We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have good memory's of the Waterside, ill stay Always overthere when i was send to St.Helens Polynorm UK, good times fly, good thoughts on it, good personel in my time when i stay for a few days.Can recomended to all how where send to work into the district, near by the road to Liverpool or Manchester.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toinvanbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am originally from St.Helens (Just round the corner from this hotel) but now reside in Middlesbrough. Visiting for a family party we decided to stay in this hotel at £29 for the night we werent expecting the Ritz! I have got to admit I was very happy. Staff were very friendly and polite. The bed was HUGE and very very comfortable. Our room was decorated lovely and had all the mod cons. I agree with the below comments in that the rest of the hotel needs abit of a re-vamp. Room also overlook Carr Mill Damn - bringing back drunken memorys of being a teenager in St.Helens!! I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatesk3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful and booked me a taxi to go out for dinner. However, I expect a hotel with a dining pub attached to be able to grill sausages for breakfast, rather than put them in the deep fat fryer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with mother and two young nieces. Staff very friendly. Very convenient for visiting my daughter in Liverpool. Our room was spacious and overlooked the lake. Small portable TV in room and small kettle fixed to table making it awkward to use. Don't eat in the pub next door - miserable staff and carvery food like it had been out all day. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Liverpool next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely friendly staff however the beds are terrible. The premier inn guarantees a good night sleep which this hotel did not provide the bed is fab with its size but it's comfort rating is -10 it was like sleeping on concrete. When asked the following morning if I slept ok I said no and was promptly given a full refund something I wasn't expecting as nowhere do they advertise the good night sleep guarantee.domt know if it was just bad luck on my part getting a bad bed but I would try this hotel again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Bed to hard, pillows to soft, had really bad back in the mornings, not suitable for disabled. Defo not family friendly. Manager needs retraining, she shouldn't be so rude and abrupt. Made us feel very unwelcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Staff at hotel great. Rooms clean and spacious if a little dated. Try for a room away from the front door as selfish smokers gather here in the night and make a lot of noise.
Stay away from the bar for food, terrible. Ok for a drink. Food used to be great now as bad as it gets. Pre packed Lasagne and a Carvery that was sparse and seemed like left overs.
Due back next week and will look for somewhere else to eat.

Room Tip: Stay away from entrance
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
1.8 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
472 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton-Le-Willows
763 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
91 reviews
3.4 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel

Address: Garswood Old Road | East Lancs Road, St Helens WA11 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn St Helens (A580/East Lancs) is situated in a quiet spot next to the Carr Mill Dam, but all the sights and sounds of Liverpool and Manchester are within easy reach. So if you want a great break exploring these two jewels of the North West, or if you're visiting on business, we're an ideal place to stay. Watch the Rugby League at Langtree Park, home of St Helens Rugby League Club, or enjoy a day at the races, with Haydock Park only 10 minutes away, and Aintree Racecourse, home of the world famous Grand National, only 20 minutes from our location. After a long day at any of these brilliant days out, come back to a King Size Hypnos Bed, and a great nights sleep! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing