We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Trepassey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Welcome!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bertha & Gerard run a very charming establishment with clean rooms with all the amenities (incl. fridges), several areas for guests to relax (living room, kitchen, patio, covered veranda) and conveniently located on the main road. But, what sold it for us was the lovely welcome. A cup of tea and fresh baked goods were served to us upon arrival along with a friendly chat with Bertha. The breakfast was hearty and very tasty. Everything a B&B should be.

Traveler's tip: Don't bother with going into town for a meal. Stay at the B&B for the evening and have Bertha's home cooking. One of the best meals we had on our trip and very reasonable too! Please book this well in advance to avoid disappointment. Bring a bottle of wine to the table and the meal is complete.

Trepassey is well placed for whale watching in season and has its own fascinating landscape and micro-climate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
118
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had the privilege of staying at the NW Lodge this August. Bertha and Gerard were the best hosts. They were friendly with tremendous sense of humour. The entire lodge was squeaky clean and so comfortable. We were invited to use their living room to relax and we made ourselves comfortable as if it was our own home. We had marvellous breakfasts and we requested dinner with Bertha and Gerard one night. They were happy to oblige. We had one of the most delicious dinners, ever! During our stay at the NW lodge, we met some very fine travellers as well. We definitely recommend Bertha and Gerard's. B&Bs to others. We also hope to visit them again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EST W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hosts at this B & B were very pleasant and friendly. They served a delicious breakfast of French toast with fresh fruit. Our room was the closest to the kitchen. The hosts had people over for dinner and it became quite noisy.However, I would certainly recommend this B & B - lovely people, lovely grounds, delicious breakfast and friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Book a room as far from the kitchen as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peonygarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was perhaps the best B&B of the six that we stayed at in Newfoundland. Very clean, comfortable and inexpensive. Wonderful hosts. Excellent breakfast. We drove the Irish Loop from St John's through Placentia, Cape St. Mary's(wow!), Branch, Colinet and St. Vincent's to Trepassey. The next day we went back to St John's through Renews and Tors Cove - a beautiful, breathtaking drive. We went to Newfoundland thinking that this would be our last visit, but we left thinking that we must go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Trepassey is off the beaten path, no doubt. We stayed here for 2 nights and had the best time. Bertha and Gerard are fabulous hosts, friendly, helpful and just want you to be as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was fabulous. Dinner is also available if needed. Our bedroom was comfortable, the bed was good. There was a small ensuite bathroom. There are limited plugs, so you may want to consider bringing a power strip for added plugs if you have electronics, cameras to charge. We had to rig up a CPAP far away from a far away outlet. The communal living room was very comfortable and we enjoyed spending time with Bertha and Gerard. There are also outdoor seating areas for guests. We truly came as guests and left as friends. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again


There are 2 restaurants in Trepassey , one is at the motel and the other is the First Venture. We ate at the First Venture 2 nights because the food was fabulous and very inexpensive. Of our entire 30 day trip, this was the best fish and chips we have had..be aware that they do not have a liquor license.
We visited St Shotts and St Vincent's beach where we spent hours just watching for Whales and watching the amazing gannets diving for fish. We had just missed the Capelin run by 1 week so only saw 1 whale, but it was a fabulous way to spend the day, talking with the locals and other tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank em-T-sails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wainfleet, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B for two nights - and left feeling as we were leaving good friends. The B&B has a separate wing for the bedrooms, which are large, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The rooms have a private bathrooms, ceiling fan and refrigerator in each room. There is a very large and comfortable common room, where we mingled with the other guests and with our welcoming hosts, Bertha and Gerry. It is obvious that they like what they do. Breakfasts were delicious: eggs, bacon, ham, hash browns, muffins and fruit the first morning; baked french toast with bacon, ham and fresh fruit the second morning. I am so glad that we made the decision to stay here.

Room Tip: I would guess that all of the rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willie3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed with Bertha and Gerard for 2 nights in July - they are genuinely nice people who provide very comfortable, clean and relaxing accommodations. After driving for hours, we could find a quiet place to just recharge. The Breakfasts are delicious and we loved being introduced to the local berry jams.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Box 5, Site 14, Trepassey, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 4B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Trepassey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trepassey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Northwest Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing