We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wedding December 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cantley House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Wokingham
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our wedding December 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a lot of time selecting the right venue for our wedding reception and overall we are really pleased we chose Cantley House Hotel.
We had a lot of family travelling from far and wide and needed a hotel that could accommodate them easily as well as our desire to have a converted barn and Cantley offered us the best of both worlds.
Overall I was very happy with Vince and Laura who were on hand to assist me through the organising phase. There were a few areas that could have been improved on but overall they were very patient and helpful in assisting me with my requests and any problems that arose were dealt with quickly.
Many of our family chose to stay the night before the wedding as well as the night of the wedding and with the help of Laura, my mother in law arranged for a pre-wedding night dinner which doubled as a family reunion in the oak paneled room. Overall they were happy with how it went and the quality of food but I understand the bar service was rather slow as a Christmas party was taking place in a different part of the hotel.
The feedback from friends and family that stayed at the hotel was very positive, they were pleased with their rooms and the quality of the breakfast and service they received from the staff.

The day of the wedding itself Vince was on hand to make sure everything ran smoothly, the food was delicious and the venue looked great we had our wedding breakfast in the Briar and it worked really well, we then went into the main part of the hotel for the evening section.
We had the four poster room (recommended for newly weds) and absolutely loved it. The staff on the day were great and we had many compliments from our guests on the food, staff and how lovely the venue was.

I would definitely recommend Cantley as a wedding venue it helped make our wedding day truly special.

Room Tip: The four poster room is fantastic and definitely recommended if you are getting married here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0haz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking such a lot of trouble to write and for the kind words.
I can appreciate that the bar service was not as you (or we) would wish and is a danger at busy times - and especially during December. Your note will be shared here, the good and the not so good so that we learn lessons.
Many thanks and we all hope to see you again

Regards

Maurice Monk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    120
    73
    49
    31
See reviews for
107
153
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night with my daughter for a family wedding. Wonderful well kept location with amazing front of house staff. My room was nice but needed updating and bathroom needs work. Also a bigger bar was needed as there was a constant queue!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fordy2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Golly
Looks like we were lucky to be given such an accolade from you and it will be shared here as all our reviews are, as an example where being warm, friendly and genuinely wanting to help, is more important than most other issues in the world of service.
Nonetheless it's better if the rest is right so - I am aware that 9 of our bathrooms suffer from "avocado syndrome" and we are gradually upgrading them to "Villeroy and Posh!" as all the others are now.
Being a Victorian stately home a chimney breast in the middle of the bar does produce its challenges and I am sorry if we kept guests waiting. Structurally we are stuck with this but we should staff accordingly and this will be shared here.

I hope we might see you again

Regards

Maurice Monk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was a 1-night wedding stay for a colleague and proved to be a wonderfully serene and pretty location for such an event. The grounds are well kept and the house itself is attractive with well sized rooms for our party.

The staff were not overly cheery, but ever-present throughout the day/ evening and we were well attended on.

Where the hotel really did let itself down was the evening bar – merely a small hatch in the wall presenting 2 issues. Firstly that the queue was inevitably very long for the duration of the evening (at least 4 deep for the most-part). Secondly for such an occasion the selection of drinks available was almost invisible, resulting in people sticking to what they know and not taking advantage of a more ambitious round. The money people can spend at weddings is phenomenal and to limit this simply by not showing people what’s available seems a great shame.

Our room (37) was large with great facilities, next to the courtyard, and a good shower. Breakfast was superb, and we also ate from Milton’s restaurant in the afternoon, with a high quality menu to dine from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. There is evidently a lesson here and I am grateful for you bringing lost opportunity to my notice.
The hatch situation can feel quirky yet right but a permanent queue is going to remove any positive reflections, and remove opportunity as at the same time. I will reflect on that and on the valuable comments regarding limited choice of wine.
I am pleased that the rest of the aspects of Cantley were appreciated.
Thank you again, you have made a difference here. I hope we see you again.
Regards
Maurice Monk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently stayed at Cantley House Hotel following a family wedding, The reception was excellent and the staff efficient, professional and polite. We booked two small double bedrooms and enjoyed a good night's sleep. Whilst they weren't furnished to the highest specification, they were comfortable and adequate. The only reason I haven't given the hotel 5* is because the breakfast wasn't great with food and drink that had run out not being replenished, so we were very limited by the time we ate.

Room Tip: Pay extra for those little bits of luxury if you intend staying more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
How valuable yet frustrating is this review.
We will take great notice of this and change/learn.
To do so much right, all the investing, training, cajoling, planning and everything else involved in creating and running a hotel, and then falling because insufficient notice has been taken of breakfast,( the last meal before paying! and the penultimate impression) is such a lesson.
We always share good and bad reviews and we all care so this will make a difference. I hope that we see you again and get 5 next time!

Regards and real thanks

Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Cantley House for a wedding at the end of April and had the most wonderful time. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the food was delicous and the venue simply perfect. The number of different beautiful rooms allows the weddding to take place all on one site with guests staying in the hotel, it is the perfect set up. We stayed in one of the higher end rooms which are sumptuous and very quiet, overlooking the beautiful gardens. Although we had one or two issues with our bathroom, management were very quick to sort out the problem and offer a more than generous compensation for our troubles. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had booked a suite here for my husband's retirement do on a Tuesday evening (so not the busiest time!). The booking was made directly with the hotel (so no possible excuse about third parties!) and several weeks in advance. We chose this hotel specifically for the location which was in walking distance of the restaurant his colleagues had booked for his send off. At 5 pm the evening before our stay the hotel rang to say they had double booked us and we would not now be able to stay. They seemed to think this was perfectly acceptable and that we would be grateful that they had found us a room in another hotel quite some distance away. They did offer to pay for our taxi but this in no way compensated for our disappointment! When my husband pressed them further they did offer some further financial compensation but this did not make up for the feeling of being pushed out to suit the hotel's convenience .... Presumably they had a better customer and felt no compunction in reneging on their contract with us! Their unprofessional and cavalier attitude is obviously as a result of the fact that this 'double booking' is a frequent occurrence judging by other reviews!! To add insult to injury, having spent some time reorganising our plans, the hotel e mailed on the morning of our departure to say they now had a cancellation and would be able to offer us a room .... After the way we were treated we declined! DON'T STAY HERE ... TOTALLY UNRELIABLE!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tw0_Jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauriceStanley, Owner at Cantley House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am sorry that we caused this problem. It was an error as is quite evident; it should never happen but on this occasion it did.
We have no overbooking policy and we would never consider it. With only 36 rooms and being regularly fully booked we would be asking for deep trouble and likely failure if we did and I abhor such an approach.
It has happened before, I cannot deny, but I cannot remember the last time. Our only "policy" under such circumstances is not written down but is part of the ethos of this independent hotel that values its local reputation, is to do whatever we can to minimise both the inconvenience and any cost that our error has created. On this occasion this approach was followed to the extreme and seemed to be appreciated at the time as much as could be expected under such circumstances.
I am just sorry that we caused such distress.
Sincerely
Maurice Monk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Cantley House Hotel is a wonderful venue for a wedding reception or indeed just for a weekend break. I stayed here recently for a friend's wedding and found the staff very friendly, professional and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for them. It feels like a family run hotel, very warm and welcoming. My room was bright and spacious albeit a little hot but a quick adjustment on the radiator soon sorted that out!! We had a pre-wedding meal on Friday evening which was delicious and the wedding meal itself was fantastic. The breakfast area is quaint and traditional and provided a great breakfast! The setting is lovely with beautiful gardens to capture those special wedding photos. All in all a delightful venue and would highly recommend it to anyone.
A very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wokingham
1.9 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
6.4 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
2.1 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantley House Hotel

Property: Cantley House Hotel
Address: Cantley | Milton Road, Wokingham RG40 1JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wokingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cantley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cantley House Hotel is a spacious independently owned, 36 bedroom Victorian Country House Hotel set in 50 acres of beautiful Berkshire parkland, 2 minutes from the historic market town of Wokingham. The building has been carefully restored over the years maintaining its many beautiful architectural features. The Clock tower wing with architecture inspired by local Almshouses was constructed in 2001, adding 15 Executive rooms and suites with wonderful views of the grounds and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cantley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantley Hotel Wokingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing