We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Old Harbor
Nearby Hotels
National Hotel(New Shoreham)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Farm Inn(New Shoreham)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Spring House Hotel(New Shoreham)
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hendrickson House(New Shoreham)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Narragansett Inn(New Shoreham)
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Dodge Cottage(New Shoreham)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
The 1661 Inn(New Shoreham)
US$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inn at Spring House(New Shoreham)
US$1,129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
78
28
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
28
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomwine and cheesecontinental breakfastblock islandpeople watchingferry dockdeck overlooking the harborbox fanplace to staya great staycentral locationno air conditioningrocking chairsmohegan bluffsgabriellebalconystatue
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My stay at The Inn at Old Harbor was a wonderful surprise. Not only was the inn adorable and very conveniently located steps from the ferry in the heart of Old Harbor, but Gabrielle the owner went above and beyond the call of duty. Upon learning that I must follow a gluten free diet, she baked homemade gluten free cookies - some of the best I ever had - for the wine and cheese hour. No place I have ever been has been so accommodating. Thank you Gabrielle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtOldHarbor, Owner at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at IOH, and hope you will tell your friends and return again for another visit! It was my absolute pleasure to bake cookies that you could enjoy during our wine and cheese hour. I'm delighted that those GF chocolate chip cookies added to your experience! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I booked my first visit to this charming Inn over Columbus Day weekend. The Inn had been recommended by a friend. I wanted to be close to the Ocean and salt air, while still
being within easy walking of some shopping and good food. This was a perfect choice. It is steps from the Block Island Ferry and on the main street area of Old Harbor. My room was beautifully appointed, the bed ... very comfy, and, the Ocean ... right outside our window. I also enjoyed meeting the lovely owner, Gabrielle. I had a much needed rest. Can't wait to return come next summer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtOldHarbor, Owner at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at IOH on our final weekend of the season, and we hope you will visit again in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here back in mid-August. We regret not getting to meet Gabrielle and Kai while we stayed there but Thomas did a fine job of hosting in their absence. As far as location goes, there is no place more convenient to the ferry dock than here. There's literally a staircase that leads you right to the hotel off the ferry lot, or if your luggage is too heavy and/or on rollers, just a quick walk around the corner to the sidewalk and you're right there too. We had room three which was really nicely furnished and decorated. There is no A/C in the rooms but it was not hot when we went and there was a nice breeze coming in through the windows and the screen door to the porch. There is a small porch off the room that we enjoyed having. It's right above the entrance to the ice cream shop and gives you a view of the water between Ballards and the ferry dock, and all the activity going on. It was nice to relax out there after a day of being out. The breakfast items were very basic but hit the spot for us. We're not big breakfast eaters so it was usually just some cereal or a bagel with a little cream cheese and it was out the door all day. There are no TV's in the rooms. I don't even think there was a phone. This suited us just fine. Didn't miss them much at all. The main room where breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese is served has a TV if you want to catch up on news/sports quickly and move on. That was more than enough for us. Just about anywhere in the main area there is within easy walking distance of the hotel. We rented a moped for one day and saw everything there was to see outside of walking distance. You can really get it done in less than a day. There is a place to rent mopeds as soon as you step off the ferry between the dock and Ballard's, but Aldo's is cheaper and just as good in my opinion. That's where we got ours from and it all went well. There first day (not the moped day) we walked from the hotel to Mohegan Bluffs. Unless you really REALLY like walking a lot, don't do this. It's kind of a haul on foot. Take a cab or do it on a moped day. We ended up taking a cab back to town because after the long walk there and then tackling those stairs and rocks getting to and from the beach, we were pretty gassed. But back to the hotel, it really was a nice place to stay. One thing I will say is that because of the noise level outside your windows between people walking by and the ferry activity, you probably will not sleep at all after 8am or so. This didn't bother us since we were awake by then to start the day anyway, but if you plan on sleeping in, it could be an issue for someone trying to do so. Overall, we're happy we stayed here and can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StingrayJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtOldHarbor, Owner at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a descriptive review of both IOH and your BI recommendations for future guests. You've answered a lot of questions that guests frequently ask. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope you will return for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Inn this past weekend and enjoyed our first visit to Block Island. Gabrielle the owner is FANTASTIC at her job! She is warm, friendly, welcoming and makes you feel at home. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the common areas all very nice. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with the other guest in the common room. The Inn is located in a great area, steps away from shopping and dining. We traveled to Block Island from the Montauk, LI ferry which was about a 25 minute walk with all of our luggage. Great scenery along the way, if you don't like to walk though take a cab to Old Harbor. Our favorite part of the stay at the Inn was Wine & Cheese at 5pm! Only complaint about our weekend was that a lot of the restaurants were closing down for the season so limited menus for Saturday night dinner and Sunday lunch. We will definitely be back again, thank you Gabrielle for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtOldHarbor, Owner at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your Block Island experience with future guests. Inn at Old Harbor is the closest inn to the ferries from Point Judith, RI & New London, CT, and a short cab ride away from the Montauk Viking Ferry in New Harbor. Most visitors from Long Island take a cab or rent mopeds or bicycles at the New Harbor ferry landing, so it's impressive that you chose the scenic walk!

During your visit on the last weekend of September, many Block Island businesses were participating in Taste of Block Island weekend (see the BI Chamber of Commerce website for 2014 details). Most restaurants are open until at least Columbus Day.

We're so glad you enjoyed your room, wine & cheese, and our central location in the heart of Old Harbor. Do come back and visit us next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The title encapsulates just about everything we experienced during our short (too short) stay with my sweetheart at the Inn at Old Harbor. Searching for an Inn, convenience to ferry was near the top of the list. The Inn was just that, less than five minutes and we were at the doorstep right on basically the main street of Old Harbor. It is always a dice roll picking an inn from the internet as we all know pictures get dated and some just are not up to par to the descriptions they provide. What drew me in was the classic gingerbread look of the exterior of the inn and the rooms with views and decks overlooking the harbor. On our arrival we met Gabrielle at the small reception area and were greatly impressed by her enthusiasm and professionalism. She made us feel as though we were entering and staying in her home as opposed to an inn. She was very pleasant and helpful at all times. The more I spoke with Gabrielle throughout the weekend the more I admired her fire and passion for the business which shows in the care and attention to detail to all aspects of the inn. We stayed in room #2 on the second floor, a small but cozy room with a private balcony overlooking the harbor which was just perfect for us. It was very clean, well maintained and very inviting and comfortable. The pictures and descriptions of Inn and the rooms (we did sneak peak into a few open doors) on the web site were just as described. The Inns location was perfect for us as it was walking distance to all restaurants and slightly longer for exploring but very close to bike/scooter rentals which we took advantage of one day and toured most of the island. What made it more memorable was the late afternoon wine and cheese gathering in the main room. We met some of the most wonderful people there including Gabrielle's parents who were just as wonderful as she was. One of the days we were talking to her mother about mudslides at the OAR cross island and she told us she loved them. Well the next thing you know, we asked Gabrielle if we could add mudslides to the wine and cheese and of course she was more than happy to have the addition so we ran off to gather the ingredients. What a wonderful afternoon that was, I think the whole Inn stopped in that day, wine, cheese and crackers, mudslides, meeting new people, conversations it could have been a dinner party at any one of our houses. And, Gabrielle in the midst of it, in and out, while she joined in conversation, tended to the guests (or by now friends) and kept watchful eye on the Inn. Gabrielle we thank you for a wonderful and memorable respite and we will be back soon. To all others who truly want to go home away from home the Inn at Old Harbor should be your first choice !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtOldHarbor, Owner at The Inn at Old Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful and descriptive review and opinion of your stay with us at Inn at Old Harbor. It is truly our pleasure welcoming all of our guests into our 'home' for their Block Island getaway, and you provided such a memorable weekend for my innkeeping family as well! We all had so much fun enjoying your absolutely amazing mudslides! Our season may be over on BI, but I know we will be talking about that afternoon and reminiscing about it this winter! We'll have the blender ready for you on your next visit -- please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews