We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer property with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Newer property with excellent service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a well-managed hotel with a friendly staff and very nice, clean rooms. I found the desk staff to really go above and beyond in being service oriented. Also, they had parking lot security at night which checked each entering vehicle, which was really nice since we had a carload full of things. I thought this was a very nice perk (by the way, it seems to be a very safe area regardless).

We had a free upgrade to a suite, due to them being out of the standard rooms. The small suites are extremely nice and stylish.

I liked every part of the stay with the exception of the first morning hearing people walking around continuously. I'm not sure why many of these newer hotels are built of wood frames. So, perhaps I would recommend trying to get a top floor room if you're staying here.

Room Tip: Request top floor to avoid sound from people walking above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iltraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am so glad that you found everything to be top notch, from our staff, to security in the evenings, to our property maintenance, etc. I am sorry for the noise that you experienced during your stay. We do our best to monitor noise issues, so please never hesitate to let us know if you hear anything and we will do our best to take care of it for you, because we want you to have a great nights rest. :) We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the near future.

Your St. Louis Place to Stay,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    100
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
635
245
52
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have stayed at this Hampton multiple times & EVERY time the service, rooms, etc., were wonderful. Recommend going to any Hampton Inn since they do honor their guarentee of clean rooms, good service & good people to match. They also have an wonderful breakfast area to get your day started.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joni Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for continuing to stay with us. It is great to hear that time and time again you have truly enjoyed your stay at our property. Including everything from our staff, to the rooms, etc. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your St. Louis Hampton Staff,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel appears to be fairly new. It is well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I stay at Hampton Inns for most of my travel for business and leisure. I highly recommend them for comfort, service and value and this one is exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jogfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write a review. I am so glad that you found our hotel staff and property to be exceptional. We have been ranked for the past two years as the #1 Hampton Inn & Suites in the world, and it's so great to hear that you felt that kind of attentiveness. We hope to see you again, and thank you for always choosing to stay at Hampton Inn's.

Your Hampton Staff,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and found it to be a great value. The staff are friendly and helpful to everyone. The breakfasts offer enough variety to satisfy my family and the cookies are a great touch. We will likely stay here again when we return to St. Louis in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for returning to our hotel and for sharing your experiences. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoy visiting our property while in St. Louis. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your Hampton Staff,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My family of four stayed here for a short family trip. I chose this hotel because the price was much more reasonable compared to the downtown hotels, yet all the places we went to were a short drive away. All staff we encountered were very friendly and our room was clean and comfortable. The hot breakfast was good, which is always better than standard cereal and pastries. This hotel also had a nightly Cookies & Milk Happy Hour which my family loved going down to each evening. I will definitely stay here again when we return to St. Louis in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that your family enjoyed your stay and that you found our rates and location to be great. I am also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our cookie hour in the evening with our Cookie Ladies. What better way to end a night in St. Louis, right? :) We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your St. Louis Place to Stay,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

As other reviewers have stated - a very good hotel. I love the cookies and cold milk in the evenings!

However it has some interesting quirkiness to it. For example, if you arrive late a night, there is a rickety barrier across the access road manned by some sort of an unfriendly security guard who demands your name and vehicle model and writes down your license plate. Only other places I have seen such a setup is in South East Asia. Very off-putting and unwelcoming!

Other unusual quirks. Both hotel elevators had large plastic wet-floor freestanding signs in the corner of the lifts for the entire duration of my stay. Why? Being greeted every time I passed reception - even if I passed by only 30 seconds before - quickly became annoying. In your face room key drop stands by the elevators at each floor and by the front door!

Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that our security in the evenings was unfriendly. We have since addressed the issue and your next experience with our security should be much friendlier. We are located in a great area, but we like to take as many precautions as possible. So, every evening we have a security guard that checks entering guest, just to ensure that people who are entering our lot are people who should be there. As far as the wet floor signs, I am sorry that they were a bother. Since we have tile in our elevators, and with our pool being used quite frequently, it is easy for those floors to become wet and very slippery. We try to mop the floor as much as possible, but we don't want to accidentally miss someone and have someone fall. I hope that I have been able to answer some of your questions, but if you do have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me or anyone else at our property at (314) 894-1900.

Hospitably,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff were attentive and sensitive to our situation, which was attending a funeral for a family member. They went well above and beyond anything we could have imagined to show that they cared for our welfare. They signed a condolence card with words of compassion. A top-notch experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonI55, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Again, I am so sorry for your loss and I hope that you have been able to spend some personal time with family and friends during this time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. It is a blessing to hear that we were able to be a place of comfort during this time for your family. We hope to have the opportunity to see you and your family again in the future.

Many Blessings,

Ashley Vrtis
Front Office Manager
(314) 894-1900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
Address: 4200 Mid America Ln, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63129-1202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 is located just outside of St. Louis with easy access to downtown. The hotel is located near Anheuser Busch Brewery, which offers tours and tastings daily. Guests can enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites St. Louis/South i-55
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South i-55 Hotel Mehlville
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55 Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing