We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Microwaved baked goods and weak tea” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockingham Tea Room

Rockingham Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Corby
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Microwaved baked goods and weak tea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was a while before our order was taken, despite us being the only customers there. This was due to the staff member being too involved in a conversation with a friend.

Our cream tea contained tea so weak, I couldn't drink it, and the scones were bought out from the chest freezer behind us, then microwaved till it was so chewy my friend and I couldn't even eat them.
Paying for our tea was also a task, as the staff member was by now on the phone, with what seemed to be a personal conversation again.
I doubt I will return here

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tulip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
leicester uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

we had a lovely afternoon tea, good menu. it seemed perfectly clean to me, and tables were cleared promptly. we shared a chicken sandwich which came cut into triangles with a salad and a few crisps on a plate, very nice. we also had a cream tea each, which was two fresh warm homemade scones each, with clotted cream and nice pot of jam and a pot of tea for two with a pot of hot water, with nice china and table cloths on the tables. the service was very warm and friendly and fast and efficient. there were plenty of tables big and little. it wasn't cheap but then I didn't think it was expensive either, the cream tea was about £5 odd each including the tea. the sandwich was about £6 odd, I think the bill was around about £18. you could take a picnic if its nice weather to sit in the lovely grounds of the castle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“So-so, don't expect much beyond the average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

A very basic tearoom, which at first appearance isn't particularly clean. On further inspection after sitting down, we realised it really isn't that well taken care of.
We ordered cakes and a pot of tea, all of which arrived quickly enough. The cake was fresh and the tea was hot, so what more could you want?
It was quite pricey for what we had, so we aren't likely to visit again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Too slow and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

The menu was good but service was too slow and prices too expensive. The tables are too close together for comfort but I presume that this is necessary to fit in enough tables. take a picnic instead.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 247Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great venue for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We use the Tea Rooms every week for our lunch after our game of golf . The welcome we get is always warm and friendly . The table clothed tables and china tableware add to the cosy atmosphere . There is a varied menu and a good selection of hot and cold drinks , the coffee is freshly ground which is especially tasty .All food is made to order and nothing is too much trouble from the friendly staff . Would recommend if only just for a cuppa !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TOMNSUE472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockingham Tea Room also viewed

Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 
Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 
Corby, Northamptonshire
Corby, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Rockingham Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing