We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat in the bar!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dukes Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Head
Ranked #8 of 8 Wokingham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rat in the bar!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This pub has been nicely decorated, with an open fire and with a welcoming landlord. It should be lovely but is spoilt by some really vulgar and actually quite disgusting talk from locals, on every occasion I have visited. It can perhaps be expected of youngsters and partly excused, but not when it is coming from middle aged men. The staff do not seem to do much about this, if anything.

What was worse, was a recent visit when one of the locals actually had a rat in the pub! He had it in his coat pocket and other drinkers did not even seem to realise this. He then allowed it to come out and climb all over himself, while he was standing at the bar and in full view of staff. People dine at this pub and it is not what you expect to see or experience on a night out in what should be a cosy and enjoyable evening in the pub. I thought that was horrendous. Some pubs don't even allow dogs, this one allows rats! If you like rats, it probably would be perfect, but not for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockLanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T, Owner at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We feel that people must be made aware that the rat in the bar is a pet rat. On the evening that this unfortunate incident happened the landlord and landlady were not on duty. The rate is not allowed in the bar, and this would not have happened if one of us had been about. I can understand that this would cause a great amount of unrest to someone who does not like pet rats, and would very much like to meet with the person who submitted this report, in order to rectify any bad representations that this unfotunate event caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    5
    5
    14
See reviews for
10
19
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had this hotel booked for 4 nights but had to leave the next day due to the following and an argument with the owner:

1. Strong smell of mould in the bedroom
2. No soap, shampoo, hand wash in the bathroom
3. Disghusting/dirty bedsheet
4. Room looked as if no one stayed for a long time and it has never been cleaned
5. We were served coffee with expired milk
6. Kettles were disghusting and one of them had stagnant water sitting there for ages with mould growth and no filter
7. Extractor fan not working in bathroom
8. Spider webs everywhere
9. Rooms were not cleaned after we left for the day
10. Really noisy at night, as if someone's banging the doors in the middle of the night and lots of noise by the stairs
11. Overall unpleasant environment

These are some of the issues we had. Please see photographic evidence for more details.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCW673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T, Owner at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear MCW673, we are disappointed to read about your list of issues on Tripadvisor. It is much easier to respond to issues if you speak to us during your stay. We can then act on them and endeavour to put them right. We are also disappointed to see you have published photographs of a bed that had already been slept in, and as such feel that there is no credence to the photograph. Should you be in the area again, please give us a call directly and we will see if we can put something together in order to rectify the situation. Finally, I would like to point out we are a B&B and not a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Recently had a Fantastic sunday roast here. Served with heaps of veg, great price. Delicious.
Good menu,with a specials board, one of our party h ad a burger which looked great.
Really friendly and welcoming hosts adrian and julie.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamahen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

My colleagues and I held our staff Xmas get together here last night and we cannot fault the service and value for money. Thank you so much to Adrian and his team-we had a fantastic night (all 31 of us!) :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip_80_Janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

i work down the road, wouldnt go anywere else 5 star! nice food good drinks very clean look forward to finnishing work to go to the pub very good value for such a good service thay work very hard to give you a very welcome stay also very nice garden that won local in bloom compertition best wishes thanks Alan from Blyth in Northumberland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed here as we were working locally. Nice big car park for vans etc. never had any problems with security. Good pub atmosphere and there are plenty others about 2 mins walk too. The breakfasts were fresh and tastey!! Adrian and Julie are very friendly and helpfull. Will be staying again even if we are working upto 15 miles away!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnpasicznyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

A really good local pub that welcomes those from afar or passing through too. Lovely little beer garden area for smokers and sun worshippers. Adrian is a star and very tolerant of the drunken lass that asked politely if she could sit on the bar and sing... This is exactly what a pub should be - a homely extension of ones living room with alcohol and good food on tap. My only complaint is that they don't serve Pina Colada, but this is a personal and very common complaint on my part.

I shall return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wokingham
0.8 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2.1 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bracknell Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head

Property: The Dukes Head
Address: 56 Denmark Street, Wokingham RG40 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dukes Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing