We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful and flexible staff, improving facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“helpful and flexible staff, improving facilities”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Spent 7 nights there with our two young children recently, and due to my work commitments, our family spent much time in the hotel. Great base geographically for exploring Scotland.
Good points: without exception the reception staff were great, really helpful and pleasant; upgraded to suite much appreciated; bar staff also friendly and efficient
Medium: food was a bit unimaginative, breakfast very very busy. staff very stressed here. Leisure centre OK, showing its age a bit
Poor: parts of the hotel look tired, and the "newer" wing seems tatty in some places, even the carpets don't look terribly clean
Overall: when you stay in an hotel for a week you do find things that aren't great, but overall we left with a pleasant impression of an hotel which is trying hard through its staff

Room Tip: try to avoid the "newer" wing - getting tatty and walls are very thin, so noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by the team and in particular the front office team. I will ensure that all your feedback is passed on to the appropriate manager.

We will use the information you have provided us with to make changes and improvements within our hotel and it will assist further our aim to provide the very best customer care we possibly can.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    1,267
    824
    398
    187
See reviews for
739
2,039
62
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with hubby , 2 kids and dog . The room carpet was a plain carpet but looked patterned it had that many stains on it , the bed was so uncomfy we wanted to swap for the sofa bed but kids said no way, the room had lots of cobwebs as well, meals are good if your not fussy should have something plain as optional , staff cant fault they where always polite . This was a junior suite we had so it was not as if it was cheap .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

I am disappointed that a number of aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

I have forwarded your comments on to the relevant Operational Managers who will be taking appropriate action immediately and will look at ways to improve.

I am delighted you enjoyed the service that our team members offered and I will ensure that your comments are shared with them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

Regards
Michael P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Picked the Doubletree in Dunblane as our base for day-tripping in the Scottish Highlands. It turned out to be a good choice. Dunblane is small, but nice. We walked from the hotel into the town to dine while we were there. It is only about five miles to Stirling (Stirling Cadtle, Banockburn, Wallace Monument, and more. About 35 miles to Glasgow and Edinburgh, and Loch Lomon. 80 miles to Glencoe. We splurged a little for a Junior Suite. Very spacious for two. The room was in the original spa-hotel building and had a nice view over Dunblane to the hills beyond. There is also a more modern hotel wing in the back. We loved the breakfast buffet. I had haggis every morning and it was good. Also good bacon, sausage, and eggs. The oatmeal was excellent. There is a nice bar too. We did not have dinner in the hotel restaurant, but it was busy every night. The hotel sits on a grassy hill above Dunblane and the grounds in front of the hotel are nice. There are some benches for sitting and enjoying the view. There is abundant free parking behind the hotel. It appears to have good facilities for business meetings. We did not use the gym or pool, but both seemed popular. My only two minor complaints were the decor in the room was a little bland for such a nice location and the carpet showed a few signs of wear, but not much. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback after your recent stay.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro for your base while you day tripped round the Highlands.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope that you will return on your next visit to Scotland.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were taking our 2 grandchildren for a night at Dunblane and on to the Safari Park the next day. We have stayed at Hilton hotels on numerous occasions but not with our grandchildren. The room was a superior family room but when we arrived, although the room was lovely, the children were supposed to sleep on a sofabed together which was not good- they are not used to sleeping together (what if it was a boy & girl) so we ended up sleeping on sofabed which was a bit lumpy. Breakfast was not as good as remembered - they ran out of pastries and didn't renew and also we had to ask for more bacon and eggs to be put out. We had to ask to have the table cleared. The main gripe was the family rooms are not really 'fit for purpose'. Would go back again on our own but would not use Hilton if taking children again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review after staying with us recently.

Your feedback is important to us and I have shared your comments regarding breakfast with the Restaurant Manager.

I am sorry you found the room you were allocated not fit for purpose. We do have larger family rooms within the Hotel. Should you wish to return with your two grandchildren again please let our reservation team know your sleeping preferences in order to secure a larger room.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
double tree dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

on arrival this htel looks superb, once in your opinion changes. stayed twice on our recent visit and on both occasions had to have bathroom recleaned. rooms very small not much room when 2 people sharing. the breakfast wasnt a great experience had to ask on several days for food it was just chaos some days staff didnt look as if they wanted to be there. you dont expect to enter a new room and find hair and nails all over the bathroom floor especially a 4 star wont be hurrying back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

We value your feedback after your recent stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of basic housekeeping you experienced in your room. This is not the level of service we wish to provide for our guests.

I have passed on your comments to the Executive Housekeeper regarding the cleanliness issues in the bathroom and can assure you that we do take these matters very seriously and act upon them immediately.

I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunblane hotels

Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights for my wife's 60th birthday & on the whole the hotel was very good. We ate in the Kailyard restaurant with friends on the Sunday night. The meal was excellent quality but my portion was on the small side. Breakfast was very good too, scrambled eggs were particularly good. We were also a bit disappointed with the children's menu, was a bit fancy for most children & there was no deviation from it when asked!! The cocktail bar was excellent & staff were very good. Girls on reception were good too even though they were very busy. Housekeeping left a wee bit to be desired in that our water glasses weren't washed or changed in, the 3 days we were there. Also there was an empty wine glass left in our room on Sunday night and was still there when we left on Wednesday!! That aside, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate you choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro hotel for your wife's birthday celebration and I am delighted you enjoyed your visit.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by the team and I will ensure that your comments are shared with them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Having been informed the night before our stay that the supererior room we had booked would be unavailable, and that we had to be moved to a junior suite, we didn't worry too much about it as over the phone the staff member was extremely apologetic and promised to do everything to make our anniversary/overnight stay as special as they could. On arrival to our room, the door frames had chocolate finger prints round them, one of the white netted curtains also chocolate stained, the window in the suite area was filthy covered in what looked like sudocrem and the cabinet under the tv had wine glass marks from previous customers. Walking in to the room from the suite area I noticed the gap between the cabinet and wall contained various objects i.e. children's toys, pens, general rubbish. There were also marks down the side of the cabinet where there had been obvious previous spillages which hadn't been cleaned. The carpets were stained, there was a sock under the bed from a previous customer and the towel over the bath appeared to be covered in fake tan. We were given a couple of freebies as an apology for the last minute change of room however on the final bill the room price remained for the superior suite and was only changed when I pointed out it was the junior suite we stayed in. Although we appreciated the apologetic phone call and free bottles of wine, the standard of cleanliness was awful and unacceptable. We asked at reception for a new towel when we were down for our meal, we were assured it would be replaced straight away, which it wasn't. Overall very very poor.

Holly Mason

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyMason90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunblane
2.8 mi away
Cromlix
Cromlix
#1 of 1 in Kinbuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Churches House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
13.7 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
11.4 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro

Property: Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Address: Perth Road, Dunblane FK15 0HG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Dunblane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dunblane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Hotel Dunblane
Hilton International Dunblane
Dunblane Hydro
Hydro Dunblane
Dunblane Hilton International
Doubletree By Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing