We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for my needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very warm rooms....up at 6am and booked out earlier than necessary because of heat.....The restaurant where we had evening meal/carvery was excellent value for money, and food was very good....the staff very welcoming and helpful......

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in this particular Premier Inn. After a fab stay 2 years ago we decided to book again. This is a great location to visit Liverpool, only a 20 minute drive into the city and even less for Anfield. The rooms are spotless, the view is great, overlooking the lake and it is very quiet. The reception staff were very friendly and the Waterside pub next door is highly recommended, again the staff were very chatty (but I think that's Liverpool people in general).
HOWEVER, the rooms were unbearably hot. The heat hits you as soon as you walk in. There was a laminate sheet explaining that the thermostat on the wall could not cool the room just maintain the room temperature and there was a desk top fan you could use. We could not open the window as my son's bed was directly underneath and the fan that was provided just kept circulating warm
air which made the situation 10 times worse. The both days/nights we were there the room temperature did not go below 26 degrees. The receptionist was very apologetic but this did not make up for 2 very uncomfortable nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have lovely views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taffy4Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I used the Premier Inn on the A580 for a business trip stop over. It was easy to book and the administration was without fault. The accommodation was simple and clean. The receptionist was absolutely brilliant; she was a real ambassador for Premier Inn. The cost was £69, which was a tad more than the advertised £29. I am not sure that it warranted that cost given its rather basic standard.
The breakfast and evening meal were provide by the pub/restaurant situated on the same site. The standard for both meals was adequate. I could not say that I would make any efforts to take another meal at the establishment.

Room Tip: It is more peaceful at the back overlooking the lake. The front rooms overlook the car park.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really Friendly staff, good parking and great view from the bedroom with the usual cleanliness and practicality from Premier Inns. Food in the restaurant is very good too. At the price I paid it was a bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great room and breakfast included for £80 which in today's market is good considering they offer everything the big boys do except a swimming pool. To counter this they have a Wonderful Dam next door with lots of varying wildlife. Breakfast was spot on as well. All in all great value.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights due to a family wedding near by,we had a family room over looking the lake,the rooms were spotless and well decorated.Reception staff were all polite and really helpfull,we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rch1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I think Premier Inns are probably the best of the big clone chains, but they still lack character and this one was a bit worn (they are redecorating the stairs). The room was OK but bland as usual. The location isn't bad though, being on a lake/river (not sure which), so it looked like you could get out for a walk if you felt that way inclined.

The pub next door was poor compared to other linked pubs I've been to next to Premier Inns. It felt down at heel and the food wasn't particulary good in the evening, although the breakfast was better

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trousers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
1.8 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
472 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Haydock St. Helens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton-Le-Willows
762 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
91 reviews
3.4 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel

Address: Garswood Old Road | East Lancs Road, St Helens WA11 7LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range: £44 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn St Helens (A580/East Lancs) is situated in a quiet spot next to the Carr Mill Dam, but all the sights and sounds of Liverpool and Manchester are within easy reach. So if you want a great break exploring these two jewels of the North West, or if you're visiting on business, we're an ideal place to stay. Watch the Rugby League at Langtree Park, home of St Helens Rugby League Club, or enjoy a day at the races, with Haydock Park only 10 minutes away, and Aintree Racecourse, home of the world famous Grand National, only 20 minutes from our location. After a long day at any of these brilliant days out, come back to a King Size Hypnos Bed, and a great nights sleep! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing