We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New landlord and menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn

The Old Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Halwell
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New landlord and menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I HAVE NOW HAD 3 MEALS WITH THE NEW CREW At the old inn 1 breakfast and two evening meals i agree that the menu is less varied however the quality of the fish pie and the steak and mushroom pie mains was excellent and the squid starter melted in the mouth probably the nicest squid i have ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geswedey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We called at the Old Inn at 2.40 p.m. on a Saturday afternoon, and were a bit concerned that we were too late for lunch. We needn't have worried, the staff were more than happy to serve us. Fortunately a couple of the specials were available, and my wife chose the rabbit pie. This turned out to be absolutely fantastic, to the extent that, having given me a forkful to try, my wife eat all the rest herself! I had the steak pasty, which was also very good. Both meals were very reasonably priced for the quality and quantity. Add to this a good range of local beers at very good prices and friendly staff - what more could you want? I wish we had a pub as good as the Old Inn where we live. We'll certainly call again when we're in that part of the West Country.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank britfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First visit under new management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was our first visit since The Old Inn has been taken over by the new manager.n The staff were friendly and the pub felt nice and warm, The food was tasty and the portion sizes generous. But the menu was a disappointment. Considering there are so many receipes and ingredients available today we thought the menu lacked imagination and was limited in choice especially for vegitarians. The Sweet menu could do with some lighter choices. Why is it that pubs always do such heavy puddings such as sticky toffee pudding? Overall we thought the food was above average but not wow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittycat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Four of us visited for an evening meal on the Friday, with a view to booking Sunday lunch. We had an excellent meal - light and fluffy omelettes and liver with onions on a mountain of creamy mashed potatoes. On the strength of that we went back for an amazing lunch of huge slices of roast beef and all the trimmings. Got on well with the landlord and family and enjoyed a bit of banter. Will definitely go again next time we are in Devon.
From GrannyOAP

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average meal, dated decor but warm welcome from Steve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We decided to pay the Inn a visit, having been fairly regular visitors in the past prior to the new landlord taking over.
Steve was friendly and welcoming but there was an older couple [parents perhaps?] who weren't particularly friendly.
Our table was booked for 7.15 and the food arrived at 8.45! Not good.
The menu was pretty average and didn't show much imagination or finesse, with things like omelettes, salads, liver and bacon, steak, fish pie, jacket potatoes, fish and chips etc. My husband had the fish and chips with peas. The fish was fairly small with many bones. The peas were nondescript and ordinary. My first choice was off and I had to make a further selection. We waited a long time, having been told initially it would be a 20 minute wait, it was more like 45 minutes.
The tables were dressed with pink and burgundy table cloths - an interesting combination!
There was no specials board.
Although the previous landlord had his foibles, in my opinion the menu choice was so much better together with the quality of the food.
We won't be returning unfortunately.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

Moreleigh, Devon
Blackawton, Dartmouth
 
Blackawton, Dartmouth
Littlehempston, Totnes
 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing