We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bears Cove Inn(Witless Bay)(Great Value!)
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
58
37
15
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
37
15
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish loopdining roommistaken pointseafood linguinewonderful scenerywinter monthscarol annbite to eatentire stayspent one night herechowderpea soupbit datedfor saleview of the oceanstopped for lunchroom was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We were treated like visiting royalty even though we were only there for the night, The restaurant was excellent Enjoyed our stay and wished we had had more time to spend in the area.


Room Tip: Our room was large with lots of space. Missing was a suitcase rack and/or a second chair.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aryner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgeoftheAvalonAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Edge of the Avalon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Next time we sure hope you stay a bit longer! There is lots to see and do in the area. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are returning from a 2 week tour throughout Newfoundland staying at various B&B's + Inns, unfortunately we left Edge of the Avalon without glowing feelings. We stayed one night the first week of June.
The website photos are deceiving as the Inn is set back across the road and a distance from the water with the only view being from the dining room which isn't accessible after hours & the rooms have no view.
We were fortunate our stay was only one night here.
The few positives are the staff are friendly, the property was generally clean, and we enjoyed our dinner.
A major concern upon our arrival was the boil water advisory, and although we were provided with 2 bottles of water which we used for brushing our teeth, we used our own water for morning coffee as there were no staff around before 8am.
Our room was clean but the toilet in the bathroom was rocking and we had no hot water in the sink tap, and it wasn't until we ran the tub hot water tap for 10 minutes before even luke warm water arrived.
As mentioned, staff leave the Inn overnight & don't return until 8am so we couldn't express our concerns.
Only if there are enough guests do they bring a cook in for breakfast.
Needless to say for the price we paid, we were extremely disappointed, and this is the only accommodation we regretted booking on our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steelback24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgeoftheAvalonAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Edge of the Avalon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's always hard to hear that guests didn't have a good experience with us but thanks for taking the time to let us know so we can do our best to improve.

We have three suites that have ocean views but you are correct that the 10 rooms on the main floor do not. We are still very close to the sea where we are located, with expansive ocean views from our dining room or just by stepping outside the door and going for a walk. Views are everywhere in Trepassey.

The boil water advisory is a major concern for us too. We live in rural Newfoundland and Labrador. There are over 150 communities in the province that have the same issue. You are correct that you should have had access to more water and we will be addressing this. We don't have an onsite manager in the evenings but we are always reachable by calling the number of the Inn. Our manager has gone over at all hours to help guests that needed it. This might not help you now but it could help another who is reading the reviews.

When there is no chef in the mornings we do lay out a continental breakfast for our guests. We wouldn't want to see you leave hungry!

Thanks again for sharing your experience. We have some good points here to work on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

While my sleep was constantly interrupted by dog barking in room across the hall and people actually yelling at one another in the hall, it was to no fault of the inn’s….unless they say no barking dogs allowed. The inn itself was delightful. My room was clean, the staff super friendly, and the room was reasonably priced.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a bite to eat on our trip around the Irish Loop. The owner came by the table to greet us before our meal came. Service was great, meal was great (recommend the french fries), and appreciated having wifi available. We had a lovely view of the turquoise coloured water around the shore.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I've stayed here multiple times over the past few years - usually with clients while on nature tours. The location is great; the rooms are always clean, quiet & comfortable; the staff are friendly and helpful; and the food is always excellent!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews