We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what a local pub should be....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dukes Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dukes Head
Ranked #8 of 8 Wokingham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just what a local pub should be....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Welcoming and warm. Friendly and fun. A good traditional local pub at its best.
Excellent and reasonable bed and breakfast facilities - with hospitable staff who do everything they can to ensure a comfortable stay. Relax in the evening by visiting the bar, enjoying a great pub dinner and downing a few glasses of wine and, if it's Friday, join in with the singsong supported by selections made on the jukebox....
Ideally located for access to Wokingham town centre, and the station if you're planning to visit London.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T, Owner at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Daisy D, thank you very much for your feed back. We are pleased that you enjoyed your most recent visit to the Dukes Head and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    5
    5
    14
See reviews for
10
19
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

An absolute belter of a place, very welcoming staff, the food was excellent and I'm happy to say so was the beer! The Dukes Head is a credit to the town, thanks for your hospitality we will certainly be back as soon as possible.

Well played all round.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guildfordhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T, Owner at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you verymuch for your recent review. Julie and I are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the pub, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Under the welcoming management of Adrian & Julie the Dukes is fast becoming one of the most popular pubs in Wokingham. It has a varied menu ( best sunday roast in town ) and excellent beers including 2/3 real ales on tap.
The B&B side ( it is not a hotel! ) is extremely well run and my family always stay there when visiting with no complaints. The breakfast has become so popular that local tradesmen regulary turn up un-announced and Adrian will always cook a 'full english' whatever the time.
The locals are friendly and there is a good natured banter to be found at the bar!
With the promise of sports channels to be installed in the coming months things can only get better. keep up the good work!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There is one dog friendly room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSRD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I found the pub to be very friendly and the staff very helpful. The food is of a great standard and i gather from a local source ( Steak and chips with all the trimmings) My room was comfortable and very clean with fresh linen and towels. Adrian and Julie (Landlord/Lady) are doing a marvellous job and i highly recommend staying here as i will be again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the 22nd - 24th February
On arrival we were given our keys and made our way to our room. Upon entry I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was large with an en suite bathroom. Where ever I stay the first thing I ever check are the beds. These were very clean and fresh smelling.
On both nights of our stay we went into the pub where the staff and the locals really made us feel welcome.
My husband and I have both agreed we would definitly go back again and would reccommend The Dukes Head as a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This pub has been nicely decorated, with an open fire and with a welcoming landlord. It should be lovely but is spoilt by some really vulgar and actually quite disgusting talk from locals, on every occasion I have visited. It can perhaps be expected of youngsters and partly excused, but not when it is coming from middle aged men. The staff do not seem to do much about this, if anything.

What was worse, was a recent visit when one of the locals actually had a rat in the pub! He had it in his coat pocket and other drinkers did not even seem to realise this. He then allowed it to come out and climb all over himself, while he was standing at the bar and in full view of staff. People dine at this pub and it is not what you expect to see or experience on a night out in what should be a cosy and enjoyable evening in the pub. I thought that was horrendous. Some pubs don't even allow dogs, this one allows rats! If you like rats, it probably would be perfect, but not for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockLanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T, Owner at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We feel that people must be made aware that the rat in the bar is a pet rat. On the evening that this unfortunate incident happened the landlord and landlady were not on duty. The rate is not allowed in the bar, and this would not have happened if one of us had been about. I can understand that this would cause a great amount of unrest to someone who does not like pet rats, and would very much like to meet with the person who submitted this report, in order to rectify any bad representations that this unfotunate event caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We had this hotel booked for 4 nights but had to leave the next day due to the following and an argument with the owner:

1. Strong smell of mould in the bedroom
2. No soap, shampoo, hand wash in the bathroom
3. Disghusting/dirty bedsheet
4. Room looked as if no one stayed for a long time and it has never been cleaned
5. We were served coffee with expired milk
6. Kettles were disghusting and one of them had stagnant water sitting there for ages with mould growth and no filter
7. Extractor fan not working in bathroom
8. Spider webs everywhere
9. Rooms were not cleaned after we left for the day
10. Really noisy at night, as if someone's banging the doors in the middle of the night and lots of noise by the stairs
11. Overall unpleasant environment

These are some of the issues we had. Please see photographic evidence for more details.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCW673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T, Owner at The Dukes Head, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear MCW673, we are disappointed to read about your list of issues on Tripadvisor. It is much easier to respond to issues if you speak to us during your stay. We can then act on them and endeavour to put them right. We are also disappointed to see you have published photographs of a bed that had already been slept in, and as such feel that there is no credence to the photograph. Should you be in the area again, please give us a call directly and we will see if we can put something together in order to rectify the situation. Finally, I would like to point out we are a B&B and not a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wokingham
0.8 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2.1 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coppid Beech Hotel
Coppid Beech Hotel
#7 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bracknell Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head

Property: The Dukes Head
Address: 56 Denmark Street, Wokingham RG40 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wokingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dukes Head 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dukes Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing