We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is our family Friday night "go to" spot”

Wildwood - The Old Bear
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Cobham
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Wildwood at The Old Bear is a small collection of restaurants that serves freshly prepared food. Our aim is simple: To serve great food delivered by friendly staff in a relaxed, homely environment. Whether you choose from the grill section, stone-baked pizza or our freshly prepared pastas, our passion for high quality food is the main focus throughout all of our restaurants. We have a private function room where we can cater for large groups, buffets and private meetings and also an outdoor children's play area alongside our new heated outdoor umbrellas. Look out for our exciting Christmas menu coming soon too!
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is our family Friday night "go to" spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The service here is top notch and the food is very good. My favorite is the super food salad with smoked mackerel, for our son it's the margherita pizza and my husband's selection is always a surprise -- often one of the tasty pasta dishes.
Due to the variety of options on the menu, we always take our guests here when they visit. It's a comfortable local restaurant, with good food, great service, and served up with a cold beer or a nice glass of wine ... what isn't there to like?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    92
    42
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the outside it is just another home counties gastro pub, and on the inside it is a bit on trend for 1989. However, the service is great and the food rather good. I went with friends and we each ordered something different and all were really good. Definitely worth a visit. Good for couples and large parties alike.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by the decor, spaciousness of the bar area as well as the size of restaurant areas for my first visit. The bonus for parents is the great garden with a dedicated play area for the kids. We were very well attended to by Charlie the helpful young waiter, who appears to gave ploughed his way through most of the menu as his knowledge of each dish was really good. A must as a starter is the mushrooms with Gorgonzola cheese that even my wife enjoyed, who never normally eats blue cheeses. The excellent menu offers steaks, fish, pasta and pizzas and I had the best pizza I have ever had, that would put pizza house to shame. Be warned however you do need a good appetite as the portions really are generous and I cannot wait to return, to sample some the other delights offered at this fantastic place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ace-Events
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I spent the morning in nearby Painshill Park and were looking for somewhere for lunch. On making enquiries in the Park Shop we were directed to The Old Bear.

Finding it was not a problem; parking there was. It seems they do not enforce a 'customers only' policy. We eventually managed to find an "unofficial" spot in the car park into which I could manoeuvre our small town car safely and went inside.

The menu has a reasonable selection. My wife chose Smoked Haddock Risotto and I had the Sirloin Steak. Service was provided by Charlie and was exceptionally friendly and helpful throughout.

My wife enjoyed her meal but the quantity was too much for her. It was not that the rice and the fish were our of proportion. The serving was just too generous. I was somewhat disappointed to find that the restaurant had neither French nor wholegrain mustard for my steak. In the event it did not matter too much as the provided sauce was delicious. However, if mustard is what you want to go with your steak then take your own. My steak was about 85% edible which is not bad for sirloin. The fatty 15% adds to the flavour but you would not want to eat it. The meat was also tender and very tasty.

I was delighted to see one of my favourite desserts on the menu, namely Lemon Meringue Sundae, and I had this. It was pleasant enough but I thought they were a bit mean with the lemon sauce. M&S do a very good one if you want to take your own, or perhaps I should have asked for a bit more.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience in comfortable surroundings. We were lucky enough to have a table by the window; other tables looked unacceptably badly lit. You might want to bear this in mind if you make a daytime reservation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorBrian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very contemporary pub experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great food with mod touches (mozzarella, avocado) good salads and burgers along with excellent range of beers and wines.
Choice of dining indoors, hanging at the bar or enjoy good weather in the outdoor garden which is great if you have smaller children.
Cobham is not on the beaten track for most London tourists as it is about 1 hr south of London by train in Surrey, but near one of the American International Schools. A nice village/town popular with expats so if you visit friends -- this is a great spot for lunch or dinner. Limited parking next to the pub.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 505sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildwood - The Old Bear also viewed

 
Cobham, Surrey
Cobham, Surrey
 

Been to Wildwood - The Old Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing