We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Atlantic Inn
Nearby Hotels
National Hotel(New Shoreham)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Spring House Hotel(New Shoreham)
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Manisses(Block Island)(Great Value!)
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Break(Narragansett)
US$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballard's(New Shoreham)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Island Manor Resort(New Shoreham)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
49
18
8
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
18
8
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstapasfront lawngranolarose hillblock islandhuge porchhome baked goodsour favorite placenew englandmohegan cafegorgeous viewsfresh fruitrented bikesno elevatorverandafarmwine
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This place was one of the worst stays I've ever had anywhere. The hotel owners were rude, and left trumped up charges on our bill, after we ate in the restaurant. The room was tiny and musty. Block Island should have an island seal, with a hand outstretched, and a fistful of money laid in the palm. What a ripoff.

Ironically, while on the beach we met up with an older couple who started laughing heartily when we told them where we were staying. They had honeymooned there 20 years ago when the place was under different ownership. The same thing happened to them! They stay at a cottage on the island, which is definitely what we're going to do next year. Atlantic Inn is definitely under a cloud;stay at Spring Hill or 1661 next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank arliemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Really, management at this inn seems more concerned with big $$ items like weddings and other functions- and could care less about individual guests. These guests are merely filler for the Inn when it is not otherwise booked. And contrary to what another poster on this site says, a vase of fresh flowers on the tables cannot possibly make up for the apathetic attitude of the owner and at least one manager.

This was our third time staying here- but it was anything but a charm. We arrived on a Thursday, having booked a room through Sunday. We were told when making our reservation that the Inn had a 3-night minimum but found out while there that this was not the case after all, since- oops- it was not "high season." Alas, just one of several oversights management had neglected to tell us about. Another, rather significant oversight, was mentioned casually when we arrived- the restaurant and the bar would both be closed on Thursday and Saturday nights. When we expressed surprise and dismay at not knowing this ahead of time, (hmm...might we have opted to stay elsewhere had we known?) the owner stated that his "hard-working staff deserved time off" (guests be damned!) And who were we to argue? Needless to say, it would have been nice to have been told this before we booked since it meant that now two out of our three nights we would be hoofing it to dine elsewhere- no easy proposition when you are perched up on the highest point on BI and are without a car.

Which brings me to my next point. This Inn excels because of its restaurant (awesome chef) and the unparalleled views offered by its location, particularly at sunset, something several other posters have noted. Believe me, it's not because of the rooms (small) and decor (tired) and certainly not because of the host (inattentive at best, downright rude at worst.)

Next summer when we make our annual foray to Block Island, we'll be staying at the Spring House next door and will venture over to the Atlantic Inn to enjoy cocktails in the Adirondack chairs and maybe a dinner or two.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jleigh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The inn itself is beautiful, furnished with antiques, etc. The setting cannot be beat.'we sat out on the veranda and enjoyed he view of the island and sea. At sunset it's amazing. The innkeepers and staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Four of us ate our way through a good portion of the tapas and drinks sitting outside in the evening. I especially appreciative of their mixology cocktail offerings. Couples on their 30's through couples in their 70's were relaxing and enjoying themselves. Just a great place to unplug. I rather enjoyed not having tv or Internet. It's just a 5 minute walk to town, but when you get back to inn on the hill above town you really appreciate the solitude. Also, the animal farm just below the inn was a fun diversion. My wife is an animal lover and popped down there several times to feed the ducks and pet the donkeys and camels. Anyway, we would love to go back. It met or exceed all expectations. Two last notes... Yes, the rooms aren't very big but if you spend more than a few minutes in your room except for sleeping you're not doing this right. Second, while the water pressure was good, the shower heads were terrible. You would think that could be easily remedied. Still, a 5 star review all the way.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoastG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband and I stayed mid week in July for two nights. The hotel is well kept, clean and quaint. It has a great view from the huge porch...which we enjoyed drinking wine and dining on their evening tapas. We ran up quite a bill one evening drinking wine and reading on the porch! Our room was small as was the bathroom, but we expected that. The shower was really tiny..not much room to turn around in. Our room was in the front on the second floor and we could lay in bed and look at the ocean. On a clear night, we could see the Jamestown bridge. Unfortunately, the atlantic inn is right across the street from an animal farm, which wouldnt have been that bad except it attracted really loud canadian geese that woke us up bright and early every morning. There is no AC so we had to keep the window open for a breeze. One day it was ridiculously humid but an evening thunderstorm blew through and it was better to sleep. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was pretty good. The breakfast in the morning was basic but good. It is not a far walk from town but if you are dragging bags from the ferry, I would take a cab. Its an uphill walk! Overall I would return again, maybe in the off season when rooms are a little cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Very nice old time inn on Block Island. We got the standard room, which contained a bed a crouch closet and a bathroom. The bathroom was decently sized, but the bedroom was very small.

The place is almost exactly as it would have been in victorian times. Almost nothing is modern, which is part of its charm. So, If you have good weather than this is the place to stay, however no TV, radio, AC, or suitable reading light made staying indoors less than a desireable option. An overhead fan made sleeping bearable.

it was clean, and nothing was notably bad.

the cleaners did leave a bottle of cleaning solution behind, and a window open which allowed bugs in while we were out...it wasnt a big deal..

The breakfast was lovely every morning, and the porch was beautiful with an excellent view.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emsily219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews