We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to get away”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here last week with my Husband for a child free night. We stay dinner, bed & breakfast. When we checked in we received a warm cookie which was lovely. The receptionist was friendly & helpful.
Our room was a good size with everything you need. Very clean. We didn't have a view but didn't mind.
We were able to use the fitness facilities so we used the pool. Swimming area & changing rooms were clean.
Dinner was amazing, the food was so good. The staff in restaurant were really nice, the restaurant itself it really nicely decorated. Well worth the money. The breakfast was buffet style which was more than enough to set you up for the day.
Would definitely stay here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire12773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro for your recent 'child free' stay.

I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

I hope you will manage to have another 'child free' stay soon and that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    1,300
    837
    404
    189
See reviews for
764
2,081
63
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here with a couple of friends, booked in as dinner, bed and breakfast, and wow it was a lovely stay, the drive way up is spectacular and check in was quick and easy, even got two hot cookies which was a nice touch ! We weren't disappointed with the room we were given, although didn't have a great view but room itself was fine.
Dinner was in the Nick Nairn restaurant and you certainly wouldn't be disappointed with food nor service, both were second to none.
Breakfast was also first class, we went down at 9.30 and food was still of the highest of standard, I must say that the waiting staff all look happy in there jobs and I'm sure must be a credit to your team.
First class stay

Room Tip: A high floor would give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

I am delighted to read that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by the team and in particular the staff in the Restaurant. I will ensure that all your feedback is passed on to the appropriate managers to share with their team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Room was comfortable and clean, food in the restaurant was delicious! Our waitress was a lovely lady called Poppy who was friendly, charming and helpful, a credit to the hotel! The hotel also allows pets, so it was fantastic to bring our fur babies with us too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_Foth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased you and your 'fur babies' had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your comments regarding the service that was provided by your waitress is particularly pleasing and I will ensure that she is made aware of your comments when she is next on duty.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has a nice location, situated on the edge of Dunblane (you'll need a car) and at a prominent position at the top of a hill:
- Warm welcome at reception
- Room size was good; note that Hilton's in the UK aren't as good as Hilton hotels internationally, this was reflected by the general décor/appearance
- No aircon in the room, but it didn't feel stuffy at all
- Clean bathroom
- Good wifi speed
- Decent sized flatscreen TV, minibar, safe all present as well
- Generally clean (although could do with a bit more attention to detail when being cleaned)
- Consistency around cleaning could also be improved (no face flannels on day 1, but these appeared on day 2; no shower gel but 2 lots of shampoo on day 2, etc.etc.); nothing too concerning but just little points to improve upon.

I found the restaurant to be good (had both dinner and breakfast there) and the hotel bar was quite lively with a good selection of drinks. The restaurant food was very good but the service was very slow (took 10 mins to order, then 20 mins for the starters to arrive, etc) - not a place to go if you want to eat quickly! Note I'd recommend booking in advance; although it's a large restaurant it does get busy very quickly. The hotel also seems to attract large tour groups which is quite apparent at breakfast time.

The fitness/spa area is in a separate building about 50m away from the main building; the gym was a bit small but had enough functionality for a reasonable workout. The pool was a nice size (not as pretty as their website photos) but still absolutely fine, and the steam room and sauna were not only a big size but really nice. Changing facilities are in the same building with everything supplied (towels, shower gel).

The staff were also quite friendly and the hotel had a warm feel to it.

Overall I liked this hotel. I'll certainly be back. But bear in mind that it's more of an 'old world' hotel than a modern equivalent.

Room Tip: A colleague had a room above the restaurant (we think) on the 2nd floor, which apparently was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKLondonTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your review after your recent stay with us.

Your observations are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and monitor if we are meeting guests expectations.

All your feedback has been taken on board to allow us to enhance the level of service that we deliverto our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro in the near future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my partner stayed for a friends wedding. After paying £120 for one night with 'wedding discount' we were expecting great things. The 4pm check in when attending a 2pm was not the best, when paying this price for a hotel we expected them to consider allowing us to check in earlier however they refused. We got to the hotel about 15 minutes before check in to be greeted by a staff member who made out they were doing us a favor by having our room ready and allowing us in. Arriving in our room we were very disappointed. Having recently stayed in a premiere inn for £30! we would much rather have paid them the extra. Our mini fridge looked empty however we could not find out as it wouldn't open. We had an interconnecting door to a strangers room which I was not happy about however I understand this is a chance at any hotel. After leaving all of our belongings in the room, as you can imagine we were not too happy to get back to our room to find this interconnecting door was never locked and was slightly ajar. Contacting reception they informed us they could not find the key and we may have to move.However they soon found the key. This door should have been checked before we got to the room. If we could not get in our room until 4 what exactly were they doing to our room? They certainly did not clean it as the door frames had something splashed up them and i just found the room unclean. To top it off when paying this amount for a room I was outraged to find there was a charge to use the wifi! Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback after your recent stay with us for your friend's wedding.

I am sorry that you were allocated a room with an interconnecting door that was unlocked. I can assure you that we do take these matters very seriously. Your comments have been passed to our Executive Housekeeper regarding this along with the lack of basic standard of housekeeping you experienced.

We will take the time to review your comments with the hotel team and will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks great online. We stayed on a Saturday night . Unfortuntely the place was full of pissed up chavs running up and down the corridors misbehaving. I would avoid this if you want a quiet weekend away

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank taniia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry the behaviour of some of the other guests impinged on your stay with us. We do not tolerate behaviour of this sort within the Hotel and I hope my management team were able to put a stop to it.

I hope this would not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Arrive at hotel to be told by sulky receptionist that our room is not ready - I thought room would be ready by 3pm but non - I was told quite clearly that their policy was 4pm! Wifi for one hour free otherwise pay £15.99 or get a Hilton card - really Wifi is standard is most small cafes! Corridor to room had not been hoovered for about 2 weeks - second night no towels in bathroom - had to find somebody to get them for me as Reception do not answer the telephone. This is a second rate hotel - so be aware.

Room Tip: Get a room away from where the buses for bus parties wakens you up at 6.45am by starting engine to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

It is disappointing to read your review and I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Your feedback is helpful to us as we continuously look to improve our guests experience and I shall certainly address your comments up with the relevant Managers.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
1,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
733 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing