We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinctly Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on business in the area.
My room and the bar area were fine, but the restaurant was a bit soulless really.
Bed/pillows were good and I had a decent night's sleep.

Breakfast was poor, e.g. bacon well under-cooked, so settled for cereal and a soggy croissant.
Dinner was hit and miss, my rib-eye steak was fine but my colleague's fish was terribly over-cooked and tough. Service was slow too; it took 15 minutes to receive our drinks order.

Small gym with enough to keep you occupied for a while but would be a struggle if it got busy.

Overall OK for a stopover but nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaffyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to learn that everything was not to your satisfaction. I will certainly pass on your comments to the Restaurant Manager & Head Chef. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    263
    156
    77
    56
See reviews for
214
196
40
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here a number of times between May and October this year when I was working in Bromsgrove. The hotel side of things is fine, with comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff. The breakfasts are good too. Where it lets itself down is in relation to poor service in the restaurant, and I gather from colleagues who've stayed there that I wasn't the only one affected.
I ate in the restaurant a couple of times, but on one occasion encountered truly some of the worst service I have ever come across. It took 56 minutes, no less, for my main course to arrive, in spite of me reminding the staff three times, and I was literally walking out when it arrived. And they only had three tables to serve. The kitchen blamed the waitress, and she blamed the kitchen. The duty manager said it was because they were busy with room service...
The complimentary glass of wine they gave me didn't really do much to improve my mood, and they then had the temerity to give me a comments card. Not surprisingly, I gave them a panning, but did I ever get a response? Did I heck...
A shame, because this could be a very good hotel. If you want to eat there, go for a bar meal. They're ok, and the food arrives in the right century.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFelixPolenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to learn about the issues you have had in the restaurant. I will certainly pass these onto the Operations Manager, Restaurant Manager & Head Chef as this is clearly unacceptable. I really do hope that it does not deter you from using the hotel & brand in the future. We will endeavour to improve on these deficiences in service.

Thank you once again for bringing these matters to my attention

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here in october half term with our children for one night, before visiting a theme park, so we would have been happy with somewhere just to crash, but we were very pleased at the standards of this hotel.

Easily placed so we could travel up and find it without trouble, we were then able to use the pool with our children. Although small, it was adequate for the number of families that seemed to be using it, but I don;t know how anyone wishing to swim properly would have found it!

Staff were courteous and helpful and the free wifi in the public areas was a bonus - I also was unable to to connect to the wired internet as I was using an iPad, but I could just about get a signal on the wifi by sitting by the window of our room!

The breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice and at a suitable time for us too.

The only downside to the hotel - and it is a minor point - is that in the bathroom it is beginning to show its age. There was nothing I'd call dirty, but just those small signs in the bath sealant etc that shows it's probably time to redecorate.

Having said that, I'd definitely recommend it - this is a Holiday Inn and we paid less than the nearest Premier Inn was asking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svmitche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments following your recent stay with us. I will certainly pass on the point you make to the Housekeeper about the bathroom sealants. We do hope to see you again when you are next in the area

Many thanks

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Arrived at 1030 pm and met with a smiley face, prompt service at reception and allocate a room on first floor, dont have lower floors as they have poor phone and data reception.
The room is a little tired but adequate for its purpose. This trip is business so I am not paying for it. The decor and bedding is smart,TV is flat screen with about 12 standard channels.
The Gym is small but well equipped and the pool also small but ok for a quick swim before breakfast. Any more than 4 doing lengths and it is too crowded.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyg9053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was sorry to hear that you could not get a great reception on your phone where you were located in the hotel. I do hope that this does not deter you from visiting the hotel in the future.

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My family stayed at the hotel as part of the wedding arrangements for my son's wedding on 25th October. The accommodation was excellent and all the guests were very happy with the rooms and the facilities on offer. The staff were very professional in their organisation of the wedding. The Fairfield Suite was well presented and looked beautiful for all the events from the Civil ceremony, the Wedding Breakfast and the evening party. The service was excellent at all times. We had a meal in the restaurant the evening before the weeding and this was great value for the money as we had 4 adults and 3 young children and the whole bill came to about £80 ( excellent food and service). the hotel also offered the guests the use of the pool and many appreciated and used this facility. Breakfasts were on a help yourself basis but this gave every guest the opportunity to have what they wanted and the choices were better than many similar establishments. I would like to convey my thanks and gratitude for the wonderful reception that they prepared and wish them every success in the future. I hope one day to visit this hotel again to take full advantage of the Revive Spa facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments. I was very pleased to hear that your son's wedding went very well. We hope to see you back soon when you return to use the Revive spa facility

Many thanks

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Booked a conference room for a training session with about 14 clients.

Major issue was trying to get the room temperature right which was either too cold or too hot (especially in the afternoon). Nice venue located right next to the M5 (although you cannot exit off the motorway at that point).

A well presented and good selection for a two course lunch with 'home made' rice pudding proving particularly popular. Nice break out areas with ample outside space (although raining) and a large coffee area. Very Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your comments I was sorry to hear of the issues you had with the temperature control. However I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, especially the home made rice pudding!

I hope that you are not put off from using the hotel again

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a lovely stay here again. The staff are excellent from front of house, to restaurant to chamber maids to Revive Health club, cleaners. Every single member of staff is friendly, smiling and helpful Can;t praise it enough. The swimming pool is excellent, didn't use the gym so can't comment on that. Restaurant is excellent too, Rooms clean and comfortable. I need a dairy free diet and the chef was very helpful in modifying any dish requested. Breakfast and dinner are excellent, wide choice of food

Room Tip: As far as I know all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nouseatall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanNorthern, General Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your superb comments. I was pleased to hear that on each occasion the entire team meets and exceeds your expectations. I was also especially pleased to hear that we accommodated your dietary requirements. We hope to see you back soon.

Alan Northern
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromsgrove
2.6 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Bromsgrove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bromsgrove Central Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Droitwich M5, Jct 5
6.4 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
7.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove

Property: Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
Address: Kidderminster Road, Bromsgrove B61 9AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove has been transformed into a 4 star hotel in the heart of England. The 3.5 Million investment has resulted in the hotel becoming the premier venue for business or pleasure within the Bromsgrove area. The hotel is close to the Cotswolds, Birmingham NEC, and Cadbury World. Bromsgrove s corner of Worcestershire is surprisingly pastoral, with a mixture of the rolling Lickey Hills, picturesque villages and captivating walks and still we are only half an hour s drive away from Birmingham City Centre. Stylish bedrooms offer air-conditioning, laptop safes, mini bars, broadband internet access, desk space to work at and seriously comfortable beds! With 110 bedrooms at the hotel, you can choose from Suites, Executive, Family, Interconnecting and Accessible rooms. The facilities on offer include the Revive Health Club & Spa with a brand new purpose built fitness suite equipped with the latest Technogym equipment, a heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna, spa pool and beauty rooms. All of our Meeting and Event rooms at he hotel benefit from natural daylight, wireless internet access and touch control air-conditioning and lighting. The Fairfield Suite catering for up to 250 delegates and guests is self contained, with its own entrance, breakout area and bar. The General Manager is Glen Staniforth and is always happy to welcome guests and listen to comments and assist in any way possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove Hotel Bromsgrove
Holiday Inn Bromsgrove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing