We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sulby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sulby Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Sulby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sulby Glen Hotel. It was a good location for visiting all the main attractions and great if you fancied a walk as you could wander up the hill or up to Sulby Glen itself.

Our room was bright and clean and wasn't too noisy despite facing the main road. Parking was sometimes a bit difficult as the car park is small and was often full as the pub had a beer tent/hog roast going in the car park.

Food was excellent - we had evening meals as well as the breakfast. Breakfast was enough to keep you going all day and you can also try out Manx Kippers if you order them the night before.

Would definitely stay there again, but would worry about the parking if the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mermaid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2008

My boyfriend and I booked one night's stay over the phone and were offered room 6. We checked it out on-line first and it looked fine so we accepted. Although the owner said it was on the 1st floor at no point did she say that it was directly above the bar area and that there would be considerable noise. We are not naive and expected a little noise perhaps with staying in a pub but with it being a Wednesday thought that it would be okay. Unfortunately the juke box speakers blasted music through the floor. At about 11 we complained but this was dismissed. A further complaint the next morning was also dismissed, the owner being totally disinterested. I suppose she had had our money by then. The room was nicely furnished and the breakfast very generous, but if you're after some quiet insist on a room on the 2nd floor!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We have just enjoyed a weeks holiday at The Sulby Glen Hotel. This very friendly and relaxed hotel offers comfortable, clean accomodation. If you enjoy a traditional cooked breakfast, then you are in for a great treat. We were there during the three day beer festival held annually in the hotels marquee. Great beer and great fun. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SussexBumbleBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tre_e_mezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSRACING, Owner at The Sulby Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSRACING, Owner at The Sulby Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermannL_nen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliWaltrop_NRW_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulby
19.4 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
251 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
315 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
At Caledonia
At Caledonia
#20 of 37 in Douglas
97 reviews
0 mi away
Ballacowell
Ballacowell
#2 of 3 in Sulby
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sulby Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sulby Glen Hotel

Address: Main Road, Sulby IM7 2HR
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Sulby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sulby
Price Range: £66 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country hotel set at the foot of the beautiful Sulby Glen with uninterrupted views of hills and glen. An ideal center for shopping, walking, fishing, golf, bicycle and motorcycle racing. Open fire in bar area with entertainment some evenings, a wide selection of real ales and whiskeys. Separate restaurant and lounge serving excellent meals using only fresh local produce. Private car park, solarium and free WIFI for hotel residents' use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sulby Glen Hotel Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing