We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TT Headquarters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sulby Glen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Sulby B&B and Inns
Grand Junction
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TT Headquarters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

If you're coming for the TT, this is the place to stay. The proprietor, Rosie's son Dan Sayle is one of the leading competitors in side-car racing, so racers and fans tend to gather here. The rooms are comfortable, as is the award winning pub downstairs. The buffet breakfast is unbelievable and provides more than the normal human being could consume! The rooms upstairs are a bit warm in June, but the fans provided are helpful. All things considered, this is a great location for TT or any other time on the Island!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrr2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
21
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Staying with friends locally we booked our evening meal here recently to find the whole experience a bit farcical. We were a party of four, we asked for a jug of water at least 3 times and waited around 25 minutes for it to actually arrive at the table. One of our party ordered a lamb dish, 10 mins after ordering we were told the lamb was still in the oven and were we ok to wait. Yes we were. About another 10-15 mins later we were told the dish was going to be at least an hour and were we still ok to wait. Still, yes we were, but 2 of our party at this point ordered a starter just to take the edge off, once again 10 mins later we were informed one of the starters wasn't available so we chose something else. Some considerable time later we were told the chef wasn't prepared to serve the dish we were originally waiting for as he wasn't convinced it would be cooked properly ??? Well being the chef you would think he would know that. We then had to change that dish. Eventually the meal arrived and 3 of the dishes were only luke warm, by this time we had been there 1.5 hours and couldn't be bothered complaining. Also the ale we consumed tasted very weak, on drinking the same ale at another pub we discovered what it really tasted like, and it wasn't weak!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Visited the Sunday Carvery on a 2for1 voucher with my sister. She enquired about vegetarian option & was offered fish, but it was not cooked properly. We were offered a jug of water but they forgot to bring it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel/pub is situated right alongside the Isle of Man TT Course and provides considerable support for anyone at or connected with motor sport on the Isle of Man and as a consequence the ambience of the pub/restaurant (I've never used the hotel side) is predominantly associated with anything to do with motorcycles and the TT races. During the races you can sit at a roadside table (if you can get a seat that is) and watch the riders fly past you at speeds of well over 150mph, as the head is sucked off your well kept pint. The bar is well stocked and usually has a good selection at the pumps. I have eaten here on several occasions and have never been disapointed. OK it's only pub grub but it's served reasonably quickly, plentyfull, perfectly edible and reasonably priced. Try the BBQ Ribs at less than £8 for a tasty plate full and watch the specials board, there's usually something for everyone. But if you want 5 star eating and the associated prices, then go somewhere else and pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodley-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, null, Isle Of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

went for evening meal and ordered steak baguette.
the steak was so tough you couldn't cut it.. baguette wasn't
crisp. the only edible thing on plate was the chips.
wont be going there again!! at £9.95 certainly was not good value
for the money. would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch today...under duress. Had more than one embarrassingly bad and overpriced meal here. If the weather had been better I would have gone somewhere else. When the food arrived.....3 different dishes...1 was the wrong thing and another was not warmed through...the problems were willingly corrected and the food was very nice! I would go here again because I think they are making an effort to improve..what have been, in the past couple of years, declining standards! Good luck! The food here is much better than it has been!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eibhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

a great hotel run by Rosie and Eddie, nothing is too much trouble.
excellent ensuite rooms and a wonderful breakfast.
the evening menu is terrific and plenty of it.
The beer quality is excellent as is the atmosphere.can,t wait for our next visit, agreat place for walks and ramblers with wonderfull scenery on the doorstep

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manxie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulby
4.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sefton Express
Sefton Express
#1 of 1 in Ballasalla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.3 mi away
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
Baie Mooar Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Ramsey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
11.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sulby Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sulby Glen Hotel

Property: The Sulby Glen Hotel
Address: Main Road, Sulby IM7 2HR
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Sulby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sulby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country hotel set at the foot of the beautiful Sulby Glen with uninterrupted views of hills and glen. An ideal center for shopping, walking, fishing, golf, bicycle and motorcycle racing. Open fire in bar area with entertainment some evenings, a wide selection of real ales and whiskeys. Separate restaurant and lounge serving excellent meals using only fresh local produce. Private car park, solarium and free WIFI for hotel residents use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Sulby Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sulby Glen Hotel Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing