We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel can be hard to get to as you have to figure out that you have to drive through the shopping center parking lot to get there if coming from the west. We were there for several days, we had asked for adjoining rooms but were not able to get them. The front desk staff was friendly. Lobby was modern and halls were fine. We were at the back of the hotel but chose to park upfront as we didn't feel that the back area appeared very safe once it was dark. Room was nice, bed and pillows were comfortable. We had a fridge and microwave in our room. If you need a quiet room to sleep be careful of where your room is located and having these in the room, fridge tended to be a bit loud when it kicked on. Both rooms that we booked were close to the elevator, which was nice. There were some young girls staying there for a volleyball tournament which tended to be noisy in the halls. Sound travels through the halls, so you hear a lot. Bathroom sink was pretty slow when we got there and by the 4th night would barely drain. Reported the slow drain the first day but there was no response. Shower was nice, glad for a tall showerhead, however care is needed when first taking a shower as the floor was very slippery. Cleaning room staff were nice and helpful. But our room was in need of a good dusting. Did not like being right across from the ice machine, very noisy, would definitely ask to move next time. We had to leave a day early and were pleasantly surprised to have the hotel refund one nights stay, that was appreciated!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice makers, noisy - high traffic area and sound carries in the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Laurie D,

I wanted to thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We always look forward to this feedback to help us improve our service and our product. It's great to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, and I'll be happy to pass that on to them. It's nice to be able to bring this feedback to them so they know that they're doing a great job! I'm so sorry for the issues to experienced from the noise from the ice maker to being unable to receive adjoining rooms at check in. We always want to exceed our guests expectations, and I apologize that we were unable to do that for you in every aspect of your stay. Thank you again for your feedback, and please feel free to contact me back if you have any further questions or comments!

Best Wishes,


Cody Berendzen
General Manager
cberendzen@widewatershotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were looking for an easy off I-55 stay after a long 11 hour drive up from FL back to WI & MN.
This hotel has a very modern style lobby, the rooms were a bit dated but clean and our Platinum upgrade suite was fairly quiet on the side away from I-55 (looked at the window at JCPenny store).
This suite did not have a mini-fridge but everything worked fine including TV & good wifi speeds.
Excellent comfy king size bed with large pillows. Did not take in the breakfast buffet, but did grab a couple drinks at the bar after checkin to wind down after a very long day on the road.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from I-55.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SE_MN_warmth_seekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

SE_MN_warmth_seekers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We always look forward to these reviews to help us improve our service and our product.

It's great to hear that the Front Desk staff was able to offer you an upgrade to a suite, and that the maintenance and housekeeping teams were able to provide a clean, problem free environment. We recently upgraded our beds and pillows, and we have been getting some great comments from our guests. Lastly, I'll be happy to forward all this over to my staff, so they can see that their hard efforts are paying off to help every guest enjoy every stay. If there is anything that we could have done to make your stay even better, please contact me at the information below!

Best Wishes,


Cody Berendzen
General Manager
cberendzen@widewatershotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is in a good location and appears updated.......at first. I think they stopped renovations at the lobby / bar / restaurant. The rooms are still very dated and are not up to the standards I expect and have experienced at other Holiday Inn properties. Also, upon checking in, they mentioned the bar, which is unfortunately on display for the whole lobby to see, would be open until 11 pm. This was not true. I tried to use the bar at 9:45 pm and it was already closed. Very disappointing. I will most likely not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 110David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

110David,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We're always looking for ways to increase our service and our product, and this type of feedback is invaluable.

Unfortunately, yes, we have yet to receive our rooms renovation. We anticipate changes happening to the guest rooms withing another year or so, so please stay tuned! I'm so sorry about the bar time. After reviewing this, I will get with my restaurant team and determine why we closed early. I do apologize that we told you one thing and then did another!

Thank you again for your feedback, and please don't hesitate to contact me if you have any other comments or concerns!

Best Wishes,



Cody Berendzen
General Manager
cberendzen@widewatershotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I mean, look, is this a five star hotel? No, it is not. But is it a safe, clean, comfortable Holiday Inn? Totally. It's clean, the lobby is very nice, and the bar is actually quite nice. Everyone was super friendly and the bed was comfortable. My room was on the first floor and it was actually surprisingly spacious, and even had a little microwave and fridge, which was GREAT. The water pressure in the bathroom was good, too. Is this your go-to for a romantic weekend or a great vacation? No. But if you need to crash at a Holiday Inn for the night for some reason in this particular area -- business trip, family function -- you will be completely happy and fine and well-rested here. Can't complain at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotPantsMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We're always looking to improve our service and our product at the hotel, and this feedback is invaluable.

It's encouraging to see that we met all of your expectations form your stay. I'll be happy to share your comments with my staff, so they can see we're doing the right things! I would ask, if there is anything that we could have done to exceed your expectations, please let me know. We're always looking to get better and any additional feedback would be helpful.

Thanks again for your comments, and please feel free to contact me back at the information provided below.

Best Wishes,


Cody Berendzen
General Manager
cberendzen@widewaterhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

In town for hockey tournament. Staff was very nice, especially at front desk. Jessica also very helpful for group events and planning. Rooms ok, nothing over and above. Good showers. Beds were comfortable. Food was decent. Impressed with bar area and open lobby. Lots of room to spread out. Staff seemed pretty cool in tolerance for amount of kids in the hotel areas, which was nice.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank TimK7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

TimK7700,

Thank you so much for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We always look forward to getting this feedback to help us improve our service and our product. It's great to hear all good things about our staff and how they helped your stay be a success. I'll be happy to pass them along to our team as well as Jessica in sales. We always want to be the best, so if there any anything that we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable, please feel free to contact me back at the information provided below.

Best Wishes,


Cody Berendzen
General Manager
cberendzen@widewatershotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

After a long drive I wanted a budget hotel with a bar restaurant. The check in process was flawless. My room was bottom floor as requested. Room was clean, room smelled fresh, and bed was quite comfortable. Caution bathtub is extremely slick when wet. Bathtub could use a couple of nonskid strips. Restaurant for dinner was quite tasty and very reasonably priced. Real mashed potatoes and real home made potato chips. Beer was served in a chilled glass. It went down quite easy. Breakfast was a bit expensive at $11, but was all you could eat buffet style. The eggs and potatoes were fresh and tasted good. Hotel also has small business center with printer. I mention this because I did not bring my laptop and needed to print my work reports. It saved me a few dollars and the frustration of finding a Kinko's. Definitely will visit again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank PutJer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I think this place should have been demolished instead of spending all that money on a terrific renovation. It looks amazing when you enter the lobby, cool modern stylish. But soon as you get to your room the tranquility is over. From my front room I think I could hear every movement or use of any toilet in any of the rooms.......it was non stop..Staff is friendly rooms smell good and are clean but that's not much good if you can't sleep at night

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for your recent Tripadvisor review. We're always looking for ways to improve our service and our product, and these reviews are crucial in helping us succeed at both!

Overall, it's great to hear that your room was clean and the service from our staff was friendly throughout your stay. However, I'm sorry that the room was not quite and thus prevented you from enjoying a good nights sleep! After all, that's one of the most basic requirements that we provide. Please if at any time during your stay that you encounter a situation that doesn't surpass your expectations, contact the front desk or the Manager on Duty and we'll do everything that we can to make it right by you.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have you back with us in the future! We are reviewing dates to proceed with further enhancements to the property to help bring our lobby tranquility over to our guest rooms. Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mehlville
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
4 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
861 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Kirkwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
River City Casino & Hotel
River City Casino & Hotel
#20 of 123 in Saint Louis
574 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. Louis South I-55
14 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis Westport
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#2 of 18 in Maryland Heights
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center

Address: 6921 S Lindbergh Blvd, Mehlville, Saint Louis, MO 63125-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Mehlville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mehlville
Price Range: £73 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where outstanding service is our specialty, the Holiday Inn South County Center Hotel in St. Louis! The Holiday Inn South County Center is conveniently located at I-55 and Lindbergh Blvd - just one mile north of I-270. Our location allows easy access to the multitude of visitor attractions and activities in the St. Louis area while offering relative tranquility and lack of congestion. Immediately opposite the hotel is the South County Shopping Center featuring over 120 stores and dining establishments. We are approximately 10 minutes from downtown St. Louis, 20 minutes from Six Flags, and 22 miles from St. Louis International Airport - Lambert Field. Our 7,000 square feet of meeting space is easily configured to accommodate groups from 10 to 600, and our dedicated meeting staff's attention to detail will leave you free to focus on your business priorities. Whether you're traveling with the whole family, or just a couple looking for a romantic getaway, the Holiday Inn South County offers several money-saving packages to choose from like our Over the Top Arch Package or our Breakfast in Bed Package. Call us for more information! For exceptional guest service at the ideal location, you can count on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Hotel Mehlville
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing