We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sherfield English
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Farm Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this campsite hoping to have a lovely, relaxing few days near the New Forest with some dog walking and cycling. Despite arriving late, 730pm, the phone that we rang went straight to answerphone, so did not actually speak to a person. We did find our booking in card and pitch number.
The pitches were tight to get our 2 berth caravan into. Once awning erected the inside smelt of dog urine coming from the gravel of the hardstanding.
After a disturbed night sleep from traffic passing along the country lane, we looked forward to an all day breakfast as we had not had a chance to go to the shops, the cafe was closed at 930-10am on Monday morning. We moved on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad site but when we arrived they placed us next to the road running past the site which can be a bit loud when traffic goes past. The toilets were very clean but out of the three toilets in the gents they are nearly always blocked with paper which just will not flush away I've had to unblock the toilets twice my self and I've seen the warden unblocking them three times.
But generally it's a very clean and tidy site.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick-Wilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just had a lovely lunch at the garden cafe at this campsite. Simple food done very well. Really good coffee! Extremely pleasant staff and a fantastic play area for children with sand pit which our babies loved. Large umbrellas provide good shade for my little boy. Will be going back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a lovely stay here. My in-laws were staying at the site in their caravan and we were able to camp on the pitch opposite them :) The facilities were always clean and the area was beautiful. The lovely little play area/park was perfect for our 2yr old, and everywhere was accessible for us with our little one in the stroller. A very quiet family friendly site. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejojo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, Manager at Hill Farm Caravan Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Good Morning Mick-Wilky,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us, I would like to start by apologising that you left feeling disappointed with your experience.

We did have a problem with the toilets blocking up due to excess amounts of toilet roll being used for a couple of days however with the changeover of guests on site the problem has resolved itself. As you mentioned we had made the wardens aware of this problem and subsequently increased the frequency of inspections during this time to try and combat the problem. We also have a second toilet and shower block that was unaffected.

The road that passes by the site is usually very quiet. However, with our rural location we are surrounded by farmland; hence the majority of the vehicles that use the road at this time of year do tend to be tractors and farm machinery which can seem a little noisier when they pass.

As a caravan park we will always try to do all we can to tackle any issues that guests may have whilst they are with us providing we are made aware of them. I am sure you understand that the issue with the toilets was out of our control and we managed it to the best of our ability.Regarding your location by the road, I would have liked to have had the chance to move you onto a different pitch had I known you considered it an issue.

Joe Billett ( Park Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

So we decided to buy a caravan !!! After doing lots of research and looking around we found a lovely caravan for sale that was already based here. After collecting the keys on Friday morning we embarked on a week end holiday here. The staff were so very helpful, the cooked breakfast is amazing and presented beautifully. The facilities are faultless. Bella loved the children's play area and the dogs enjoyed the walk through the trees. We decided to store the caravan here as we were made so very welcome

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne_walker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Enjoyed a few days away here. Staff friendly. Showers and toilets spotless. Lovely not having to cook. Just ordered in shop or cafe and picked it up later. Left this morning having had a lovely breakfast cooked for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked 3 night here to visit Peppa Pig World and other local attractions with our small children. It was the closest camp site and I expected them to be full as I left booking until quite late but we were pleasantly surprised to be able to get a pitch for three nites at a very reasonable rate. The camp site is beautifully presented and the staff went out their way to be friendly and helpful. The children loved the play area and it was nice to be able to sit in the cafe and watch them play. The showers and launderette facilities etc were all excellent. The site were also very flexible on what time we left as we had arranged to go out for lunch in Southampton. Overall we could not fault our stay and if you are looking for a nice quite site to go away with young children then I would definitely highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a serviced grass pitch but there are shingle style picthes available but we were very late bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Im_a_busy_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherfield English
3.5 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
4.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
324 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Hoburne Naish
Hoburne Naish
#2 of 4 in New Milton
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodpeckers B&B
Woodpeckers B&B
#4 of 19 in Romsey
66 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cromwell Arms
The Cromwell Arms
#1 of 19 in Romsey
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Farm Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Farm Caravan Park

Property: Hill Farm Caravan Park
Address: Hill Farm Caravan Park Branches Lane, Sherfield English, Romsey SO51 6FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey > Sherfield English
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sherfield English
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Farm Caravan Park 4*
Also Known As:
Hill Farm Caravan Park Sherfield English, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing