate your Golden Wedding.

I am sorry to read that the room allocated to you was not what you expected. Many of our guests prefer staying in this part of the hotel. Unfortunately as the Hotel was full we were unable to offer you an upgraded room. We will do our utmost to allocate you a room in the main part of the hotel next time you come to stay.

I hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again sometime in the future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few years, and have generally been quite satisfied. As other reviewers have commented, the setting is magnificent. That has not changed. I have always been very happy with the food too, especially the breakfast buffet. The room was comfortable and clean although it was a bit warm at night as there seems to be no air conditioning (perhaps it isn't felt to be a necessity in Scotland!).
On our last stay we were obviously unlucky - our stay coincided with a large "Corporate Event" and it was quite obvious that the hotel cannot cope with large numbers attending these events AND look after ordinary guests too, because the standard of service plummeted. Because the bar & dining room were packed my wife decided to have a room service meal in the evening and tried without success for 30 minutes to get through to room service on the internal telephone. Eventually she went down to Reception (and stood in a queue) only to be informed quite casually that "Oh Yes...they unplugged the phone this afternoon because they were busy" - as if it was quite a normal occurrence in a hotel offering All Day Dining that only idiots would think odd! If it had been scripted in an episode of Fawlty Towers I would have been laughing!.To cap it all, when the food eventually arrived it was rather tasteless and poor value for money (presumably also because they were busy). I think this reflects badly on the management. If a hotel hosts large "Corporate Events" it should be staffed to a level that does not impact on other guests.
The staff were very pleasant and friendly however apart from one rather boot-faced receptionist who always seemed to be abrupt and offhand to the point of rudeness and never made even a pretence of apologising for mistakes.
Despite the setting and our previous happy experiences in this hotel I think we will be looking elsewhere to stay on our next visit to the area, which is a great shame because the area and the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate the time and trouble you have taken to share your feedback after your recent stay in our hotel.

I have taken your comments along with feedback from other guests on board regarding the lack of seating areas when conferences are being held at the Hotel. I can confirm that a refurbishment programme is in place to create another lounge area within the Hotel thus ensuring our guests have a comfortable area to relax in during these busy times.

We are extremely disappointed to read about the difficulty you had in trying to contact Reception. This is certainly not the level of service we want our team members portraying.
Your comments have been fed back to our Front of House Manager to reiterate training for the members of staff concerned.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I last reviewed this hotel exactly two years ago, not long after its re-opening under the Doubletree brand and clearly after an expensive refurbishment. It then received a well deserved 4* rating. I then commented on the beautiful public lounges (and showed a picture of one) 'so often missing in modern hotels' Alas, the lounge by the dining room is no longer available to the general public and the larger one at the other end of the corridor appears devoted to corporate events - the general visitor is not welcome and as a result lounge facilities are entirely inadequate for a Scottish country hotel of this size. This situation is exacerbated by the late 4pm check-in. This feature can only be for the convenience of management - it is certainly of no benefit to the customer and is the source of many complaints. In reply to one of these on this website, the Manager claims 'The international standard for our brand of hotel is a 4.00pm check-in' Really?
In the interests of objectivity I noted the check-in times of 15 of the 25 Doubletrees in the UK and could find none with a 4pm deadline. In fact, drive down the road to Edinburgh and check-in at the new Doubletree there at 2pm.
We sampled both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was good with a superb offering of fresh fruit. Dinner was well cooked and nicely served although the dessert offering involved all but one creamy dishes. On mentioning this to the server over coffee, she did say that fruit salad was always available - but this is not mentioned on the menu. Our room was well furnished and perfectly clean.
Make no mistake this was, and in many features still is, a nice hotel. However, I now understand why it is getting an increasing number of very poor reviews. Hotels may make their money from corporate events but inconvenience the independent traveller at their peril. I am sure the management knows what to do. I shall be watching the check-in time with great interest!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

Our check in time is from 4pm onwards, however, we do aim to be flexible with this and try to give our guests access to their rooms earlier wherever possible. We are more than happy for our guests to leave their luggage with the Concierge team to enable them to use the facilities of the Hotel should they arrive before 4pm.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed both of your meals and have passed your comments to the Executive Chef regarding the dessert options.

Plesae be assured your all of your feedback has been taken on board to allow us to enhance the level of service that is delivered to our guests.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,204 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing