We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding service and reception followed by further three days” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“wedding service and reception followed by further three days”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not to the expected standards. Food poor value but good quality. A tired hotel with areas such as the dining room needing improved management. Staff seem to be working hard. Probably would improve if there was more competition in the area for hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    393
    282
    122
    86
See reviews for
340
289
49
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I love to stay in a hilton, generally clean and orderly.
I must say that my problems were rectified, but having stayed in quite a few Hilton's, this really was unacceptable.
The bathroom had hairs stuck around it. And as others have said you can do a jig to get in the door as when it is open it almost touches the bath.
The wallpaper was patterned and raised initially it looked nice. But it attracted the dust and dirt! It was just hanging onto the paper on one section of the wall.

We were moved and the next room was fine.
Other niggle I had to call three times to remind them to make the child's bed up.
The member of staff that did it eventually was lovely.

As an apology we received a jar of nuts and jelly beans ??
Better than nothing I guess .......

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank swind0nnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your time and photo. Yes our bathrooms are rather small, the opposite of our very large bedrooms. We were never really sure why they were designed quite like that.
Apologies for the fact that you had to move rooms, but thank you for bringing it to our attention whilst you were with us, sadly many don't. At busy times we can get requests for extra beds/requirements to make up the settees for children, apologies that it took longer than it should have. Where pre-known about we do aim to have them all done by 5pm.

Thanks once again for your time though,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
237 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel tired and in need of attention.
Staff bored and demotivated.
Room bathroom was cramped and old and the shower screen was in need of changing
Don't mind £5 a night to park but £5 a day means I arrived at 6pm and left the next day at 10.00am and was charged £10
Costa coffee is available at £1.45 more expensive than a costa shop!
The manageress in the breakfast area was a joke waited 10 minutes to be seated as there were no clean tables... Why didn't she do it herself?
Asked a girl in white shirt for more tea only to be told ask a girl in a yellow shirt . Girl in yellow shirt said hold on a minute and didn't come back for 10 minutes by which time I embarrassed the white shirt girl to get the pot of tea
Bad training through bad management ... Very poor from a Hilton

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks for your observations after your recent stay with us. We appreciate our customers time.
At busy periods we do accommodate over 300 people at breakfast and we do clean and reset tables 2-3 times at each breakfast. Many times an observer might think tables are empty, but guests are often at the breakfast buffet, helping themsleves to over 60 hot and cold items. Sometimes we do get feedback that we clear tables too quickly, they hadn't left - just gone to get more food.

Car parking, we do charge £5 for a night, that would include from when someone checks in until they check out - in a 24 hr period. If a non resident came for the daytime only then they could possibly pay £5 for the day.

We do accept that Costa prices can vary according to location and a high street outlet may have different prices to other venues.

Thank you though for your feedback,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromsgrove hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm here on a conference and staying for the weekend. It's absolutely beautiful, relaxing and nice. The steam room did it for me last night and the Jacuzzi. The rooms are good and the food is so much better than some other hotels I've been to.

Downside:
I didn't know it was not so close to Birmingham. You'll need to change trains and get that of Bromsgrove then a 10 minutes taxi to Hilton.

Helpful?
Thank Emerald2812
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thanks for your feedback, we do appreciate your time. Glad you had a good time with us, we are very close - with good access - to all the motorway networks, not as good for trains though. Apologies for that. Buses aren't too bad.

See you again soon

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rooms of low standard in need of refurbishment, carpets old, worn and dirty. Function food of a totally non offensive nature with plates not cleared so sat with dirty plate for most of evening while doing quiz. Staff very few and far between. Breakfast OK apart from terrible porch music when going for a quick pre breakfast stroll out front.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your rcent visit to our hotel. I will ensure that you observations are passed onto the team here. As soon as we are made aware of an issue by one of our guests, we always seek to make it right there and then. If we learn about things later, we do use it for training purposes. Sorry to read you didn't like the music.

All the best

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the open plan of the hotel restaurant, reception and lounges. The Leisure club was enjoyable and conveniently tucked out of the way, providing good facilities. An ideal place to stay if you need a Family room, which provides two large double beds and also being close to Birmingham, where we enjoyed a day at Cadbury World, that finished off the trip very nicely

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your kind words, many people do like our large rooms and double beds (no singles anywhere here) and our leisure club is very popular, glad you enjoyed it. And you are right, we are very close to Cadbury World and many other local attractions. All great places to visit.

Thanks once again,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed her before when teenager was racing so stayed again as close to race venue. Typical boring Hilton room, water that you have to pay for even though we are not basic level Hilton honors but at least it wasn't cold and noisy like last Hilton we stayed in at Notts. Shower was good but bathroom was a weird shape and you had to dance with the door to get in.... Gym was good (reason why we stayed here) and breakfast was really nice. In the scheme of things £90 B&B for 3 of us was good value but we booked under no illusions - it is a bit utilitarian and not luxury based on the outskirts of Bromsgrove but fine for 1 night. However, after a number of stays with Hilton here and in USA I am beginning to think that they need to up their game, they are not cheap, a lot of their hotel rooms/bathrooms need decorating and there are added extras on most stays - Car parking, WiFi, water...........or maybe our standards have changed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for your observations after your recent stay with us. Appreciate your time. We feel we also have a great gym, even moreso now after we have had a full refit in there. I know our 28 sq m rooms are far larger than the UK ave, but apologies our bathrooms are a lot smaller than the UK ave as well.
Our wifi is free in public areas and as it's BT in the bedrooms, many people use it 'for free' by logging in with their home wifi details as they have BT at home. We do charge £5 a night for parking, as many places do nowadays from hotels to shopping centres to hospitals, to help cover the costs of safely operating such a large area. I acknowledge that any such charges are always contentious.

Thanks though for your time

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromsgrove
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bromsgrove Central Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
3.7 mi away
Grafton Manor
Grafton Manor
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westmead Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa

Property: Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Address: Birmingham Road, Bromsgrove B61 0JB, England (Formerly Hilton Birmingham Bromsgrove)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes from Birmingham Airport, the Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa offers an ideal location to explore the heart of England. Located half a mile from the M5 and M42, the hotel provides access to the beautiful Cotswolds region, Birmingham city center and shopping areas and picturesque Stratford-upon-Avon. With a bar, restaurant and Java coffee shop, 60ft indoor heated pool, fitness center and nearby golf course available, you may choose to simply relax and unwind at the hotel and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Bromsgrove Hotel Bromsgrove
Hilton International Bromsgrove
Bromsgrove Hilton International
Hilton Bromsgrove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing