We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleaver

Cleaver
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Cobham
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxshott, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yum!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you like meat it's a must!! Very quick and very tasty. Staff friendly and not too pricy. Would go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank edwardp579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    88
    58
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

very disappointed with Cleaver, you can not go wrong with baby chicken, especially if you paying a high amount. Did not enjoy the food at all and and personally expensive, half a baby chicken for over almost 9 pound, of course you would need to order a few more side which are 2.95 each. thereby probably end up paying over 15 pound just for a half a chicken and chips.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple yet effective”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Going with the concept of this place being simple with a short menu, they are doing well. However I'm sure if they wanted to reach a wider customer range then they would do well to have some more variety. It seems odd that there are no steaks in a restaurant called cleaver. We were quite surprised. However what we did eat was delicious and we will be returning, but with what we want to eat already in mind; it's that memorable!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Love Cleaver food it is fresh and very yummy, just wish they had more of a menu,also the staff are fantastic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, Surrey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Been a few times, will go again...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ribs, chicken and burgers. Simple. However, it is a lot overpriced for something so simple, which is a shame. Comparible prices to Gourmet Burger for their burgers, but gourmet burger is far better with better choice.
For such a simple concept, some steaks would really make this place! I can't understand why they're not doing that.
All in all through, the service is decent, the food is decent and the decor is nice. I like it. I want to like it more but there's something missing... Is it the prices for what is, or the lack of steaks on there lovely broiler!?
Two adults, two children. 2 starters between four, main courses and Ice cream for the two children. Soft drink each all round. £80...!! Ouch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleaver also viewed

 

Been to Cleaver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing