We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home in the French Alps”
Your view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view!
Annecy, just a short drive away Natural light into the lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Your view!
Annecy, just a short drive away
Natural light into the lounge
Fully equipped modern kitchen
spectacular terrace  balcony view
Living room looks out directly to the stunning mountains
example of twin bedroom - there are 3 plus a double
Example of one of the two bath/shower rooms
Le Chatox
The colours of autumn
Annecy - the prettiest town in France
Les Massif des Bauges
The Terrace Balcony
Annecy in winter
warm fresh water for summer dips..thats Booby Mountain in the middle back in Les Bauges
Booby Mountain !
Le Chatox in winter
Annecy
Owner on top of Mt Colombier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Le Chatelard, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DyfedW
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home in the French Alps”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay as a family at Le Chatox and our first during the winter. The accommodation was as good as ever with all the facilities you would need for a very comfortable stay. The kids (& big kids) enjoyed the underfloor heating especially! The house remains a very comfortable base for a holiday whatever the season. Beautiful scenery and nature on your doorstep - no lizards or butterfly spotting this time, but the Birds of Prey could be viewed from the living room circulating high in the shadow of Mount Colombier.

We had explored the area during our previous summer trip so were well acquainted with all of the important landmarks and facilities (Supermarket in village, boulangerie,restaurants, scenic routes, Annecy, Aix, Chamonix etc).

Our intention during this trip was to sample the local alpine skiing at Les Aillons & Margeriaz ski resorts. We all thoroughly enjoyed the skiing and although the local schools were closed the slopes were never too crowded which was certainly appreciated by a family of skiing novices! The weather was good and allowed us to make full use of our reasonably priced lift passes. In fact I don't think we would have found a better value skiing anywhere else in the Alps.

As it was a skiing holiday we kept it local, but we were able to explore and have a meal in Annecy which remains as beautiful as ever.

We wish to thank Paul and Wendy for their hospitality and advice whilst planning the ski holiday. We look forward to counting down the months before our next trip (3rd trip already arranged for Feb 14)!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent facilities and location for exploring the beautiful countryside.
Liked least: Returning home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Wonderfully helpful review. Thankyou so much. Le Chatox needs a wing named after you now you've returned so any times !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn S
Gloucestersire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for a great skiing holiday”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two teenage children stayed at Le Chatox during the February half term. The chalet was perfect for our needs (and we are pretty fussy!) well equipped, warm, comfortable and clean. It had everything you could possibly need and more and great VFM. The two local ski areas were superb - excellent skiing conditions and very, very quiet. Absolutely no queuing for lifts - it was possible to do a whole run without seeing anyone else, except maybe a walker! Another bonus is the cost of ski passes, less than half the price of the big well known resorts. We will definitely consider a return visit. Thanks to our hosts Paul and Wendy for getting it just right.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing in particular - it was all good.
Liked least: Didn't dislike anything but just to be picky would have liked curtains and floor rugs in bedrooms.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2013
We're so pleased you and your family enjoyed your half term skiing... your comments are very kind and we hope you'll also consider Les Bauges in the summer when the lakes are warm and the sun hot. And all sooo peaceful and quite...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamelaHun...
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped chalet with stunning views of the mountains from its main living area and balcony. Two of the bedrooms also have a balcony with the same views. It was beautifully clean and had everything needed for either a summer or winter holiday, and there was excellent information about the surrounding areas - local shopping and restaurants etc.

The whole area is wonderful and nearby Annecy was gorgeous. Our holiday was a really delightful experience and we would certainly like to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Dear Alan and Pam. Thanks you for your kind review and of course we'd love to see you come and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review. Consider yourselves 'Chatoxed!'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Helier, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2012 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balconies in the sunshine
Liked least: Packing up and leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
I don't think we've had guests who packed so much into so little time. We're so glad you had such an adventure at Le Chatox with your biking and hiking! You know you're welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dartford
Reviewed 8 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2011
Merci Peter for you kind comments. Come back again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing