We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split decision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cordova Reef Village Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay very much. My wife and I spent 4nites at the resort. The grounds are well kept and at nite lit up nicely. Our garden villa was roomy, clean and quiet. The pool was great for young and old with lounge chairs and towels aplenty. The beach is less inviting. You can kayak and enjoy the view. The dining area was very nice but the menu somewhat limited. Breakfast could use a few items like cereal, yogurt and additional fruit selections. Lunch and dinner could use a push. Not much dining nearby except for the wonderful Lantaw restaurant about a 15 minute drive away. The staff were all well groomed and polite. If you are looking for quiet this place is fine but prepare yourself.

Room Tip: I found the garden villas most accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

There is no beach here for swimming - kayaking only.
If you like to swim in the sea like we do go elsewhere.
Personally, I didn't travel 7000 km to swim in the pool.

Poor and inconsistent wifi connection anywhere on the premises.

The hotel is very remote and the outside area, Cordova, is slums and doesn't look safe.

Anywhere you want to go, you should go by taxi - extra travel expenses.

Poor and overpriced menu - and not everything on the list is available.

The information you get at the reception is incorrect - e.g. the prices for the Maribago Blue Water resort was 450 piso, while when we arrived there, it turned out to be 1450 piso per person - day use.

The spa is not worth the money - very mechanical masseuses.

Positive:

Clean rooms


Summary:

We only slept at the hotel and tried to go elsewhere during daytime - Bohol, or Island hoping (which by the way we found a few times cheaper than suggested at the hotel - 3000 php for 4 people, instead of 5200 php per person).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HairyGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

You get what you're paying for so it would be best to set your expectations at a reasonable level since our were set high. The property has so much potential. The units are detached and clean and the grounds are relatively well kept.

Our biggest diss appointment was with the beach. It's about a 20-25 meter stretch of private beach protected by a sea wall. Not exactly what they advertised. You have a great view of the water if all you want to do is bask in the sun but to say this is beach front and put up out dated pictures is just bad taste. When we asked about this at the front desk, we were told "That is the complaint we receive regularly from guests" and that following our complaint, they were going to put up "real pictures" ...

We were told that they were fixing the beach and that they would organize boat trips to nearby island - this never happened apparently due to the conditions of the waters. Anyways, as already mentioned, the menu is limited, you'll know it by heart after your first meal and the karaoke bar next door will put american idol auditions to shame but such is life. Service at the resto/bar is inconsistent, sometimes slow sometimes speedy and not very organized.

overall, we made the best of the situation and some of the staff made us feel welcome and tried their best to make the experience more enjoyable given the beach situation and complaint.

I doubt I would return unless i knew for a fact that the management had turned things around and the beach was ACTUALLY a beach. Given what they charged us I'm giving this place average, but on a side note, agoda charged us and we had paid cash at the hotel. This might just be something on agoda's end so im not letting it affect the ratings.

Room Tip: - Set your expectations low
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imasifsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Cordova Village Reef Resort is an excellent hotel for anyone who wishes to relax in peace and quiet. Each room is a self-contained villa that is cleaned daily. The setting is by the sea and the complex has a large swimming pool that is cleaned daily. The price is very reasonable and includes a buffet style breakfast. The downside was the limited menu but the restaurants and bar had a nice ambience. The staff are friendly and keen to please. I will retire to Cebu soon and will certainly stay at this hotel again when i want some time to indulge myself and my friends.

Room Tip: Choose a poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poveygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is in an idylic little haven. The Villa's are individual, spacious, adequately equiped. The pool is great to relax in or use for good swim lengths. The beach front is clean, with a secluded bay area. Great if all you are looking for is to relax.
The staff are great, very friendly and helpful.
On the downside - There is very little else to do at the hotel. Food is limited (you'll know the menu after day one). Drinks are expensive, relative to Philippine costs. There are Karaoke bars close - so you get the Philippino singing in the background.
But - ask at reception and there are at least 3 decent Philippine Resturants within a short Taxi ride. Ask the Taxi to wait, they aren't expensive.
Diving can be organised - I used Kon Tiki. Get a Taxi, it's cheaper than the transfer they offer.
Massages are available on site - but it's not as good as the MDS one - 20mins free shuttle away (about same price).
Island Tours - including Whale Shark can be organised, by the very helpful staff.
Last comment - the hotel, while itself safe, clean etc. is at the end of Macatan Island. This is not a rich area of Cebu. Houses are 'Shanty' in nature. We never felt or saw any issues - we walked freely in the local town, with happy faces of the local children all around, it may be worrysome for some people.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are nice & bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had an excellent stress-free vacation with Cordova Reef Resort. it's the perfect place to unwind with its seaside location and tranquil surroundings. All of their staff are well-mannered, very accommodating, and extremely nice. The price was good, villas are clean and complete, and the food is delicious. I highly recommend the place.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Adeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a beautiful groups of seaside villas with best sea/beach views in such an excellent price! Though there is not much activities organized for fun, but what I needed that time is just accommodation and privacy. It was a perfect match! People who serve here are very nice people with professional attitudes and decencies! Just 3 more words for it, "Worth to Book!" in order to have good experience of solitude and take a good rest saving a great deal of money at the same time! Why Not?

Room Tip: Nearest to the beach! It is because of the excellent price also!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CordovaReef00, Front Office Manager at Cordova Reef Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for your heart warming comment, We cordova reef wish you all the best in your life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cordova
6.9 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
502 reviews
4.7 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
728 reviews
1.5 mi away
ALTA Cebu Resort
ALTA Cebu Resort
#1 of 4 in Cordova
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
#22 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
148 reviews
6.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
4.3 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordova Reef Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordova Reef Village Resort

Address: Sitio Bantayan Poblacion, Cordova, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Cordova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cordova
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cordova Reef Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Southern tip of Mactan Island, approximately 20 minutes from the Mactan International Airport, Cordova Reef Village Resort's unique round villas are nestled in lush tropical greenery in absolute privacy. The 4-hectare property has a generous sized pool and a view of the ocean where guests can watch the sunset and unwind at the resort's Kota Beach Bar.The resort is also within close proximity to Cebu's only floating native restaurant, Lantaw and a 20 minute boat ride to the Marine Sanctuary of Hilutungan where guests can snorkel and swim amongst at least 30 different species of marine life.Cordova Reef Village Resort is the ideal place that gives guests a simple and carefree idyllic vacation in a seaside village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cordova Reef Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordova Reef Village Hotel Cordova
Cordova Reef Village Resort Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing