We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Staff were very good and service excellent. That's where it ends.
There is no lift (we didn't know this), and although the hotel is only on 2 floors it is still frustrating to have to lug suitcases up/down stairs.
There is no air conditioning in the rooms (we didn't know this either) and a heater had been left on in our room and it was sweltering. We opened the window to let some air in, but had to close it again as we overlooked the car park and the noise outside (due to a coach parked with it's engine running for an hour) and people smoking, made it noisy and smelly.
The bed was most uncomfortable, as were the pillows, so not a good nights sleep in a hot and uncomfortable room.
Apparently Friday night is 'carvery night' in the restaurant and that is all that is on offer. If you don't like/want a roast dinner then it's a case of take it or leave it. There is a limited bar menu, but you cannot order from that to eat in the restaurant.
We were lucky with breakfast as we got there at the right time and there was plenty to chose from. No butter though, only Flora margarine.
The place mats were dirty, containing the remnants of what people before me had spilled - and maybe lots more before that?! I moved it to the side as it was disgusting, so was my husband's.
Yes you have to pay to park, but that is pretty standard of Hilton hotels. At least it means that only those using the hotel will be taking up spaces in the car park. Having said that, we only stayed one night (thank goodness) so I feel for people who have to pay £5 every night.
By far the worst Hilton we have stayed in and we will not be going back, nor would we recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollydaze57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your time and feedback. Apologies for any shortcomings on our part. I know we don't have a lift, but we are happy to assist with luggage. Unfortunately we don't have AC, wish we did in our rooms, but we do promote AC in public areas and in the meeting rooms.
At certain times we do vary our menus and choices to match the needs of in house residents and to give variety. We should though let people order from the bar menu if they wish to sit in the restaurant and dine. Sorry about that.
When we have coaches party's stay with us, the coach does warm up and set up before they come round to collect their customers. They shouldn't take very long though. We will ensure future drivers are not as selfish.

Many thanks once again for your time

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    415
    306
    134
    97
See reviews for
354
315
56
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed with the Family Explorer rate that includes room, dinner (first night, we only stayed 1 night) and breakfast. Very friendly and attentive staff, especially Tia in the restaurant and Sophie from housekeeping. Michael the duty manager was also very helpful prioir to arrival and the lady at checkout was lovely and very helpful when we asked about West Midlands Safari Park. The room was a little tired with a few areas that had been repaired (e.g. bathroom wall) but not to the same standard as the rest of the room but this did not detract from our enjoyment. Kids loved the pool and my wife loved the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Glad you were able to secure a great deal at our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will let those team members know about how you felt they were great.

Many thanks

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Poor to say the least! An unacceptably dirty carpet in a foul smelling room, that had a toilet that didn't flush was my lot. Other guests in our party had noisy springs in very uncomfortable beds. As other members have stated- wine is expensive and food of poor quality in the bar area. The breakfast was up to scratch and enjoyable. Not all bad I guess- But never again. Come on Hilton and hotel management

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reefsharkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Apologies for any shortcomings on our part. I know we do seek to resolve issues there and then when we are made aware, sorry we were not able to do this when you stayed.

Thanks once again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromsgrove hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the night with my fiancée and the staff were second to non very helpful indeed !! Considering there was a prom going on we didn't hear nothing ... Location is spot on, accommodation like wise would highly recommend it definitely, no doubt !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simukai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for your time, and kind words about the hotel team. I will ensure they are advised of your sentiments

All the best for your future together,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good location, bar area has had a re-furb but not enough. Seating in particular is hard and uncomfortble, Bar staff are very good and welcoming though. Drinks and food are far too expensive which is why people eat/drink out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank cricketer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the team in the bar, I will certainly make sure that they are made aware. Apologies you found the seating hard.

Thanks once again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton Hotel in Bromsgrove for leaving drinks for a colleague. Well where do I start, the cold unwelcoming greet at reception started this terrible episode and catalogue of poor service. The room is dated and boring with NO AIR CONDITIONING, which in this muggy heat wave July is unbearable. No free water in the room and it was £2.98 a bottle, which is disgusting. We had Breakfast delivered to our room of which after a night of drinks is welcomed and then you removed the plate cover and you find a cold breakfast with soggy bread as its in silver foil and the lumps in the orange juice were big enough to choke you. Where there are discounts stated on their website, there were n't given or honoured through pathetic poor reasons. The prices for drinks in the bar were extortionate and generally the prices overall weren't equivalent and a basic rip off. Another example of this was having to pay for the car park even though you stayed in the hotel.

NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback, sorry to read that you had not enjoyed your stay as much as others have. Apologies for any shortcomings on our part. I know we don't have AC, it would be nice to have in this very warm period the UK is experiencing. If our customers do have issues, we are more than happy to make things right when we are informed at the time. Apologies we weren't able to do this for you.

Thanks once again,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I do usually like good Hilton hotels as far as a chain goes. However, more and more of these 'quality' hotels are becoming tired, unkept and a sense of passion for service along with attention to detail has all but gone. This stay was a business trip, so accommodation, meeting rooms, lunch, dinner and refreshments are part of the package.

Upon arrival into the hotel grounds you are greeted with a tired building which is in need of some urgent TLC. The foyer is dated with no atmosphere, more akin to a visit to the local morgue. However, the staff on reception greeted you with a smile and were very helpful.

Meeting rooms:
I dont know how much they charge for hiring these rooms, but the dated, tired rooms stood out like sore thumb, the carpets are becoming tatty and the ceilings with the air con units are the full 50 shades of grey including black. Not pleasing on the eye at all.

Lunch service:
Lunch was served just outside the meeting rooms so highly convenient for all delegates. We had roughy 50 people attending this meeting. Unfortunately, we finished 10 minutes later than the 1st group and greeted with empty platters. It took staff over 20 minutes to replenish the platters with no communication from the staff. Futhermore, on both days they failed to provide water or juices with lunch. This was only offered when asked for them. This is not the quality of service expected from such an experienced company.

Dinner/bar:
Fortunately dinner service was slick and efficient with plenty of staff to ensure a smooth service was received. Food for these events can be mediocre at best and overall we enjoyed the food. Once we descended on the bar, they only had a couple of staff on to support this service, i personally believe they could have done with another body or 2 to offer fast attentive service.

Rooms:
Unfortunately my bed was not made, a quick call to reception soon corrected this with very pleasent chamber maids. the rooms are functional, clean and quite spacious, again due to the age of the hotel, they would benefit from a refurb.

Overall:
Regrettably, i would not go back to this particular Hilton, prices for drinks are high (£7 for a bottle of water at the bar) where there is clearly no investment going back into the hotel. If you could see where your money was spent i might have a different opinion.

This hotel clearly has great staff who are genuine in their approach. However, its the management that need to sort out these issues highlighted.

Room Tip: End of corridor away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelsquire, General Manager at Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for your time in providing us with some feedback, sorry to read that you had a few issues, apologies for any shortcomings on our part. Apologies for the decor, but it should be clean. I know we do serve a lot of meals and sometimes certain items on buffets get consumed before others and we have to produce more. Apologies it took longer than it should have to replenish items.

Thank you once again

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromsgrove
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
6.6 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bromsgrove Marlbrook
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
3.7 mi away
Grafton Manor
Grafton Manor
#7 of 8 in Bromsgrove
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa

Property: Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Address: Birmingham Road | Warwick, Bromsgrove B61 0JB, England (Formerly Hilton Birmingham Bromsgrove)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes from Birmingham Airport, the Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa offers an ideal location to explore the heart of England. Located half a mile from the M5 and M42, the hotel provides access to the beautiful Cotswolds region, Birmingham city center and shopping areas and picturesque Stratford-upon-Avon. With a bar, restaurant and Java coffee shop, 60ft indoor heated pool, fitness center and nearby golf course available, you may choose to simply relax and unwind at the hotel and the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Bromsgrove Hotel Bromsgrove
Hilton International Bromsgrove
Bromsgrove Hilton International
Hilton Bromsgrove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing