We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and food.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The most beautiful setting you'll see but so much of the hotel is in new built annexes. We were there 16 years ago and were blown away by the concept of an ancient hotel. We spent over £1000 for Christmas 2013 for a family of 4, two rooms. Food was utterly amazing, hotel lovely but we were in rooms so FAR AWAY from the beautiful old structure it felt like a travel lodge. I would suggest you make sure you reserve rooms in the old building. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room booked in the original architectural building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments after your stay with us during Christmas 2013.

We will to our utmost to allocate you a room in the main part of the hotel next time you come to stay, please do not hesitate to mention your preference when booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,105
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had stayed in this hotel several years ago and remember it being a positive experience, I don't think its been decorated or for that matter well maintained since my last visit. As a Hilton "Gold" member and someone who frequents Hilton establishments this one definitely falls short of my other Hilton experiences. Also as a Gold member I get upgraded automatically and was allocated a Junior suite - I shudder to think what the standard below was, apart from obvious annoying defects like lights not working, TV broken with a temporary (smaller) unit placed in front and no bottle opener, the room generally decoratively fell short of the standards you would expect - bear in mind this place is charging over £200 per night and unbelieveably getting away with it. I think however the biggest dissapointment is the seriously understaffed restaurant with long queues to get into breakfast, even longer queues at the food counters and food dissapearing faster than they can refill the buffet. I had wished I'd taken a flask of coffee rather than wait to be served by the one person who was trying to cope with a couple of hundred guests - i am an extremely patient individual but I gave up trying after half an hour or so and went back to the room to have coffee - a really poor show. I was there on business with a group of colleagues and everyone was compaining bitterly about the state of the place and the poor service. This place needs a good kick up the proverbial to get its act together. on the plus side, it sits in beautiful surroundings in the wonderful Perthshire countryside so if they do sort themselves out, it will be well worth the visit

Room Tip: Wait till they fix the place up before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gallacherglasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience when you were here.
We will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team and will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This has got to have been the smallest shower I have ever experienced about 60cm x 60cm corner shower it was almost impossible to move. The room had no air conditioning and when I went down for breakfast there was a queue. I know there was a conference running which presumably the hotel management did as well so why there was a significant part of the dining room not being used and guests queuing I can only guess at.

I've stayed here before when there wasn't a conference running and its fine, just make sure they are not running a conference before you book

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your recent review after your stay with us.

All your feedback has been taken on board to allow us to enhance the level of service that is delivered to our guests. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a lovely stay. The food was excellent and they made our anniversary when they gave us a card which contained complementary drinks vouchers. Had use of the swimming pool. They provide towels. The pool was never very busy even when there were swimming lessons going on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback after your recent stay.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane to celebrate your wedding anniversary. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall and shall share your comments with the team.

We hope to see you back at the Hotel some time soon.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would just like to say about my wife and i staying at the Hilton by Doubletree at Dunblane was a very enjoyable one. It was our 21st wedding anniversary and it was made a pleasurable experience by the polite and helpful staff and the relaxed atmosphere. The room, dinner, and breakfast were a very good value as a spring deal, and we will definately be back. My wife and her friend will be planning to go there later in the year as a birthday treat for her friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit to our Hotel.

I am delighted your stay with us for your 21st Wedding Anniversary was a pleasant and enjoyable one. I shall ensure your comments are shared with the team.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming your wife back with her friend to the Hotel later in the year to celebrate her friends birthday.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wife to be booked us in for one night on Sat 14/06/14 on an DBB deal for my birthday. Lovely hotel with exception to the heat in the bedrooms. We got room 253 which was in the "new" part of the hotel. The heat in the rooms caused issues sleeping. Window opened as far as it went and a small desk fan on all night and still the temp was too high.
For a 4 star hotel the room we had didnt match up. Bed was extremely noisy and the bathroom wasnt as good as some lesser gradered hotels we have stayed in.
The public areas are great, albeit expensive. The meal we had in the Nick Nairn room was fantastic as was the breakfast.

I had a treatment in the spa and that too was very good. We never used the pool etc so cant pass judgement on that but it appeared nice from what we saw.

Room Tip: get air con or a fully functional window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevnelFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro for your birthday recently.

We have been experiencing some lovely warm weather recently and unfortunately the hotel is not equipped with air conditioning. I am sorry that you did not find the fan sufficient to provide you with some cooler air.

I will forward your comments to the management team to take on board.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The window in our room barely opened, and our friends was screwed shut. The result was that, despite the heating being off, the heat in the rooms was unbearable to the extent that I fainted in the bathroom.

Very unpleasant all in all.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.

I am sorry to hear you found the heat in your bathroom too warm to the point where you fainted. For future reference we do have a First Aider available at the hotel should you require assistance. Although the Hotel is not equipped with air conditioning we can also provide fans for our guests in their rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey and we do hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing