We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,515)
Filter reviews
4,515 results
Traveller rating
1,406
1,481
933
459
236
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,406
1,481
933
459
236
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kailyard restaurant nick nairn cookies cocktail bar separate building front facing main building leisure facilities junior suite steam room both nights doubletree by hilton dinner bed and breakfast relaxing break self service beautiful building short break
Filter
Updating list...
2,037 - 2,042 of 4,515 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

On arrival easy check in and a gift of a warm cookie lol Room a little small for this grand hotel, but nice a comfortable.bar prices are a disgrace,glad we brought some cocktails for our room as we would have no money left with the bar prices,the best thing about this hotel is the breakfast it was amazing. They had everything you could think of

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank weddings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear GordonGo

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us and note the comments that you have made.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back at some point in the future.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

Overall the hotel was good and the warm cookie touch was great. But the beds were a little difficult to sleep on especially the single beds as the top mattress kept moving. Difficult if you move a lot when you sleep. The breakfast was nice but perhaps it was my batch which was a wee bit salty to my liking.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank markleo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear markleo82r

We appreciate the feedback you have shared with us following your recent visit to our hotel.

I am sorry you had difficulty in sleeping whilst you are here. I will ensure the Executive Housekeeper is aware of the issue that you had and will ask her to ensure all top mattress covers are secure on the beds.

I do hope you will return to the hotel some time in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely night in the Dunblane Hydro. We booked DB&B, our meal in the hotel restaurant was fabulous, our room was clean, pleasant and comfortable and breakfast was the perfect end to our break leaving us pleasantly full up for the rest of the day. For the rate I managed to get, this was fantastic value too, thoroughly recommend

Room tip: Great views at the front of the hotel but you pay more for those rooms generally
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy_Legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear Sandy_Legs

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments with us following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am delighted that both you and your wife enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Loved our stay at the hydro for my 40th birthday surprise. My husband booked the penthouse suite and it was amazing, a separate bedroom, living/dining area and 2 bathrooms. We had dinner in the Kailyard by Nick Nairn Restaurant and wow it was amazing, the food and service were first class.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emscott75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear Emscott75

What a lovely surprise for your 40th Birthday!

I am delighted you and your husband enjoyed your time with us to celebrate your birthday and that you like Penthouse Suite and your meal in the Restaurant.

You must return the favour some time!

We look forward to your next visit and hope it will not be too long until we can welcome you both back.

Happy belated 40th Birthday!

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights on the DBB offer ,upgraded to a junior suite ,was a bit apprehensive reading some of the reviews but wasn't disappointed ,our suite was on the fourth floor ,large bedroom with the most comfortable bed ever large sitting area with ample bathroom ,stunning views over the grounds towards Dunblane and rolling Scottish hills ,sure there some stains on the carpet and a we bit of dust here and there but nothing to spoil the lovely room ,never had any problems with the lifts ,were always available never waited long at any time ,one thing the passage ways are narrow and there's a few alcoves and stairs so if your not the fittest this may be a problem ,Now here's what makes this offer so good ,most others offer you have a £25 voucher towards meal but this one includes the total cost of your meal ,apart from drinks and any supplements for courses ,there's plenty choices ,foods lovely,staff in the dining room are great ,friendly and courteous ,be sure and book the Kailyard before your arrival there's a link on your welcome e - mail you receive prior to your arrival ,breakfasts are great as well ,all in all one of the best offers and most relaxing breaks we've had in a long time

Room tip: upgrade to the suite ,spectacular views
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Dunblane Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Dear john l

Thank you for sharing your comments in relation to your recent stay at our hotel.

I am pleased you had a relaxing time whilst you were here and enjoyed your meal in the Kailyard by Nick Nairn Restaurant.

I appreciate you advising guests to pre-book their dining time in the Restaurant before they arrive. It is a very popular restaurant and pre-booking is essential in order to secure a convenient dining time.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Michael P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews