We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely location and the rooms were clean and tidy. The meals in the restaurant was fabulous and worth every penny. The buffet breakfast was also appetising. Well worth the money. My only complaint would be that the bed in the twin room was somewhat squeaky.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,460 - 2,466 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

on arrival we disputed the package that was on offer at time of booking simply ( IF YOU BOOK BEFORE 31ST MAY ,WICH WE HAD, YOU RECIEVE BED AND BREAKFAST NOT ROOM ONLY AND ALSO ONE MEAL AT THE NICK NAIRN RESTUARANT). the staff on duty couldnt care less and some of them didn't even know how to deal with issue at trying to resolve the matter and was passed from different shift personnel to the next shift personnel in the morning who said they would check with "reservations" and leave a note in the room . by evening return, no note ! check with change of shift reception who know nothing about it ! again! BASICALLY FOR THE THREE DAYS WE WERE THERE EACH SHIFT RECEPTION JUST FUDGED THE ISSUE . room was also very dusty and we complained to the cleaner . suggest training your staff . WILL NOT RETURN !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
4  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked as part of a trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary with friends and having lived in Dunblane many years ago we thought this would be a highlight. Sadly we were to be disappointed. The staff were welcoming and friendly on our arrival and check in was straightforward. We were presented with warm chocolate chip cookies, nice touch but unfortunately my wife has a sever nut allergy and so these went in the bin in our small and rather cramped double room. We left our clothes in cases as there was limited hanging and shelf space A visit to the spa pool, in a separate building, to recover from the journey was marred as it's open to the public and several families were enjoying a good splash in the pool, the reserved lanes were rather busy. Back to the hotel building and dinner in "Nick Nairn's" Kailyard restaurant. The service was reasonable in a packed restaurant but the food although adequate was nothing special and frankly at almost £50 per head including one bottle of wine, I expected better. Overall it's all rather tired and a bit worn, the staff for the most part tried hard but it will take a lot of convincing to get me to book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_L2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very good welcome on check-in. The private room was slightly dull but the event organiser and myself rectified this. Food was first class as was service. Rooms were beautifully clean if somewhat small. Our fourth visit and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank gracec874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We love Dunblane Hydro, always have. My wife Linda was born in Dunblane and we have been back loads of times often staying at the Hydro. My wife had her 50th there with all the family so you get the picture. Anyway, I thought it would be a nice treat to go back to the Hydro on Linda's Birthday last week. I booked several months ago and selected a double delus room (facing front, great view etc). When we checked in the lass on reception took ages to book us in and eventually admitted that they had overbooked and did not have a delux double available. She offered a delux twin or a double (with cost difference returned). We took the double at the back of the Hotel. Wake up call when a couple of coaches started up at 07.00 and sat idling for 20mins - was this necessary. Needless to say the occasion was slightly spoilt and you would expect slightly better for that money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great hotel spoiled by waiting for 25 minutes to check in. Hotel could not be faulted for cleanliness and decor of room.Breakfast was excellent,dinner seemed to be OK for my partner but I felt the beef was overcooked

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here twice (one-day stays) during same week in June. Hotel is in old Victorian building on the hillside, very nice location. On first stay arrived at 3.30pm (check in is at 4pm), only to be informed that room is still not ready and that we can wait at the bar until check in time. they were having wedding reception at the hotel, Hindu style. so it was loud, crowdy. OK, rules are rules, so we were back at 4pm, but room still not ready. Saw a lot of other guests that managed to get a room key and do their check in, but not us. We are HH Diamond guests, so one could expect some-kind of good treatment for they best spending guests, but not at this hotel. As we were not happy with the situation, two free drinks at the bar were offered, which we refused, as we were here for lodging, not drinking, and all other guests (counted at least 10, non were HH Gold or Diamonds) got their rooms. our was ready, finally, at 4.20pm, room 333. Room was not too clean, and on the bed duvet we found strange whitish stain, I would not like to guess from what. General cleanliness was not too perfect. On the positive side, internet was extremely fast and reliable, one of the best ones ever. On the negative side, breakfast was disappointing, as we were seated and said that somebody would come to offer us coffee or tea, but nobody came for next 20 minutes, and then we just gave up. also, breakfast choices only for those that wish to die very young from fats or cholesterol, as no veggie or healthy food options were available. Second stay was a bit better, we got a room at 3.50pm (were not there earlier to again try our luck), got an upgrade into family deluxe room (but room floor were uneven and even bed was not even, so we had to sleep other-way-around). Did not tried the breakfast for second time. Upon departure received 15k HH points as compensation for bad stay...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,168 reviews
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: £87 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing