We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The cabins are infested with ants” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timber Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parson
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The cabins are infested with ants”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

We came to stay on our honeymoon - we got the honeymoon suite, at an off season rate of $450. The room looked nice, the log bed, jacuzzi tub, and wood burning fireplace. But after a while we realized that half alive ants were coming from somewhere. We took the firewood out of the room, because we thought that may have been the problem. But after being out all day, we came back - the bed was not made, no fresh towels, coffee, sugar, ect. They just had not been in here. We saw more 1/2 alive ants & realized, they are in the ceiling, it's an infestation. Also the bathroom shower has no water pressure & a fan that is connected to the light, so there is no option of turning it off. Keep in mind - we were here mid January, summer would be much worse. The German couple that run this place are not very friendly, & we didn't feel very welcomed here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyfisherman0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    6
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights for our honeymoon - recommended by the Golden BC information centre. the staff are friendly. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite. Breakfast included in the stay. It's a good location between radium & golden.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kipper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We recently returned to the Timber Inn to celebrate my 30th birthday, and were delighted again by the warm welcome, beautiful room, and great food. We stayed in the Honeymoon Chalet for the second time - brought back by its spacious size, big jetted tub, and cozy wood fireplace. This is the place to take a break from hectic jobs, ringing phones, and mindless hours in front of the television. If you want to relax and enjoy a romantic few days with the one you love, I would recommend this very spot! Thanks again to our hosts, who have always made us feel welcome and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Danielle & Rod Ahlskog
Edmonton, Alberta

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend while we went on a white water rafting trip in Golden. The overall experience was great. The owners and staff are very friendly. We were upgraded upon arrival to a building just off of the main building. Our room was very clean, nice and bright, and had a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee pot as well as a TV. There is free wi-fi available as well which is always nice. There were no bugs or ants in the room and we found the bed very comfortable.
The main thing I have to rave about is the food. If you stay here, please treat yourself to the 3 course dinner they serve. The food was extremely fresh, and all local. For the high quality of food you receive, the price is very reasonable. I can't say enough about the amazing meals we had there! They are also very accommodating to food allergies if you let them know.
It is closer to Golden than it is to Radium, but there is a gas station and convenience store just a minute or two away from the Timber Inn if you need anything. The view is amazing as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kripkroka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nichemediasolutions
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2009

This is a place that has that rustic charm, but I really feel it is in a state of disrepair.
It is run by a German family that is not the most hospitable or helpful. The food was okay and I think if they put some money into their facility it would be okay.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nichemediasolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parson hotels

canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

my husband, my 18 year old son my 14 year old daughter, my 3 year old daughter and myself will all tell you the same thing. our stay at the timber inn was abslutely incredible. no matter what age group or what your interests are, this is the place for you. upon our arrival, we were greated right away by the wonderful german couple that owns the inn and there adorable dog flora. we were then shown to our cabin which i must say was beautiful by anyones standards. with an amazing view of the coumbia wetlands and mountains. i read some of the other reviews on htis website and i must say that personally i believe that some people just cannot be pleased no matter where they are. although we did not personally have any problems with our accomadation,nor did any of our friends and family who stayed there a week after us, it is totally understandable that these are log cabins in the woods and that wether we like it or not ants do live in the woods.so i said it once and ill say it again, i recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an amazing rocky mountain get away with a million dollar veiw and an endless list of things to do from horse back riding and biking to relaxing in the hot tub and sauna. as for the food, it was fresh, organic, very well priced and absolutly delicious and was made even more enjoyable with the company of our funny and charasmatic hosts, marianne, rainer and all there staff. once again i encourage anyone who would like to go here to do so because you will not regret it!!!!!!

  • Liked — Flora, our hosts, our cabin and of course the food
  • Disliked — our stay was too short
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisa234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

This was the first romantic vacation my boyfriend and I decided to take and it was ruined by an unfriendly hosts who clearly did not want to run an Inn. The host seems to pick and choose which guests will be treated nicely and which ones won't.
Their brochures and website is also false as no services/amenities are available except an excellent view of the mountains.We drove in from Alberta and planned to stay two nights but were very mislead by the website about what we were coming into.
We had approval for early check in but were not greated friendly simply because we showed up sooner then expected. Apparently, they don't communicate any changes to staff or check up on daily activity themselves.
The hot tub isn't working at all but we didn't bother dwelling on this since we still wanted to have a good weekend. Don't bother bringing your bathing suit as it seems like they have no intentions of fixing their hot tub. When inquired about biking, an amenity stated on their website, we were quickly shot down as apparently biking is not an option anymore. This should all be removed from their brochures and website. There are no amenities available at this location and when the brochure states laundry service, they really mean laundry available but you have to do it yourself and on your own time. We noticed many falsities about the brochure and websites as compared to what is actually available.
Don't make the mistake of leaving out crumbs in the cabin because there are boaring ants in the wood. Our cabin must have been sitting overtop of a nest because when we came back from a day trip, there were hundreds of ants all over the table, chairs and floor. A clear line of where they were coming from. When I approached the host and asked for some help or even ant traps, he was so mad at me, he actually raised his voice and then stormed off. He even had the nerve to send his daughter to my cabin to deliver the ant traps. The only thing he did say was that I am to expect ants with a cabin. I have owned a cabin for many years and never had this problem. And I must say that I did not drive 5 hours and pay $185 per night to deal with an ant problem!
The food is ok but far too overpriced as I have lived in Germany and had many authentic meals and there is nothing spectacular about this one. A man in the cabin next over told us how the host got mad at him for not taking a meal plan. Don't expect the hosts to explain anything to you and make sure to be treated as an inconvience if you ask about any amenities or services!
The best part about the whole weekend was when we weren't at the Inn. The only good part at the Inn was their helpful daughter and family dog Flora. The funny part is, Flora was more concerned about us and friendlier to us then the actual people. When we went for a walk around the property, she walked with us and showed us the way back to our cabin. She even checked up on us daily! Leave it to a dog to make us feel more welcome!!!!
I would never recommend this place to anyone and I never plan on staying there again.

  • Liked — The family dog Flora
  • Disliked — The ants and poorly buit family cabin.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KristinaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parson
23.0 mi away
Kootenay Park Lodge
Kootenay Park Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kootenay National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.9 mi away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
21.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
17.1 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Chalets
Steamboat Mountain Chalets
#1 of 1 in Spillimacheen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Inn

Property: Timber Inn
Address: 3483 Highway 95, Parson, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Parson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timber Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Timber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Hotel British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing