We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base from Which to Visit Roman Reconstructions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marc Aurel Landgasthaus
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were very happy with our three-night stay at the Marc Aurel Landgasthaus in Petronell. The room we had was clean and spacious, with a big window overlooking neighboring back yards and a chimney with a storks' nest. The ensuite bathroom was modern and spotless. The rate was a bargain 75 euros, possibly because we were there for multiple nights. We ate all our meals at the hotel, since we didn't have a car. The menu is very German (it's IN German, too; a bilingual version would be helpful if you don't have a dictionary). The young wait staff are very helpful and earnest about improving their English. In addition to the pleasant outdoor eating area, there are at least three big dining rooms (apparently the hotel often hosts seminars and sales meetings). The big draw, for these corporate groups as well as for us, is the open-air Roman museum about a 10-minute walk away, where Roman-era houses have been reconstructed using ancient building methods and materials. There are also many excavations dating back to the area's early-A.D. history as one of Rome's frontier fortresses, but they tend to be several kilometers apart. The hotel manager kindly arranged low-cost transportation to the Vienna airport for us so we wouldn't have a 2-km. hike to the train station before dawn.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlooking the road and the excavations beyond have dormer windows under a sloping roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was very impressed by the Marc Aurel Landgasthaus. I wasn't expecting much considering that it was in a small town with only the local roman remains as a tourist attraction. However, the place was spotlessly clean, the rooms were decorated nicely with modern furniture and comfortable beds and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

When it came to our evening meal, the guy running the restaurant explained that he was on his own that night (probably because it was a public holiday that day) and could only make snacks. My disappointment must have show clearly on my face because he came back a couple of minutes later to say that he had persuaded one of their waitresses to come in for the evening, which would allow him to cook us a proper meal. That meal turned out to be really good, so I was very grateful to him for putting in the extra effort for his customers.

Breakfast was good with all the usual items available.

The only downside was the noise caused by a late group of Japanese tourists and their takeover of the breakfast room in the morning, but that was not really the fault of the hotel.

Overall - excellent little hotel and great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located near archeological site of Ancient Rome period. It is quite far from the airport and one could reach it only by car. But the hotel is good enough with the acceptable price. Parking in front of the hotel. Internet is available for free, but not very fast. Guy in the restaurant made a custom-prepared salad :) Overall impression: we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eidoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is a small hotel in a town that probably doesn't get a lot of overnight tourists (being "too close" to Vienna) and probably Hainburg. So don't expect the trappings of a large city hotel or even a resort hotel. It's simply an excellent Gasthaus: clean, competent staff, perfectly pleasant rooms, and a surprisingly good restaurant that seems to attract a regional crowd.

Petronell is a small town, a village, really, so the hotel is similarly calm, almost sleepy. If you need to stay in town, the stay here will be a nice feature.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms. There may be street noise from the restaurant at night if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We got room 309 which had 5 beds, although we were only 2, me and my wife, then as it was up in the attic, I insisted to change it and we got a VERY small room, service is terrible, at breakfast they ran out of most of the food, even cups for tea, I asked for one and was never brought to me, I would not rate this 3 stars hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colezeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel seem to be new renovetade. The rooms are modern and clean with a flat screen tv. The restaurant offers very good traditional food and service was friendly and helpfull. We where for a weekend trip there and we realy enjoy it. If you just cross the street you would see the roman excavations.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitarProdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed there a place close to Vienna and Bratislava, since we were going to visit both cities. Located in a very small village, it was a nice relaxing place. The breakfast was so nice with everything included. The staff were nice and polite. It had a bar/restaurant that we used for night. The room was not so clean, we found a dirty ear cleaner in the room. The internet was so so slow for a place in the middle of Europe was not expected.
During the night two buses arrived, one with Romanian plate another Solvakian which made the hotel super crowded. We will stay in the same place, if we are to visit Vienna or Bratislava.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny_2_2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marc Aurel Landgasthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc Aurel Landgasthaus

Address: Hauptstrasse 10, Petronell-Carnuntum 2404, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Petronell-Carnuntum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Petronell-Carnuntum
Price Range: £51 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marc Aurel Landgasthaus 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Marc Aurel Landgasthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing