We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty local”

The Bull at Barkham
Ranked #10 of 139 Restaurants in Wokingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty local”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Went here recently with my wife. The menu is mostly Thai inspired although there are classic pub favourites. I started with whitebait, which were ok (not sure if the guts were removed). My wife had the dumplings, she said they were tasty. She had the pork belly for main and found the sweet and sour vegetables to be a bit weird. I had the Thai green curry which was good and spicy. We will definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harribo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    122
    35
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very much a pub in terms of atmosphere and decor but service and above-average food make this more of a restaurant experience.
We sampled both Thia and more traditional disses between us - both very good, the thai dishes well spiced and nicely presented, steak cooked exactly as required and lovely chips! Required gluten-free and the waitress able to advise me on the suitablity of my choices - no problems there.
Service in general was lovely - friendly and attentive and efficient but not hurried.
Didn't sample pudding. Wine list not very interesting.
Would definitely recommend and certainly advise booking

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good pub food and great beers”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great to see a local pub being run well and always busy. On a warm summers evening they were full for food and had no room for walk ups past 7pm. Great selection of beers including Timothy Taylor which you don’t often see in the south. Plenty of outside seating too. They do a great calamari starter and I enjoyed my pork belly too. There are always some interesting specials chalked up above the bar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank willsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The atmosphere, service and food is excellent. Four of us went for dinner last weekend. We were offered a very varied menu along with the specials board so there is something for everyone including Thai dishes. We had a starter for two between the four of us, hoping that would leave enough room for a dessert after the main course - the starter was more than enough for the four of us. Main courses were fantastic! I had the calves liver and bacon served on bubble and squeak - I have to say it was one of the best calves liver dishes Ive had. The only down side was that we didn't have room for a dessert!! All in all a great restaurant and would recommend but be sure to book to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food/ service and beer”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have been to the bull a few times now - it is very busy so be sure to book - but the food and beer are exceptional.

Food is cooked to perfection/ delivered with a smile and without a long wait. They have also been very accommodating when dining with a little one.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull at Barkham also viewed

Finchampstead, Wokingham
 
Woodley, Wokingham
 
Sindlesham, Wokingham
Wokingham, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bull at Barkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing