We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grafton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grafton Manor
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just celebrated my daughter's wedding at Grafton Manor and it was a wonderful venue. As the wedding breakfast was being served, they opened the sides of the marque and the views were
stunning. We enjoyed the meal, it was good but not excellent but Grafton is all about the atmosphere. The house is grand and charming and we loved seeing all the rooms. Some have got spectacular views over the back.I would agree that charging a flat rate does not really seem fair when some guests get a lot more for their money. However we had a special day there, full of great memories and in part this is due to the discreet service at Grafton Manor because they allow you free rein of the house and grounds. We did consider many venues but found nothing to compare with the charm, views of Grafton. It is not cheap but, worth every penny to have things right on such a special day.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonManor , Public Relations Manager at Grafton Manor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Many thanks for your review and your very kind words. Weddings are what we are all about here at Grafton and as it is a family home it is even more special when another family chooses to spend such a momentous day with us. We hope you will cherish the memories for many years to come and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    18
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
26
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My stay at Grafton Manor was as part of the bridal party at a family wedding and were thoroughly disappointed.
Upon arriving we were all very excited and the young girl on reception was most friendly and welcoming allowing us to check in early to get ready for the wedding. We knew that our room was going to cost £125 so were expecting something really nice.

Sadly it was very disappointing. For starters the mattress on our bed was ridiculously soft and the bed dipped in the middle. The bedside tables were dusty and there were ring marks from previous water glasses. The bathroom was really tired looking with a broken seal around the corner bath which was awkward to step into as it was crammed into a tiny space. You had to negotiate stepping into the bath between the taps on the bath and the toilet! The bathroom floor was a very stained dirty looking carpet and the bathroom towels had make-up stains on them. One of the towels had a big rip in it. The bathroom had a mixer tap over the bath but no shower curtain so you had to sit in the bath to shower and the water constantly went boiling hot to freezing cold. A pretty awful experience. We also had a broken toilet seat and the toilet cistern dripped constantly in the night.
They had allocated the rooms badly too, putting one of the other couples who had a small baby above the wedding reception area so their baby struggled to get to sleep next to the loud music.
Our room had paper thin walls and we could here the couple in the next room sneezing and coughing. We were also woken up about 12:30am with the sound of bottles been thrown into a recycling bank or box.
The room was just generally very tired looking and in need of refurbishment but there is no excuse for cleanliness in a hotel.
Upon leaving the hotel I enquired about the £125 per night charge for our double room. I asked the girl on reception why our room (a standard double) was charged at £125 which was the same price for the superior larger rooms. She told me that for a wedding, each room was the same flat rate price. I didn't question it but was rudely interrupted by the assistant manager called Darren who was standing at the end of the reception desk listening to our conversation. He was very abrupt and said that £125 was actually a discounted rate and that our room should have cost more before he turned on his heel and marched into the office.
I was so shocked that we should have paid more and the tone he used that I had nothing further to say to him.
I'd noticed the assistant manager a few times during the day at the wedding and wondered what his job at Grafton Manor was. I thought that for an expensive hotel his manner was pretty poor. He introduced the Bride and Groom pretty shabbily for dinner with one hand in his pocket!
I would avoid staying here at all costs. I've stayed at better campsites! Save the stress and go somewhere nice.
The only reason it's getting 2 stars is because the younger staff at the wedding were friendly, the young girl on reception was nice and the breakfast was really nice.
Definitely not worth £125 a night on a discount rate!!! I would struggle to pay £70 for a room here.

The other thing I really thought was inappropriate was a small dog who belonged to someone who works at the hotel. The dog was free to roam where it pleased and was constantly coming up to people sniffing and then barking when we wouldn't give it food. Not what you expect at a wedding.

It's a shame I can't give this hotel a more positive review. It could do with a bit of tlc, a paint, a bit of work in the bathrooms and more attention to cleanliness.
Take the arrogance and attitude out of the assistant manager too and you might be on to a winner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Biddulph111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonManor , Public Relations Manager at Grafton Manor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate constructive criticism and note the issues that you have raised. There is an ongoing programme of refurbishment here at the Manor and we will investigate thoroughly the areas that you have highlighted with a view to overcoming any shortfalls. We take our position as Bromsgrove's leading wedding venue very seriously and continue to strive to maintain the highest standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel the weekend and what a beautiful hotel it is!! The venue the food and the staff! I must make a special mention of the housekeeper Denise, she was so kind and thoughtful helping me with my luggage and giving me extra tea bags!! The hotel could do with a lick of paint but the charm of it just makes it all magical!
Thank you team for making my stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonManor , Public Relations Manager at Grafton Manor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, it is much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our amazing team who are always ready to go the extra mile or indeed find the extra tea-bag when needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have just spent two nights here with a wedding. The hotel is a large very old hotel with lovely grounds. The wedding went well with no hitches and a good day was had by all. The wedding breakfast was a buffet in a large marque and the food was excellent together with the service. Darren who is the hotel's Manager (not owner) was most helpful and anything that was asked for was provided without any problem. The grounds to the hotel are large with a large lake which would have created some lovely wedding pictures if only the rain had kept off but unfortunately you cannot plan for the weather.

We stayed the night before the wedding and had an excellent meal and would like to compliment the chef on his culinary skills.

The hotel has seven rooms and we were allocated the Nuns Room. Unfortunately, we did feel that for £125.00 per night this room was certainly not worth the money (more like £70.00). The room was very small and consisted of a double bed but unfortunately you could barely get out the one side as it was so close to the wall. If you did manage to get out you stubbed your toe or hit your head on the TV that was wall mounted. The TV never worked properly so after 30 minutes you gave up trying to find a channel and took to reading a book for two days. There was not a proper wardrobe just a curtain on a bit of curtain rail in the corner, the tiles on the ornate fire place were cracked and falling off, there was no wall mounted shower only a hand held shower which was of no use as there was no shower curtain, hence you had no choice but to have a bath but the plug was missing off the end of the chain. When we did find the plug you could not remove it once the water pressure was on it, it's a good job my partner always takes a pair of pliers with him, the toilet seat was broken, the room was dusty and you would think that at the price they were charging for the room they could afford to have the windows cleaned which were covered in bird muck which did spoil the view out over the lake. The other rooms I believe are larger hence I feel the price of the Nuns room should be a lot cheaper than the others.

I would recommend Grafton Manor for a wedding or a meal in the restaurant but for actually stopping the night there does seem to a lot of repairs that are required in just one room alone.

I would like to thank Darren and his staff for their help in making our friends day very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonManor , Public Relations Manager at Grafton Manor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Grafton Manor is a very special house with a long and at times quite illustrious history. The estate can be traced back to the time of William the Conqueror and has been home to the Earls of Grafton, Stafford and until 1932 Shrewsbury. We are lucky to have many original features both in the house and in the gardens for guests to enjoy. We have a short history of the Manor available for all guests on Reception. Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed one night here as members of a wedding party. The owners and staff are friendly helpful, and awesomely efficient, without being obtrusive (so 10/10 to them!). It's a beautiful old manor, mostly Elizabethan (1567), rebuilt in the late 1700s - so fairly modern then! The grounds are pretty and interesting (where else can you get close up to an Elizabethan fish stew (look it up). It has its own chapel, which is unremarkable but very calming and spiritual. Beds and general level of comfort are great.
All in all, I'd recommend it very highly indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have some view, but the best views are probably rooms either side of the Porch roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A warm and friendly welcome and a delightful Christmas Day lunch. Starting with with pre-lunch drinks in the library we felt pampered and so very comfortable, an excellent wine list from which we chose a reasonably priced Rose which complimented a superb meal for each of us and my wife's vegetarian main course was well prepared and delicious, we could not eat the five courses so we missed the cheese course out and it read so tempting on the menu!
The service was efficient and nothing was too much trouble, we can't wait for our next visit which will be to enjoy the Indian cuisine celebration.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodLaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraftonManor , Public Relations Manager at Grafton Manor, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Christmas is always a very special time at Grafton, with traditional decorations and open log fires. Great atmosphere and we enjoy sharing the holiday season with our many guests.
We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

On searching for wedding venues we came across grafton manor. It is a very grand looking building.
Staff are helpful and polite and we were shown around the venue by a young lady.
Although a very beautiful hotel, we did think it was very expensive.
What a beautiful venue and would like to come back on an open day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromsgrove
3.7 mi away
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
Bromsgrove Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Bromsgrove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham-Bromsgrove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
3.8 mi away
Chateau Impney Hotel & Exhibition Centre
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bromsgrove Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Manor

Property: Grafton Manor
Address: Grafton Lane, Bromsgrove B61 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bromsgrove
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bromsgrove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grafton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grafton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Manor Hotel Bromsgrove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing