We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“imperfect sunday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“imperfect sunday”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed last night as part of the so called Perfect Sunday. We arrive at 4.00 pm to check in and here is a list of the things that we were unhappy about:
- The check in area is a shambles. Guests were queuing up the stairs and blocking the main hallway. Some of the people in front of us were picking up luggage that they must have checked in/left earlier. Worst of all there were guests whose rooms were not ready and they got complimentary drinks in the bar whilst they waited.
- Luckily our room was ready but when we used the key to get in it did not work. My husband had to go back downstairs to the check in desk to get them to re-activate the key. There were empty glasses and food lying on the stairwell - was there a wedding/function the night before and this is the reason for the rooms not being ready for entry at 4.00 pm which is the latest check-in time we have ever experienced.
- the bar area was great and the staff were really helpful.
- We went for dinner in the restaurant. The staff were really attentive, however, the food was not what we expected and did not tie in with the menu. My shrimp and salmon cocktail said there would be a sauce. There was no sauce. I was just eating fish and salad. I had to send the daube of beef back as the mustard mash was lukewarm. Also the dish said it came with a horseradish cream. The only thing I got was some butter melting on the plate.
- although our bedroom window was open it was humid with no air conditioning. I wanted some water and I could not open the fridge in the room. The receptionist did send send up water to the room which was really appreciated. But rather than give guests chocolate cookies on welcome the hotel should also consider giving two complimentary plastic bottles in the room to allow for the fact that the rooms are clammy and dry in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,314
    843
    405
    190
See reviews for
773
2,105
63
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ABERDEENSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed here several times and this was the worst stay ever. check in was rushed, wasnt asked to sign anything, key card thrown at us and no warm chocolate cookie!! We were in the Stirling Wing, ground floor room. On enetering the room the heat hit us, couldnt open window as it is screwed shut, found fan in wardrobe it was useless. Pink stain on bedsheet. Plug stuck in bath after showering and we couldnt empty water out.When asked at reception if there was another room i was told the hotel was very busy and it was full!! However 2 hours later i was able to go online and attempt to book a room! Another fan was put in our room but it made no difference and its the worst sleep we have ever had in a hotel. Certainly wont be returning here anytime soon or recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank TILLYTOOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Bernay, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've just come back from Dunblane Hydro Hotel and still really enjoyed my stay. What a pleasant surprise to be recognised by the front desk staff. I had a different room from last time with a lovely decor. I could appreciate some new dishes at the restaurant and had a lovelly glayva at the bar. My friend and I at e an afternoon tea for the first time: so many sandwishes and scones to eat! We will definietely stay there next time and continue explore Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in Dunblane hydro from 23rd June for 3 nights. We phoned ahead and spoke with Gillian on reception who was happy, patient and very accommodating. She listened to our request and when we arrived we were allocated a lovely twin room at the front with beautiful views. Unfortunately we never managed to meet her so once again THANK YOU GILLIAN!! We found the staff particularly friendly and helpful again a special thank you to ROSS behind the bar who was so professional. We ate in the restaurant and apart from a couple of little issues enjoyed the food. Can't believe that some reviews complain about the breakfast we found it very fresh and of good quality,plenty of choice and the service was very good. Our room was always cleaned to perfection and had everything we needed including a fan. I had asked for a pillow to be Changed this took a little while but the manager on the front desk Cian apologised to us even although we hadn't complained, we were compensated for this inconvenience. So if you have problems say at the time hrather than posting a bad review. Thanks again Dunblane Hydro and all the staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindylou40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

An impressive building and driveway however we experienced immediate disappointment when trying to check in after lunch, as we were advised the hotel's check in time was not til 4pm. I have never been to a hotel in my life with a check in that late. When we questioned this we were met with a very surly response from the lady on reception. Not a good start.

When we finally got to our room I almost wish we had continued our wait in the bar. To say the room was basic and tired is a gross understatement. The double bed barely big enough for one adult. We were also right outside the lift which proved as disastrous for a good nights sleep as you would expect with people coming and going all night chatting away blissfully ignorant of how loud they were being. The walls in this hotel are wafer thin as we could also hear the constant chatter of the couple next door.

Thankfully after an average breakfast, pretty sure the scrambled eggs were made from powder, we checked out never to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrfastidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The positives: This hotel is in the most stunning setting. The grounds are immaculate and the building itself is very grand. It is very clean throughout. Plenty of parking on site.

Dunblane is an upmarket town and there is plenty to do in the area with Blair Drummond Safari park and Stirling on the doorstep.

The pool facilities are great for the kids. Lovely and clean with a convenient little cafe. Lovely clean, warm, towels provided and friendly staff.

The restaurant is brilliant for dinner. The staff at dinner time are friendly and efficient. You are assigned a named server and we had Poppy one night then Nicola the other. Both girls were great. The food is delicious, and the restaurant has a lovely, bustly ambience.

Now for the negatives: Breakfast has a good selection but the staff are not very good at keeping up with demand. They frequently ran out of basics like butter, marmalade, cereal, milk and no one seemed to be keeping track or checking. There were no teaspoons on our table to stir our tea, no salt for the fry, no sugar in the sugar bowl, no milk in the jug! Basics! The food is tasty though.

Don't expect a quick and easy service when checking in. The staff seem inexperienced and slow. We arrived at 2pm (they knew we were arriving a little early) and had to wait 45 mins for our room. When we finally did get our room it was the smallest room we had ever seen. You had to shuffle round the bed, I am heavily pregnant and was conscious of my bump hitting the wall, and they were expecting to put a roll out bed for our child in there too. We went back to reception and asked for a bigger room and were told there weren't any (!!!) so my husband asked if we could pay for an upgrade and it turned out they had a family room available, but it would cost us extra to upgrade, and it wasn't ready yet. So we settled into the coffee bar for another 45 minute wait. We ordered two coffees and mine came in a lipstick covered cup. Not impressed.

When we did get the family room it was much better. Spacious and fresh. Although I don't like being lied to.....we were told there were no bigger rooms available at first, yet this family room was sitting unoccupied.

The room was really clean and well equipped but there were massive extractor fans outside our window coming from the restaurant below, which were loud and clunky from 6am til 10 PM. We kept the windows shut to keep the noise out but then it was extremely hot and we had to use a fan permanently to keep the room at a comfortable temperature.

On the whole the negatives above did not ruin our stay. They are just little niggles that need addressed. Between the lovely meals, the great pool facilities, and the great location we had a lovely stay and would go back if we got a good enough deal.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was excellent with wonderful views over Dunblane and the surrounding countryside. The food delicious, hot and served on time. We did not use the leisure facilities on offer so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Morna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing