We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family trip to vendee July 2016”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove Dining room with log burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Heated swimming pool, surrounded with wooden decking,  with gazebo and fig tree shaded sitting area.
Dining room with a long farmhouse table and leather chairs in front of a log burning stove
Dining room with log burning stove.
Living room with large L shape leather sofa and a double leather sofa.
Kitchen.
Second door from kitchen leading outside to the terrace.
Kitchen.
Bedroom 2 with a kingsize double bed, with a door leading outside via stone stairs.
Bedroom 2.
Cabin Bed on the landing.
Bedroom 1 is a family room with a double and 2 single beds, chests of drawers and wardrobe.
Family bedroom showing the corridor to the cabin bedroom with bathroom access in between them.
Large slate round table under a covered, all weather area. just outside the dining room's door.
Upper terrace leading to the Summerhouse.
Heated pool bordered with wisteria, clematis, plum tree, rambling rose, rosemary and valerian.
Wendy House in orchard/garden with an apple tree in front, cherry behind and peach in foreground.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mervent, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheIntern...
London Gatwick
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family trip to vendee July 2016”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Big thank you to Steven and Geraldine - service, knowledge. Great wine in the evening and even delivered cold wine and ketchup when desperado !!!

Space was great, pool warm, outside space stretched to a play house, cows and a lane to explore.

Definitely need a car but great supermarkets within 15 minutes for all you need including a €2 car rinse.

Wifi only in lounge really (Steve please buy a wifi extender for rest of property / pool) - but kind of nice also as we could switch off, but get good wifi when we needed to :-)

Weather ok but got in the pool anyway as temperature in pool held up very well even with a few clouds.

Funny bathroom with tiny shower but functional.

Lovely couple of dogs and great French gite in vendee.

100% recommend the mervent zoo only 15 minutes away - do a couple of laps and bring a pic nic.

Thanks again, overall really great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outdoor space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
COACHMANA...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“this gite had everything!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful gite and surroundings, its the first time iv ever picked fresh walnuts! the walks straight from the garden were great for nelly our springer, completely free and safe for her.
There is so much to see in this area, although whatch what time you go as quite alot of activities were closed at this time of year, although we wouldnt hesitate to go back at this time because the gite, the food, wine and definately the company and help from the owners were amazing, we were blessed with good weather too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alliej990
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of French Heaven”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked our stay at La Fermette a year in advance, after reading how popular it had proved to be with other reviewers. On arrival we were greeted by Steven and Geraldine, who showed us around the property and the lovely outside areas. Unfortunately it was pouring with rain when we arrived but we were assured that it was a minor blip and true enough the sun was shining the next day. La Fermette is an excellent base from which to explore the surrounding area and there is a lot to do. One place we have wanted to visit for a long time is Puy Du Foy, which is is fantastic theme park and about an hours drive away. This is a must for an amazing day out - you will not be disappointed!
The property itself was very comfortable and spacious, and the pool area fantastic. Our teenage boys loved it, especially the little dinghy that was provided for our use. They also went fishing in the river, which is about a 10 minute walk from the garden. We ate out on the terrace every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner, which was very peaceful.
Steven and Geraldine are amazing hosts, and we were touched by their warmth and generosity. They also provided us with some much needed assistance when we had a problem with our car.
All in all we have had a fabulous holiday, La Fermette was everything we had hoped it would be.
Thank you S&G for everything!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the great swimming pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at la Fermette in early July 2015 and loved every minute.

The Gite is beautifully rustic and kitted out with everything you will need for a great holiday in La Vendee. Situated in a quiet area surrounded by farmland, but only a short drive to the nearest shops or 7km to a hypermarket in Fontenay.

Steve & Geraldine are such genuinely lovely people and were superb hosts throughout our stay. The pool was beautiful, clean and regularly attended to, very welcome during the extremely hot weather. The outdoor spaces were clean, tidy and perfect for relaxing in. Indoors the Gite is cool & furnished very tastefully to Steve & Geraldine's style.

A little piece of Heaven!

Can't wait to come back, x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts, Pool, BBQ, Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“La Fermette! Fantastic!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I stayed at La Fermette for two weeks in June 2015. What can I say? I was so impressed with this lovely gite. It was situated in a very quiet location with only bird song surrounding you. The gite is a converted farmhouse which is fully equipped with everything you need. If you like cooking the kitchen is equipped with good pans, casserole dishes, fresh herbs and excellent sharpened knives. The bedroom we used had a comfy bed with lots of pillows which enduced a good nights sleep. The hairdryer provided is a good powerful hairdryer so you can safely leave yours at home. Clean linen each week. Good towels provided. Two service washes a week all returned freshly washed and ironed. Bliss! Outdoors you have plenty of room with two terraces, a large garden with Wendy House, deckchairs and croquet set. The swimming pool is cleaned and covered every night and is not overlooked Steve and Geraldine the owners are so willing and helpful. We will be returning soon I hope,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness.
Liked least: Coming home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Doune, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning, amazing, comfortable, friendly”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I was invited to travel here with my brother, sister in law and three year old nephew, the Gite catered to all our needs, was quaint and comfortable with split terraces for rest and play. The owners Geraldine and Steve were so friendly and welcoming. We had fantastic weather and saw a lot of the gorgeous surrounding area.
Would love to go back.
Michelle

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing