We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tamarind Tree

The Tamarind Tree
Ranked #13 of 135 Restaurants in Wokingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Great friendly service. Food was tasty and quick and tasted very fresh.

Fully reccomend it if you are in the area

Helpful?
Thank RavenUK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    58
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reserving Judgement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My first impression of this place was not great, i had arranged to meet some friends here for an early dinner during the week, when i walked in i was advised they were not open and i would have to leave, as it was 5 minutes to 6pm I was a little shocked that they would react like this, most places would just let you sit at the table and offer you a drink. When i was finally allowed into the place we advised that some people were running late due to work and traffic - signs and rolling of eyes was the response (not great services). When we were all seated we advised that the booking was for 7 but 1 person had just cancelled - we were then told we had to move tables as they were very busy - looking round there was only 1 other couple in the place... we did however move tables so not to cause too much bother. through out the whole of our meal we felt like we were being rushed and they couldnt get us out the door quick enough .
Food was lovely but the service has left a bad taste in my mouth.
If i ever go back here and the service is different I will write another review, however as there are some amazing Curry places around this area it will not be on my go to list

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louk2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good quality and variety. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great find for a small town outside of London. Service is quick and tandoori came out on a sizzling skillet which was great.

Helpful?
Thank Swiss_mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kousher M, Owner at The Tamarind Tree, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely, lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Just got home from an fantastic meal. We have eaten at the restaurant a few times and had plenty of take aways! The service is always great, very attentive and generous, food is really good quality and the place is always busy!!

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kousher M, Owner at The Tamarind Tree, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we really enjoy having customers who appreciate our food and ambience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
258 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Been here so many times and never ever been disappointed. Food is incredibly good and the service is always spot on. Despite there being a plethera of Indian Restaurants in Wokingham this place is always full and that in itself speaks volumes. Really suggest you book a table in advance and give it a go. Would be amazed if you did not enjoy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kousher M, Owner at The Tamarind Tree, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Patrick,

Thank you for your kind words.

We do try hard but it is so much easier when the company is so good.

Don't forget to download our smartphone app, it especially designed for our most loyal customers. Just search for 'Tamarind' on the App or Playstore.

Koush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tamarind Tree also viewed

Wokingham, Berkshire
 
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to The Tamarind Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing