We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ParkView Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #4 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip advisor”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be advertised as tip adviser, stayed in room 8 up three flights no problem but looked like a fire trap, room was dirty, sheets had not been changed, furniture was a pile of firewood, tv remote, ask your cleaners to have a look not been cleaned in years,yes years, breakfast slapped on a plate.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Firstly, the guest paid for a single and was upgraded to a double en-suite albeit at the top of the building for only £25. All our rooms have a fire risk assesment and yearly contractual inspections. Secondly, we have a high health/hygeine assesment and our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Our furniture is basic but adequate as reflected in the price. Finally, we provide a simple hearty breakfast, juice, cereal, toast and a full english. We represent extremenly good value for money at a time when customers need it. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    23
    9
    12
    44
See reviews for
18
11
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant stay, rooms spacious and clean, breakfast ample, location great, value superb. Free wifi and parking an unexpected bonus. Dont expect the ritz but a great little place. Best to ring in advance with time of arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margirother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A traditional guest house, big spacious rooms although a little dated. Staff welcoming. Saw a basic room at first but a bit too basic for me so upgraded to an ensuite. It was worth the difference. Friendly atmosphere, no pressure in the morning. Breakfast good. Overall a very positive stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_cBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We only lasted 1 night so can only go by the few hours we were there. We got there about 6 the lady showed us to our room after scrambling through the hallway past the stupid table that was clearly in the way (even though this was a fire exit), got to our room and had dirty brown sheets,dirty stained carpet,dusty broken blinds,windows that didn't close it only if you practially wrestled with it,the 1 radiator had no handle to turn down so we had to sweat with the window open (on a ground floor rm) bathroom had no shelves,1 towel each n finally a bedside lamp that had no bulb in and 1 free plug at the back of the tv and that was hard to get to. The manager was friendly and helpful but I'd never stay here again everywhere I went was just too cluttered and cramped

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebear20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your interest. We are in the process of de-cluttering. It is difficult when trying to keep with the charm of the Victorian ambience which our more discerning guest appreciate but are progressing well. Finally, let me reassure you ALL our bedding is clean as are our rooms. Your particular room as being on the ground floor has child/security locks which for those not familiar with hotel stays may find them difficult to open. Furthermore, if your radiator thermostat had stuck then all you had to do is ask a member of staff. May I say, I am glad you enjoyed your stay regardless to these teething problems and we luck forward to seeing you again at the Park View Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Harlech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed in ParkView to be close to Whiston Hospital (less than 10 mins drive). I have coeliac disease so finding gluten free food is sometimes challenging; ParkView were great and cooked my bacon separately and made scrambled egg so that I was safe. Bathroom, towels and bed linen very clean. Tea/coffee facilities and plenty of tv channels.
Very quiet, both in terms of traffic, even though not far from main road, and fellow guests.
Ok, maybe decor is tired (and carpets have seen better days), but for the price it can't be faulted.

Room Tip: You need to ask if you want a shower as some rooms only have baths, and my shower had a 'roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

well we arrived at the hotel at 8.30pm and it was raining and was left to stand out side for a good while, then to be shown a room with a single bed when i had booked and payed for a room for 3 to sleep in i was shown down stairs again and had to wait for a good ten minutes for a lady to come and tell us they had another room, breakfast well don't expect much cornflakes and muesli that's the cereal and the full English is just dumped on the plate no presentation tin ala tin the best was the toast,bed not even made cleaning not done and two towels for for two adults for two nights come on stains on bed sheets not pleasent

Room Tip: ground floor room far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia1972_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
The hotel can only apologise for the mix up as this was a last minute booking and we do fill quickly. We did however upgrade the guest to our executive room free of charge. Furthermore. we certainly clean and make the beds on a daily basis, but we do not change towels daily unless totally necessary as this reduces our carbon footprint. To keep our prices low and very competitive we serve a hearty but basic breakfast which most guest enjoy. We are a no frills hotel and offer clean basic rooms and great prices. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I have stayed at the Parkview on numerous occasions over the last 18 months. I have always found the staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating (e.g. late entry etc). Rooms are clean and WiFi access is excellent. For the amount charged per night I cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
1.1 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 4 in St Helens
432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#7 of 21 in Warrington
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ParkView Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkView Hotel and Guest House

Property: ParkView Hotel and Guest House
Address: 333-335 Prescot Road, St Helens WA10 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ParkView Hotel and Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is 1 mile from St Helen's town. It is facing Taylor Park ideal for those guests who like that early morning jog or walk before breakfast. The hotel offers 3 types of accommodation. On the ground floor are executive suites i.e. widescreen TV, leather furniture and bathroom with bidet. The 2nd floor offers standard accommodation of en-suite single, double and family rooms or our budget single rooms from £20 per night. All rooms have colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your ParkView Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing