We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good variety on the menu and well priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spread Eagle

Spread Eagle
Ranked #40 of 106 Restaurants in Corby
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good variety on the menu and well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have been here a few times and must admit the food has always been very good, so I don't necessarily agree with some of the reviews about poor quality food. There is a good choice of food on the board and if you are a vegetarian you wont be stuck for choice either. If you're on a diet though there is not much to chose from! You get 2 for 1 from the menu or the board, which makes it very reasonable.
When the weather is nice they have a lovely seating area outside which is quite big, with some climbing things for kids too.
The inside of the pub is quite large so you can usually find somewhere to sit.
The service is sometimes a bit hit and miss and sometimes we've had to chase staff down to take our order as they don't always have enough staff for the size of the pub.
Plenty of parking to front and rear of pub too. Wheelchair access to pub also available through the side door.
Pub is always nice and clean and so are the toilets ( I always judge a pub by the toilets. Must be a woman thing).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    53
    35
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
jeff in uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Didn't enjoy it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Poor quality food and despite booking a table with wheelchair access, we were put up a level in a tight corner because they couldn't find the booking.
They weren't really interested either.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bertie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“very good food food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

very good food and and service plus very good carvery

Helpful?
Thank rutland-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastict Food,Lovely Atmosphere,Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Went for Sunday Lunch but instead liked the look of the Monster Rodeo Burger.
WOW, I'm not a fantastic lover of burgers but it looked good on the menu. The menu didn't do it justice, it was better and the best burger I have ever had!
Family and friends all tried different items and everyone was SO impressed. I am now looking forward to going there again in the VERY near future.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyT325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK BUT BAD SERVICE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

went to spread today for lunch with my partner son and mother and sister in-law as soon as we arived we had to find our own seat and then had to find a member of staff to get our son a high chair ( this lady was vey nice and showed us the child area ) when we got the high chair it was dirty so i let a member of staff know she came out with a cold damp smelly cloth and placed it down on table i had to clean it myself which i did do with toilet paper and soap they brought the food out quite quick and it was worth the money we had chicken chese burger was very nice and a good portion but not that anyone came to check if our food was ok we never seen anyone again til we were ready to pay

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spread Eagle also viewed

Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing