We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stop Off For The Football”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stop Off For The Football”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed here twice having travelled up from Plymouth to watch Liverpool.

First stay was on New Years Day. We arrived after the game (around 6.30pm) to a warm welcome from Karen who was extremely friendly and chatty.

Had booked a meal in the adjoining 'Beefeater' and had a nice meal where the service was the quickest I have ever experienced compared to any 'Beefeater' we have eaten in previously (it was New Years day and not busy, but even so!).

As we were coming up again for a match the following Sunday, we booked again and travelled on the Saturday evening and rather than book a meal in the restaurant we picked up a Subway from the Business Park just up the road which we took to our room.

Nice lay in and after a quick breakfast at Maccy D's it was off to Liverpool again (just down the M62).

This may be a relatively new hotel but the rooms were immaculate and it was the first time for ages that (on both occasions) the dispensers worked properly in the bathroom!!

Plenty of parking too and the staff on both occasions were very friendly.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly book it again if we're going to stop over either before or after going to the football.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachKT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    68
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
110
68
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Located on the link road midway between St Helens and the M62/A57 this hotel in Lea Green is a fantastic location to easily commute into Liverpool,Manchester and surrounding areas.
Staff were helpful cheerful and generally very nice people to do business with.
The cleaners were attentive and thorough and no problems were encountered at all.
A secure CCTV car park had plenty of spaces so no problems with finding a parking spot.
All in all very good, we will be going back on our next visit to the UK but Premier should really do cheaper deals for longer stays.
Breakfast served next door to the hotel was first class and much better than a more expensive hotel we used located about two miles away on Chalon Way when last in St Helens.

Room Tip: No lift is available to first floor so if a few stairs are an issue let them know when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great location, staff very friendly and helpful, have stayed there several times and would highly recommend it . The only fault was we needed to get away early, ordered breakfast for 7.30' only to be told when we arrived that it would not be served until 8.00, but a very helpful waitress, went to see if we could start straight away and rushed to get things ready for us, breakfast was great and a big thank you to the waitress, sorry don't know your name

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186460Taffyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed Christmas Eve and had a lovely pleasant stay. Room was very clean and comfortable. Karen on the reception was lovely, approachable and friendly. The welcome was warm and inviting. Rooms were a great price and it was well worth it. Also had breakfast and again the staff were attentive and friendly. Would recommend in an instant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChameliaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz De Tenerife, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very clean, quiet, exceptionally friendly staff who could not do enough to make my stay more comfortable, an excellent choice, with free car parking. There is an excellent restaurant geographically located by the hotel complex.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 236Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

On arrival the receptionist was incredibly helpful. She directed me to where I needed to go the following morning, gave me a couple of menus for food and was really friendly without going over-the-top. Standard PI room so you know what you are going to get (well at least it doesn't spring any nasty surprises on you eh?).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel was excellent, very clean, rooms of a high standard. The food in the restaurant was very good, we dined from the festive menu. The staff are always helpful. I often stay and dine here, I've never been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
2.2 mi away
Mercure St Helens
Mercure St Helens
#3 of 3 in St Helens
460 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
1.9 mi away
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
Mercure Haydock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Haydock
62 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 1 in Newton-Le-Willows
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel
Address: Eurolink | Lea Green, St Helens WA9 4TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn St. Helens South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M62 just off the A570. For shops and local amenities St. Helens town centre is only 2 miles away. Conveniently located for Lea Green train station. Our St. Helens South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing