We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Traube
Ranked #1 of 2 Bildstein B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Once arriving at the hotel, you may not want to leave. Hugo, the owner, pays attention to detail and is extremely pleasant and I believe he speaks Italian, French German and English. The staff speaks English. This is a small boutique hotel. Check in is quite informal. You may feel like you are coming to a friend’s house that just happens to have an expansive house high up on a mountain. Arrive early as you will want one of the 5 parking spaces, and to absorb as much of the fantastic view as possible. Parking is free and immediately by the door. He has a bridal suite with an ensuite Jacuzzi. But our regular room, #27, had a large balcony with table and chairs and that stunning view. Our room was polished and alp-chic with a sofa, desk, comfortable beds, modern fixtures, and a large spotless bathroom, with slippers and bathrobes, free wi-fi and an elevator. Complimentary bottled water. Safe, and wine and mini bar available as well. Breakfast, which is very good (eggs to order plus German style breakfast platter), is included. You can also have dinner here, and I suggest you do. Though not for anyone on a lower budget, or without a car, the rate was an exceptional value for an incredibly well run top quality establishment you may wish you just lived at. Guests vary, but are typically in their 30s to 60s. It is exclusive enough that celebrities could stay here, or just an ordinary tourist who wants to hide away in elegance for the night. Gem of a property! Usually I can find something not quite right at any property, but in this case, that was impossible!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with a view of the lake, mountain and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lots to say about the Traube!

Pros: The room was nice size with private bathroom, balcony overlooking Bodensee, clean, traditional German/Austrian breakfast of bread, meat and cheese, coffee, tea and juice and the owner will make eggs if you like. I thought the bed was very comfy and I usually get pain in my hips if the bed is too hard. Excellent dinner, though limited menu. Waitress spoke english too!
Beautiful sunsets and view all around the hotel. Lovely indoor and outdoor dining areas!

Cons: No air conditioning in the room, mini bar prices were quite high, WiFi was difficult; best reception was in the hallway, dinner was great but expensive, parking is very limited, steep narrow road to access the Traube, (be careful)!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel one night in July 2013. When we arrived to this hotel, we were shocked at the beginning. The hotel is located right across a church and – OMG - right behind the hotel there is a small cemetery. When we went into the hotel, a very welcoming man, hotel manager (probably owner too) met us and escorted to the room. On the way to the room I thought myself, OMG, what if the room window will overlook the cemetery?! My wife will kill me then! :-( But once we entered this beautiful room, we were astonished – what a view!!! The view alone was worth every cent we paid for the night we stayed in this hotel. All the rest was a very good addition to the view. The room had a balcony with a nice tea table and two garden armchairs with stunning view of the Rhine valley from the height of a bird’s flight! What a shame, I’m not a writer. I don’t have enough words to describe it. You should have just seen it. The room was beautiful with nice white coloured furniture. On the bed we found bathrobes and sleepers prepared for us. It was comfortable, clean and nice. Bathroom was a little bit small, but it was very well equipped and clean. We slept very well on good mattress with very good bed linen and pillow. Next morning we had to leave early, so when come to the restaurant there was no anyone from the staff, except the same man, who met us when we arrived. He served us breakfast. He was friendly and made his best to make us feel comfortable and welcome. If he reads this review, I’d like to thank him for everything. The breakfast was tasty with fresh bakery, cheese, bacon, ham, scrambled eggs, orange juice and coffee and we had it in fresh Austrian morning on the restaurant’s balcony and enjoyed the same great view. In short we really enjoyed this place. We forgot about the cemetery and frankly – dead people are the most quiet people on planet Earth :-).Really, I wrote about it with humour, since I really don’t want this fact to make you not to book this great hotel. You’ll enjoy it as we did. The only “fly in the ointment” that was not good was the WIFI and the Internet, which worked only near the manager’s office. But it might be that my tablet was not sensitive enough. I don’t know.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the easter weekend. Everything was perfect, Rooms big and confortable, Restaurant pleaseant and served good food. The location up on a steep hill could be difficult for some, but the view is woth while.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here with my family for two nights.
Pros: very quiet, picturesque village, rooms are well appointed and clean, staff friendly, nice breakfast, gourmet restaurant in the hotel.
Cons: little too remote, wi-fi connection included but virtually impossible to use due to weak signal, the beds were hard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank claude51rouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Restaurant Traube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Traube

Address: Dorf 85, Bildstein 6858, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Bildstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bildstein
Price Range: £117 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurant Traube 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Traube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing