We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay! Would definitely return”
Review of The Griffin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Griffin Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 St Helens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay! Would definitely return”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Extremely good value for money! Just recently stayed here and had a lovely weekend away. Its about 25 minutes drive into liverpool so perfect if you want to be close by but not in the centre of everything. Staff were very helpful and service at breakfast and dinner was good. Food was delicious and portions were huge. Our room (10) was very clean with good facilties, but unfortunately the shower wasn't very good and the mattress not too comfy but for £48 per room we didnt mind. Our friends stayed in room 5 which was gorgeous. Overall we had a great stay and are already planning our next trip back to The Griffin! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    42
    8
    10
    4
See reviews for
40
37
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Three of us decided to walk down to the Griffin for the Quiz night on Wednesday. Diet coke £3 a pint! Medium glass of average wine over a £5. It cost £11.85 for three drinks - two rounds later we had spent almost £25 - we will buy a decent bottle of wine and stay at home next week.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BartieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here in June while visiting relatives nearby. The staff were very friendly and we had a light lunch here while watching the Lions beatAustralia. The food was good and very reasonably priced. Our room was clean, comfortable and had all we needed. The bed was huge and very comfortable. It was very good value even though breakfast was extra. Would return here if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed at The Griffin for 2 nights at the end of March with my wife. The room was a good size and well equipped with everyhting you'd expect (TV, Hair Dryer etc) with plenty of wardrobe space. Once we had unpacked we decided to have a meal from the Bar Menu, washed down with a pint. The standard of food was very good with a decent portion size and was reasonably priced. Beer quality was excellent, the Jennings Cumberland Ale was crystal clear and as good as any pint that you would get up in the lakes a few miles from the brewery!!!!!

On our first night we found the staff and locals very friendly and were treated as though we were regulars in the pub.

Again on our second night we ate in the pub and again were impressed with the quality of the food and beer.

Wednesday night is quiz night in the Griffin and it provides a good mix of subjects along with a picture round. There is also a chance to win a meal for 2 in the restaurant and play your cards right.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay at The Griffin and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting St Helens and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked a table for four for my wife and I and our friends. Saw the menu on the website and having been before expected no problem ordering vegetarian for my wife and I. How wrong we were. No vegetarian option in the main menu and hardly anything on the bar menu.

The staff agreed that there was little vegetarian on the menu but did little to try and help. They finally cobbled something together.

If we had been on our own we would have left.

Won't be going again.

If you are vegetarian my advise would be to give the Griffin a miss or ring before you go. I have noticed the website menu has a number of vegetarian options the morning after we visited.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Called in for lunch at The Griffin and it was very pleasant indeed. Nice friendly staff and the sort of food you used to get in pubs years ago before they were invaded by "chains" serving pre packed and sealed junk.

The food was "real" food for local suppliers and the chef had prepared it especially for us rather than pinging it in the microwave as so many do now!

We really enjoyed our meal in the lovely surroundings of The Griffin and would certainly return. I really feel that unless we support and appreciate such traditional inns there will be none left for us to enjoy in the future and that would be a great shame as this place is lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We live nearby yet it took us nearly 6 years to try this place and when we did we couldn't believe how good it is and within walking distance too - now we go regularly for a treat!
Sunday dinners are very good value, but be warned it gets busy so book in advance. In the evenings (Mon to Sat) they have a fantastic deal for 2 that includes a 3 course meal and a bottle of wine for a total of £37 - this is fantastic value and you get some good menu choices. For those very special occasions we have eaten off the al a carte menu, this is always fantastic food but does come at a cost, as you would expect, so that makes it all the more special.
Children are catered for and accomodated, they have provided smaller portions of 'adult meals' for our daughter. if you remember this is a restuarant not a fast food pub, you'll enjoy it here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAL0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
1.7 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
458 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
6.0 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton-Le-Willows
745 reviews
3.7 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Property: The Griffin Inn
Address: Church Lane | Eccleston, St Helens WA10 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Griffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel St Helens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing