We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Survived the night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ParkView Hotel and Guest House
Ranked #5 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013

One towel given for use between two adults, one table lamp on floor (no table) and no plug to reach. Ceiling light not working, left us with one other tiny table light in a family sized room (couldn't even see to read). No milk supplied for tea making facilities (only cream for coffee which curdled the drink anyway) so had to go to local Spar to buy some. Would have liked to sort matters out with proprietor but they did not answer the bell. Picture of Faulty Towers in dining room was not out of place.
Booked this hotel as it was advertised under Pet Friendly Accommodation site - needs to be removed as pets are no longer welcome.
Hotel up for sale - No takers yet!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We generally only leave one towel in a room for single occupancy as guest do steal them. Further towels and tea/coffee are available on request. Bulbs do occasionally go at the most inconvenient time and this cannot be forecast. Furthermore, due to revised Health and Safety regulations, bulbs are classed as electrical equipment and must only be changed by a professional. This same procedure happens in hospitals. We appologise for the inconvenience but our hands are tied. Apart from these unfortunate minor hiccups we are glad you enjoyed your stay. From our future reservations we can see you have booked for next year and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stay away from this filthy disgusting place it's worse than Faulty Towers if you call a room the size of a cupboard e suite to sit on the toilet the seat kept falling into your back the shower was so small god help a large person woken at 8.30am to ask when we would be leaving knocked on door half an hour later to ask when we were paying OMg I was trying to get dressed didn't even have the breakfast as smelling the greasy bacon cooking at 6am was enough never again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Unfortunately this is the sort of tripe and abuse that often happens on trip advisor. As advised at time of booking we dont mind the ocasional stag or hen do but they must respect the other hotel guests. On this ocasion these guests didn't. They were already sloshed before ariving, refused to pay upfront (which is hotel policy) and were very rude and abusive to the staff. We accommodated their needs and decided to let them stay as a gesture of good will and on the assurance they would behave. However, we did receive complaints from other guests about their behaviour the next day. As this left an air of discontent we decided to encoutage them to leave early after paying like any responsible hotel. These people in question are fortunately not our typical guests. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel should be advertised as tip adviser, stayed in room 8 up three flights no problem but looked like a fire trap, room was dirty, sheets had not been changed, furniture was a pile of firewood, tv remote, ask your cleaners to have a look not been cleaned in years,yes years, breakfast slapped on a plate.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Firstly, the guest paid for a single and was upgraded to a double en-suite albeit at the top of the building for only £25. All our rooms have a fire risk assesment and yearly contractual inspections. Secondly, we have a high health/hygeine assesment and our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. Our furniture is basic but adequate as reflected in the price. Finally, we provide a simple hearty breakfast, juice, cereal, toast and a full english. We represent extremenly good value for money at a time when customers need it. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Enjoyed a pleasant stay, rooms spacious and clean, breakfast ample, location great, value superb. Free wifi and parking an unexpected bonus. Dont expect the ritz but a great little place. Best to ring in advance with time of arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margirother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A traditional guest house, big spacious rooms although a little dated. Staff welcoming. Saw a basic room at first but a bit too basic for me so upgraded to an ensuite. It was worth the difference. Friendly atmosphere, no pressure in the morning. Breakfast good. Overall a very positive stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_cBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We only lasted 1 night so can only go by the few hours we were there. We got there about 6 the lady showed us to our room after scrambling through the hallway past the stupid table that was clearly in the way (even though this was a fire exit), got to our room and had dirty brown sheets,dirty stained carpet,dusty broken blinds,windows that didn't close it only if you practially wrestled with it,the 1 radiator had no handle to turn down so we had to sweat with the window open (on a ground floor rm) bathroom had no shelves,1 towel each n finally a bedside lamp that had no bulb in and 1 free plug at the back of the tv and that was hard to get to. The manager was friendly and helpful but I'd never stay here again everywhere I went was just too cluttered and cramped

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebear20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkview_Hotel, General Manager at ParkView Hotel and Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Thank you for your interest. We are in the process of de-cluttering. It is difficult when trying to keep with the charm of the Victorian ambience which our more discerning guest appreciate but are progressing well. Finally, let me reassure you ALL our bedding is clean as are our rooms. Your particular room as being on the ground floor has child/security locks which for those not familiar with hotel stays may find them difficult to open. Furthermore, if your radiator thermostat had stuck then all you had to do is ask a member of staff. May I say, I am glad you enjoyed your stay regardless to these teething problems and we luck forward to seeing you again at the Park View Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stayed in ParkView to be close to Whiston Hospital (less than 10 mins drive). I have coeliac disease so finding gluten free food is sometimes challenging; ParkView were great and cooked my bacon separately and made scrambled egg so that I was safe. Bathroom, towels and bed linen very clean. Tea/coffee facilities and plenty of tv channels.
Very quiet, both in terms of traffic, even though not far from main road, and fellow guests.
Ok, maybe decor is tired (and carpets have seen better days), but for the price it can't be faulted.

Room Tip: You need to ask if you want a shower as some rooms only have baths, and my shower had a 'roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helens hotels
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Eccleston Arms
Eccleston Arms
#2 of 5 in St Helens
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Alfred Hotel
Royal Alfred Hotel
#4 of 5 in St Helens
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#1 of 5 in St Helens
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ParkView Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkView Hotel and Guest House

Address: 333-335 Prescot Road, St Helens WA10 3HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Price Range: £37 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ParkView Hotel and Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is 1 mile from St Helen's town. It is facing Taylor Park ideal for those guests who like that early morning jog or walk before breakfast. The hotel offers 3 types of accommodation. On the ground floor are executive suites i.e. widescreen TV, leather furniture and bathroom with bidet. The 2nd floor offers standard accommodation of en-suite single, double and family rooms or our budget single rooms from £20 per night. All rooms have colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ParkView Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing