We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sulby Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Sulby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at Sulby Glen as a last minute booking after deciding to abandon our campsite during horrific weather. Friendly staff welcomed us and showed us to our warm rooms (after 3 nights camping in freezing weather this was heaven!) We had a delicious meal and can highly recommend the Queenies for starters...yummy! Breakfast was good and plentiful. Not too pricey either. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clarice1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSRACING, Owner at The Sulby Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, It is always a boost to both staff and owners when some take the time to write such a nice review. I will bring this up at our staff meeting and let all the staff know.
thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really friendly staff, very attentive, good portions of food and very nice. Chips just scrummy and 'proper'. I had a really nice salad and whitebait both of which I would recommend. Hubby had the pie and small person had the usual chicken nuggets etc. nice fresh veg served. And nice beer beforehand too.

Decor a bit dated and not keen having the TV in the restaurant but hey ho...not the end of the world.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSRACING, Owner at The Sulby Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, It is all to easy to say nothing when things are good, I will let the members of my staff read your review, everyone deserves to see praise and I am sure they will appreciate you taking the time to write the review as much a we do. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

An amazing few days! The very first wedding at the Sulby Glen. The marquee was beautifully decorated in Grant's racing colours as requested, and magnificent TT trophies on display along with his bike. Unusual I know for a wedding venue, but just as they wanted it. The food was excellent, a hog roast and vast assortment of salads and a beautifully cooked piece of salmon especially for me. Thank you Rosie.
The rooms were lovely and clean, the beds comfy, the breakfasts were super, full Manx and lots of coffee. Thank you Donald, you were great.
All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Cots were provided and microwave in room for baby food. We could not have had better service, and even the weather stayed sunny!
Highly recommended for hospitality, we will be back.

Once again, thank you Rosie and Eddie

Rich and Sue Tebbutt

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel in the midst of the storms in early January, so it was cold and wet. The hotel's owners couldn't have been more hospitable, but our experience was very mixed beyond that. Good bits were:

Bed comfy
Food good
Owners lovely
Clean
Cosy (if it were warmer...)
Lots of power sockets
Free fast wifi

Less good bits:

- Had to ask for hairdryer, which is normally a fairly standard hotel item.
- Room was often really cold as the radiators went off for large parts of the day.
- Rain water ran straight in through bathroom window flooding bathroom floor and wind whistled through every window (although weather was extreme).
- Towels all frayed
- The shutters in the bathroom, rather than a blind, meant I could see the post office opposite when standing in the shower - so presumably the people in the post office could also see me....!
- Leaky radiator in bathroom
- Horrendous water pump/macerator thing that made a terrible noise every time water was used, including in the middle of the night.

It was a real shame, because many of these issues could be easily sorted, but it would put me off returning - certainly in winter anyway...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Firmfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSRACING, Owner at The Sulby Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

This review I find a little concerning, as you say you visited the Hotel in January of 2014 during the worst storms in history of the Island. and yet you have only posted your review in July (7 months later ) and did not mention any of your complaints to anyone in the Hotel. Which is a great pity as we could have given the the information that might make a difference to other guests.
They were the worst storms the Island has seen, and yes the rain did beat against the whole of the building, we had rain water come into most of the front facing rooms that week on one occasion or another. Since January three windows on the front have been replaced room 2 being one of them. We could have shown you that this was the case had you have mentioned it during your stay, and if this was a problem we could have moved you to another room. but we were not approached.
the towels are replaced each year, and have been replaced this year in February. The toilet Saniflow, was very noisy and again these were on order, we were waiting for the wholesaler to notify us that there had come into stock. these have been replaced with more up to date models which do not make a noise, here again had we known we would have moved you to another room.
alls rooms have hair-dryers, I can only assume this one had been moved to another room for some reason.
we pride ourselves in striving to make each guests as comfortable and happy as we can, but if you do not notify us of problems at the time we can not do anything to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

salmon with lemon butter that sounds a simple plain meal what can go wrong i hear you ask, came with rice that was half hard and cold, salmon was very light pink with white froth on it, veg must have been on a 3 hour boil cycle in the washing machine and chips were ramdom shaped in its own bowl of lard. The dish was not served with any lemon butter as discribed and not even a peice of lemon so i asked for this, a minute later a dish came out with a butter size block of green speckeled butter with no lemon in it and was solid as it had just come out of the fridge, all this was orded from a barman that had the least interest about his job and customer service.
To top it off the cook came out after i managed to consume as much as i could and looked like he had just come to work straight from his day job at the slaughter house, lets say hygiene was not the top priority, talk about rubing salt in the wound.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonathan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSRACING, Owner at The Sulby Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

This review has been written by a person who has only written two other reviews,
on reading the review, I feel I have to respond, as no mention to any member of staff had been made about the meal, The Annual T.T. Festival is the busiest time on a small Island, and loyal staff can work up to 15 hours assuring every guest is looked after. This T T week have served over 5 thousand meals with only one complaint which was for a piece of chicken that was not hot enough, This was corrected straight away in the appropriate manner. We only ever use fresh local ingredients for our meals, the Salmon is from local fishmongers and the vegetables local farmers, Chips are hand cut which accounts for there odd shapes, frozen chips are usually all the same shape and size. but we never use these.
this customer did not complain to any member of staff or allow us to correct the problem if there was one, before going to print.
our lemon butter is made fresh using local butter and fresh lemon it is rolled in parsley and kept in the fridge.
All I ask is if you have a problem or wish to complain please speak to the proprietors first,before writing damming reviews, If you don't speak to them, then nothing can be corrected.
Over 5 thousand meals in 10 days. and only one complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After going to TT practice week now for the past 5 years, I wouldn`t dream of staying anywhere else. This Iconic Pub/Hotel leaves you feeling that you are actually part of the TT; somehow involved. Rosie, Eddie & all the staff bring a friendly, consistent & positive service, along with lots of laughs. The building is classic. The rooms are comfy, homely. The food is always tasty, stacked high and well priced. If there is ever a problem or such, the staff are straight on it, sorting it out with a smile and laughs. I am part of a tour company. we generally come to the sulby with 8 or more people, on bikes. We always give Rosie a hard time, changing types of rooms or how many we are bringing, up to the last minute. She has always catered for us. juggling and adjusting. This year she really saved my bacon right at the last minute ! i am eternally grateful !. A unique place ! that i will always remember in so many happy ways !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Was recommended the Sulby Glen by a friend and was not dissapointed. Made to feel very welcome from the tea on arrival to the minute we left. Had a great room at the back, quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent as was the food lunchtimes and evenings. Even when we were late back we still managed to get served. Great atmosphere. Id recommend for sure. Rosie thanks!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dward144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulby
4.5 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
312 reviews
19.4 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Erin
250 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mereside
Mereside
#11 of 37 in Douglas
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Englewood Lodge
Englewood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Onchan
114 reviews
10.8 mi away
Trevelyan
Trevelyan
#34 of 37 in Douglas
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballacowell
Ballacowell
#2 of 3 in Sulby
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sulby Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sulby Glen Hotel

Address: Main Road, Sulby IM7 2HR
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Sulby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sulby
Price Range: £68 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional country hotel set at the foot of the beautiful Sulby Glen with uninterrupted views of hills and glen. An ideal center for shopping, walking, fishing, golf, bicycle and motorcycle racing. Open fire in bar area with entertainment some evenings, a wide selection of real ales and whiskeys. Separate restaurant and lounge serving excellent meals using only fresh local produce. Private car park, solarium and free WIFI for hotel residents' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Sulby Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sulby Glen Hotel Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing