We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Setting”
Review of The Hothouse Cafe

The Hothouse Cafe
Ranked #15 of 46 Restaurants in Cobham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Honest, fresh food crafted and served with love. A family run cafe in the restored Victorian Hothouse at The Medicine Garden in Cobham, Surrey.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Private Setting”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We attended a wedding here in dark cold wet January. The venue is perfect for a small event with a section that can be closed off for privacy. The staff were charming and attentive and the food and ambiance were perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and the wedding party could circulate and mix easily.

If you want silver service and starched linen you'd need to ask as it's a more relaxed and country kitchen set up but don't let that put you off holding a party here as it's quite unique and very bespoke.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eckingtonrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wedding at the Hothouse Cafe - 4th Jan 2014”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We cannot thank you enough for the wonderful afternoon that you gave us on our wedding day. The Hot House Cafe was such a welcoming place to come to after our ceremony on the 4th Jan this year, as the weather was not on our side. The ambiance was delightful as was the wonderful service that you & Becky gave us all afternoon. We also cannot thank Tory enough for the absolutely delicious food that she prepared for us. Our friends and family have not stopped commenting on what a superb day that they all had. We know that our special day was the first wedding that you have catered for but is was a complete success and we will never forget it - highly recommended. Thank you all so much and we hope to visit again very soon.

Fondest regards .

Maz & Arthur

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz_Aira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“could be fantastic”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Such a shame that this beatifully set up idyll had such unprofessional staff and served such disappointing food.We took two ten year old girls in for lunch. Both of whom chose from the childrens menu.,There is no recommened age guide for this menu , the waitress made no comment and certainly the price didn't lead us to expect anything meagre so we were absolutely dismayed when each child was served HALF A SANDWHICH made with ONE slice of bread accompained by four crisps!!All far from fresh.
Most upsetting was the attitude we experienced on raising this issue .
customer service dismal .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab food, nice place”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal lunch here of bacon and sausage ciabatta. Really filling and beautifully presented. The staff there are really helpful and friendly. The whole setting of this place is lovely and will definitely come back when the weather gets better and sit outside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dazedconfused26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab place for family get togethers or kids bites”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Lovely, quaint, funky fun place to dine - had a perfect lunch with kids and sister and staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. Assume it would be on a par with a garden centre cafe given where it is located but was far far better - strong recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hothouse Cafe also viewed

Cobham, Surrey
Cobham, Surrey
 

Been to The Hothouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing