We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most dissapointing weekend”
Review of Holiday Inn Corby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Corby
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corby
1 review
“Most dissapointing weekend”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here under their girls night in spa break. We were suprised when the hotel was lovely and it was clean. Then we went into the spa area which was disgusting the water was merky, floors fithly, changing area disgusting this needed a lot of scrubbing some more seating so dissapointed. Lunch we ate in the bar area and that was lovely then we had dinner! I started to eat my tempura battered Pangasius and thought to start tempura batter shouldnt be that thick it tasted of flower when i went to take batter off to just eat fish the batter was raw and sticky all over the fish. My friends had the duck which was all over cooked and dry! We did make the waiter staff aware so they could feed it back. Breakfast was buffet style so was fine. If you are just staying at the hotel then you shouldnt have a problem the rooms were clean n spacious but id would go out for dinner!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Izzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Izzy,

Many thanks for writing about your experience of our Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments with regard to the Leisure Area. These observations will be discussed with the managers concerned and where appropriate action will be taken. On a brighter note it's pleasing that you found the Breakfast enjoyable and the room clean.

Many Thanks
Bruce Rowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    97
    61
    40
    28
See reviews for
47
57
6
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and another couple stayed over the Easter weekend,having booked a two night deal including dinner on the first night. On arrival there had been a mix up and only one room had been booked by Superbreak. Reception staff didn't make a fuss and it was remedied and we were in ours rooms swiftly. The hotel is very clean and housekeeping obviously work hard. The decor is looking a little tired and the carpeting in some of the public spaces is getting threadbare. The room was very clean and tidy and quite comfortable. We ate in the dining room on the Friday evening and the food was very good. The dining room was quite quiet and I agree with one of the other reviewers that you felt you were imposing on staff, however the experience was not negative. Breakfast was excellent however on both occasions I had to ask for items that had been available the previous day and vice versa. The breakfast hot buffet was variously stocked and fruit and cereals were readily available. All in all the experience was fine. What we had paid was very good value. I would note however that the Hotel is fairly isolated and there is nowhere within walking distance. A car is essential or you will rely on taxis

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank over40dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Dave,

Many thanks for the time taken to write your review of our Hotel. It is good to read that you enjoyed the experience, the meal and had a good relaxing break in general. Along with all the rest of the team we do hope that you get the opportunity to come and visit us again in the not too distant future? Once again many thanks for the kind comments.

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is basic and caters for your most basic needs. Rooms were clean, reception staff helpful and good variety of food on the breakfast (though the staff here didn't seem like they wanted to be there but coffee was served quickly). Though, I've stayed in other hotels in Corby and this one, for the same (ish) price is one i would go to as a last resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie_Leicester101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Charlie,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We thank all our guests for their thoughts and experiences whilst staying with us. I am however intrigued that you have described our Hotel as catering for 'your most basic needs' when among the facilities are a swimming pool, gym, beauty rooms, two distinct eating areas with different menus and 3 different levels of rooms on offer! In fact since your stay last year the Hotel has just started to upgrade many of facilities and will continue to do so throughout the year. On this basis I hope that should you have the need for accommodation in the area you may try us again?

Many Thanks

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very friendly and efficient staff made our 2 night stay highly enjoyable. Ideally located and everything you need is on hand. We've always been happy with Holiday Inn restaurants but the quality of the food in this restaurant was rather special..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi Johnny,

Firstly many thanks for writing such a great review of our Hotel, it makes excellent reading to see that you found the staff so friendly and efficient. It's also fantastic to read that you found our food so special. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the Chef and his team. Once again many thanks for writing such a great review of our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brimscombe
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is standard HI fare. The rooms are big and well equipped, the free Wifi works well and the staff are helpful and friendly.
The gym is OK, no more, it's a bit small but equipment is OK and the pool/sauna etc OK and not crowded.
Public areas are a little drab and old fashioned, and bar area is basically in the foyer, so not very atmospheric.
Food OK, but not much veggie choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Brimscombe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. It's nice to read that you found the staff helpful and friendly. The old fashioned area you describe will shortly benefit from a major refurbishment, as will much of the rest of the Hotel. I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Many Thanks

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed overnight as a family prior to our son competing in a national athletics competition.We were provided with the requested interconnecting rooms and check in staff were very helpful. But from that moment on our experience deteriorated rapidly. Our evening meal was badly cooked, and in my husband's case, almost inedible. We tried to get an early night as we needed to be up at 6am, but this proved impossible as there was a party going on downstairs into the early hours of the morning. As a result we were all exhausted in the morning. I asked for a wake up call at 6am, but the phone rang at 7am despite me reminding the reception that the clocks were going forward. Finally, we had looked forward to breakfast,but at this point were not surpised to find the breakfast very unappetising, with sausages not cooked through properly, no orange juice and limited healthy choices.
When I went to reception to pay, no one asked if we had had a pleasant stay! For the record, we will not be returning here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Mems

I was disappointed to read about your experience whilst staying with us. Please accept my apologies that your stay didn't live up to your expectations or indeed our usual standards. Some of the areas you draw attention to are ones that other guests have commented very positively on so I will certainly look into your concerns.

Kind Regards

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corby hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We needed to stay overnight at a hotel after finding that a rat had gnawed through the pan connector on the toilet at my sister in law's house! We rang the Holiday Inn at Corby and thankfully they had a room available and accepted dogs! When we arrived we were offered a ground floor room as' that might be easier for taking your dog out later this evening'. We had room service for the evening meal and drinks. The service was quick and the meals were huge, hot and comforting. There was a charge for room service of £5 for the meals and drinks (a lower price for drinks only). There was a notice offering soft or firm pillows on the bed and also information in the bathroom about complimentary toiletries being available from reception. We both slept well. Breakfast was the usual selection of cereals, fruit juices, pastries, continental meats and cheeses plus a full English breakfast with toast. Tea and coffee were offered on arrival at the restaurant and they were able to accommodate my husband's request for green tea. All in all an excellent stay. We would certainly go again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 258Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Corby, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Alison

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing report of our Hotel. It's great to hear that you found everything to your liking. It's a shame you weren't visiting us under better circumstances but I trust all is well now at your sister in laws house? It is fantastic that you would would recommend us to others and we would hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future. Once again many thanks for the kind review.

Bruce Rowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corby
2.9 mi away
Best Western Rockingham Forest Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Corby
1.7 mi away
The Saxon Crown
The Saxon Crown
#2 of 6 in Corby
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Raven Hotel
The Raven Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corby
102 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kettering Corby
7.9 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Corby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Corby

Property: Holiday Inn Corby
Address: Geddington Road, Corby NN18 8ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Corby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Corby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Corby 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel is located in the heart of Northamptonshire within easy reach of some beautiful countryside and stately homes, this fully air conditioned Corby hotel is conveniently located for leisure and business. The M1 motorway is easily accessible, as are Birmingham, Luton & East Midlands airports.For speed demons the Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel is perfectly located for Rockingham Speedway, home to British Touring Car Championships. Silverstone, home of the British Formula 1 Grand Prix, is a 40 minute drive. If it s leisure that brings you to Corby, Northamptonshire, why not visit Rockingham Castle to see where Charles Dickens spent time or Wicksteed Park for a great family day out. Retrace Jane Eyre s footsteps in the Georgian town of Stamford or explore the grand Burghley House. Althorp House, resting place of Diana Princess of Wales.If you re visiting Corby on business, our air conditioned meeting rooms for up to 250 people plus high speed Internet access throughout the public areas, make the Holiday Inn Corby-Kettering hotel the perfect place for any event. Our Triangle Health & Fitness Club, complimentary to guests, is perfect if you wish to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Corby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Corby Hotel Corby
Corby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing