We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dunblane Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Dunblane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dunblane Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The only issue we had with the hotel was at check in. There was a large wedding party at the hotel and unfortunately they "took over " the vicinity. It was so loud we could not hear what the lovely receptionist was telling us. Glasses and empty bottles cluttered the area which was not particularly inviting. I would have liked to have been advised at the time of booking that a wedding was taken place that way I would have taken the decision to book another date.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    1,236
    806
    384
    183
See reviews for
712
1,977
62
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We needed a great place to stay near Stirling and Edinburgh. We found the Doubletree with the terrific staff and proximity to the local restaurants and pubs to be cleverly close.The concierge drove us to the local village and sent us to a pub for food and a pub for drink. My this place just had the best people. Again, the other guests and other folks in town were a delight.

Room Tip: Book early for double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our team members was good. I shall ensure your comments are passed back to the team.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to both the Hotel and Dunblane itself.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a mix up with our upgraded rooms a credit was added to our bill and we were given the complimentary extras of wine/chocs. The room was nice but a little tired and above the front door so we were woken at 6am on a Sunday by very noisy, inconsiderate chinese tourists, it was also very hot but safety locks on the windows meant we couldnt open them properly to cool down. Staff were so helpful in every area of the hotel. The meal was lovely, steak just melted in the mouth. There was an Indian wedding on the Sunday which really added to the stay, gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madspanielwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane for your recent spa weekend with your friends.

I am sorry to hear that you had a mix up with your rooms on arrival but am delighted that this was positively addressed.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you and your friends back to the Hotel in the future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel was lovely, staff very pleasant, food absolutely excellent, our room, though rather small, clean and modern with a decent sized bathroom. We very much enjoyed our stay and the hotel is ideally situated for Central Scotland sightseeing. My only negative comment is that you are charging £15.00 per day for internet access. This is 2014 not 1985! Wifi in hotels should be included free but even if you wish to recoup the cost of your server then £15.00 per day is just extortionate and is clearly just a money spinner. As we were on holiday we didn't use it and accessed free wifi while we were out and about but I would think business users would be forced to pay these rates. It left a really sour taste in our mouths. I have never stayed anywhere that charges anything like this for 24 access. I would have expected a week's wifi access for £15.00. Shame on you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I was delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us overall.

We do offer free Internet access in public areas for all our guests. This is limited to 1 hour usage per day and can be used on multiple devices. I can appreciate your frustation at the additional cost for internet access after the complimentary hours usage. Complimentary wifi is something we are considering for the future.

Thank you again for the time and trouble you have taken to give us this feedback which we will use as part of our on-going commitment to improve and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunvegan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were in Dunblane for a Diamond Wedding Party. We were overwhelmed by the assistance offered by Jim Lyon and his colleagues. The hotel is very lucky to employ such fantastic people who really can enhance the experience, and it reflects why so many guests do enjoy their stay like we did. Slept like a log and breakfast was great. Thanks Doubletree.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor, which we reckon reduces the chance of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teuchterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your valuable feedback after your recent stay with us for a Golden Wedding party.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please be assured I shall pass your comments personally to Jim Lyon along with the rest of team.

We hope it will not be too long until you can visit us again.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A return visit to the hydro..
We had a lovely stay overall. there was a wedding on the day we stayed which was actually very nice.. bride was stunning.. also a bus party of Chinese which was poorly organised .
When we arrived at 4 o clock our room was not ready so were given voucher for free drink in bar,
We didn't get our room till 5 o clock
Room very tired and basic but clean apart from dirty door in toilet ,
Our meal was lovely.
Breakfast was ok . could not complain , but just average.
Reception staff fairly lacklustre
Exception being man who gave us our key.
Overall no complaints .p,s. I PERSONALLY HATE THE COOKIES

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annyb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall apart from the Cookies!

We hope that we can welcome you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane in the near future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stopped overnight on way to Outer Hebrides on Coach holiday.
Had read previous reports, and was a little apprehensive - however we had a great stay, the food was of good quality and was well presented. Breakfast there was a good selection of cereals, continental or hot British breakfast, cannot be faulted, only the toaster let the side down it was so slow to heat 2 slices of bread, glad I had not got my hot breakfast first!, but otherwise the hotel was very good, we had a walk before bed round the building, and sat for a while overlooking the drive what a view! Our room was clean and expected, had an easy chair and writing chair also there was a footstool to go with the easy chair, small side table also. Good shower, would use again (though this time be more conservative with the wine - £7.50 per glass).

Room Tip: Room in new Wing - away from front of building, however some do overlook the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEPELincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.9 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
13.8 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing