We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has closed down”
Review of Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen - CLOSED

Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It has closed down”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place has closed down. I walked passed and saw that it was gone so don't go. I give it one star to highlight this. Trip Advisor is sometimes a bit slow to take places off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No longer in business !”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This venue has ceased trading, which is a real shame & probably due to the lack of parking & it's 'out of town' location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulkentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Food and Staff - Not appealing from the outside though”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Really like this place - the staff are really nice here.
The guy who seems to run the place always treats us really well and makes the experience well worthwhile.
The food is always interesting and the burgers are smashing!
The Wokingham Mess is brilliant too.
Shame is seems to be closed for refurbishment at the moment, but hopefully will open up and they will be able to make some changes to make it look more welcoming from the outside.
I think it would benefit from appearing less like a take away downstairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The burgers here are excellent. My OH eats here regularly when he is working nearby.
We were not disappointed. Although the menu is not large, if you like handmade burgers you are in the right place.
A few small downsides.
Where we were seated was directly opposite the smoking area, and the door was always open, making it very unpleasant.
Also, when we went to order dessert, we were told that the chef had gone home sick? But yet we had been served food? By a sick person?
Anyway, the guy was very nice and offerd us a small discount as my daughter was VERY upset at the lack of dessert.
I would definitely return for the burgers, but would choose my table carefully and also ask the health of the chef!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 933Jeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I always enjoy it !!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Been back to WGK 5 or 6 times now and always enjoy it.
The staff are very friendly and provide as much attention as you want, never aloof and never pushy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Plumber69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wokingham Gourmet Kitchen also viewed

Finchampstead, Wokingham
Woodley, Wokingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing