We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definetely come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've just come back from Dunblane Hydro Hotel and still really enjoyed my stay. What a pleasant surprise to be recognised by the front desk staff. I had a different room from last time with a lovely decor. I could appreciate some new dishes at the restaurant and had a lovelly glayva at the bar. My friend and I at e an afternoon tea for the first time: so many sandwishes and scones to eat! We will definietely stay there next time and continue explore Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,519 - 2,525 of 4,159 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in Dunblane hydro from 23rd June for 3 nights. We phoned ahead and spoke with Gillian on reception who was happy, patient and very accommodating. She listened to our request and when we arrived we were allocated a lovely twin room at the front with beautiful views. Unfortunately we never managed to meet her so once again THANK YOU GILLIAN!! We found the staff particularly friendly and helpful again a special thank you to ROSS behind the bar who was so professional. We ate in the restaurant and apart from a couple of little issues enjoyed the food. Can't believe that some reviews complain about the breakfast we found it very fresh and of good quality,plenty of choice and the service was very good. Our room was always cleaned to perfection and had everything we needed including a fan. I had asked for a pillow to be Changed this took a little while but the manager on the front desk Cian apologised to us even although we hadn't complained, we were compensated for this inconvenience. So if you have problems say at the time hrather than posting a bad review. Thanks again Dunblane Hydro and all the staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lindylou40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

An impressive building and driveway however we experienced immediate disappointment when trying to check in after lunch, as we were advised the hotel's check in time was not til 4pm. I have never been to a hotel in my life with a check in that late. When we questioned this we were met with a very surly response from the lady on reception. Not a good start.

When we finally got to our room I almost wish we had continued our wait in the bar. To say the room was basic and tired is a gross understatement. The double bed barely big enough for one adult. We were also right outside the lift which proved as disastrous for a good nights sleep as you would expect with people coming and going all night chatting away blissfully ignorant of how loud they were being. The walls in this hotel are wafer thin as we could also hear the constant chatter of the couple next door.

Thankfully after an average breakfast, pretty sure the scrambled eggs were made from powder, we checked out never to return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank mrfastidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The positives: This hotel is in the most stunning setting. The grounds are immaculate and the building itself is very grand. It is very clean throughout. Plenty of parking on site.

Dunblane is an upmarket town and there is plenty to do in the area with Blair Drummond Safari park and Stirling on the doorstep.

The pool facilities are great for the kids. Lovely and clean with a convenient little cafe. Lovely clean, warm, towels provided and friendly staff.

The restaurant is brilliant for dinner. The staff at dinner time are friendly and efficient. You are assigned a named server and we had Poppy one night then Nicola the other. Both girls were great. The food is delicious, and the restaurant has a lovely, bustly ambience.

Now for the negatives: Breakfast has a good selection but the staff are not very good at keeping up with demand. They frequently ran out of basics like butter, marmalade, cereal, milk and no one seemed to be keeping track or checking. There were no teaspoons on our table to stir our tea, no salt for the fry, no sugar in the sugar bowl, no milk in the jug! Basics! The food is tasty though.

Don't expect a quick and easy service when checking in. The staff seem inexperienced and slow. We arrived at 2pm (they knew we were arriving a little early) and had to wait 45 mins for our room. When we finally did get our room it was the smallest room we had ever seen. You had to shuffle round the bed, I am heavily pregnant and was conscious of my bump hitting the wall, and they were expecting to put a roll out bed for our child in there too. We went back to reception and asked for a bigger room and were told there weren't any (!!!) so my husband asked if we could pay for an upgrade and it turned out they had a family room available, but it would cost us extra to upgrade, and it wasn't ready yet. So we settled into the coffee bar for another 45 minute wait. We ordered two coffees and mine came in a lipstick covered cup. Not impressed.

When we did get the family room it was much better. Spacious and fresh. Although I don't like being lied to.....we were told there were no bigger rooms available at first, yet this family room was sitting unoccupied.

The room was really clean and well equipped but there were massive extractor fans outside our window coming from the restaurant below, which were loud and clunky from 6am til 10 PM. We kept the windows shut to keep the noise out but then it was extremely hot and we had to use a fan permanently to keep the room at a comfortable temperature.

On the whole the negatives above did not ruin our stay. They are just little niggles that need addressed. Between the lovely meals, the great pool facilities, and the great location we had a lovely stay and would go back if we got a good enough deal.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Mathmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was excellent with wonderful views over Dunblane and the surrounding countryside. The food delicious, hot and served on time. We did not use the leisure facilities on offer so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Morna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The setting for the hotel is fab with elevated views of dunblane, welcome was very warm and we enjoyed our hot cookies. The room was pleasant although could do with a freshen up decor wise. Enjoyed a fab cocktail in the bar followed by an exquisite meal. The breakfast was exceptionally good too and all in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionacam2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely location and the rooms were clean and tidy. The meals in the restaurant was fabulous and worth every penny. The buffet breakfast was also appetising. Well worth the money. My only complaint would be that the bed in the twin room was somewhat squeaky.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range: £88 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing