We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eder

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eder
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Maria Alm
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The classic room we stayed in was very dated but clean. The menu for evening meal which we had to fill in at breakfast was in German with no translation but when we pointed this out we got a translation for the rest of our stay. A large party arrived on our second day and all the buffet salad was eaten by them. The bells start at 6am but you do get used to them.
Most of the staff were very friendly.
Very nice undercover sitting area. Not sure about the spa - no one really told us anything about what was available,all info was in German. No information was available in our room, and we were charged 5 euros for internet which we did not connect to.

Room Tip: Rooms at the church side have a good balcony. Better not choosing a classic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    52
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
118
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Four English riders used this as an overnight transit hotel before riding the nearby Gross Glockner into the Dolomites. It was easy to find, picturesque, comfortable and we were made very welcome. The waitresses (seemingly in national costume) were charming. We ate in the hotel having asked another diner what they were eating - and the food was excellent. Rooms were very good. We loved it. A shame we were only staying for one night. They even went out of their way to create room for our bikes to park right by the side door!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel was a very positive surprice: We were 3 generations, the rooms exelent, the spasuite a little disapointing (no spa). 5-7 courses dinner, served at Your table, Effiient waiters. Breakfast was excellent, sometimes with Prosecco, included freshl made eggdishes, smoked salman and "everything You can think of.
I checked Erwins review, disagree completely. The hotel was dominated by danes.
Erwins review shows that his travelling experience is very limited.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaioDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted to be close to the center & skiing area and yes, there is one positive side with this hotel: the location.

The rest I can not really recommend:

1) The room:
wasn't tidy! The roomservice was unprofessional. Positiv: the room was not used up. New furniture and a modern bathroom...

2) Owners & personal…
Looks like they prefer Germans and Italians…as we're not from any of these countries, we did not feel we were very welcome to stay. In addition they gave us no information were we can park our car etc…

3) Dinner/breakfast....
Dinner was ok but not 4 star!! The breakfast table so far was boring. Every day the same... fruit salad was not refilled...

4) Value…
They charge too much…ok, it has a great location in the centre, the hotel was renovated but that's it!…We visited several others hotel during our stay and I can tell you that most of the other ones have even better location & better rates…

This list goes just on & on…What I'm trying to say:
Mariaalm is a good location for little children & skiing. I'f you're looking for a great stay in Mariaalm, avoid this hotel and look for another one with much better value...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Erwin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed in Gasthof Eder last Winter season and the Hotel was excellent - Great central location with excellent food and service.
This year we received an email explaining that the owners had redeveloped the Hotel and decided to go back outside the Ski Season for a short break.
We were amazed by the outstanding quality and finish to the New Hotel. The original 30+ rooms had been refurbished to a very high standard, but the 32 New Rooms were truly oustanding. The family who own the hotel took great pride in showing us around the redevelopment.
As before, the Food and Service were both exceptional and very reasonably priced - Most main meals for around £10.
I would strongly recommend this Hotel if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

This winter I determined to visit a variety of the not so well known ski villages in Austria.

Maria Alm was one of my choices as it is right in the middle of Salzburgerland and is only 1 hour from Salzburg.

I had hired a small car in advance from Hertz , at Salzburg airport ,as I wanted the opportunity to move around and explore this area ....the car hire had cost me peanuts...I almost fell over when I was escorted to my small car........it was large enough for half the Austrian Olympic team !

My journey through Salzburgerland towards my destination was as if I was entering a Fairytale Kingdom.....tiny mediaeval villages with snow covered timber buildings and narrow lanes only wide enough for single horse carriages to pass....endless snow covered fields with wispy blue smoke rising from isolated farm houses....dappled rivers twisting along the valleys.....deepsnow clad pine forests rising over every mountain.....the freshsmells of the woodland and the farms were unbelieveable.

After a couple of stops in vintage Hollywood picture postcard villages I arrived in Maria Alm.

Maria Alm is a perfect small typical village , away from any main road and the Gasthof Eder is in the centre of the village........yes you guessed it ......opposite the Bakery , next to the 12th century church and if you have long arms , you can reach across the narrow street to the timber balcony of the house opposite.

The whole ambience of the Gasthof Eder is one of relaxation in typical surroundings. It is 3 minutes walk from the village ski slopes which cover beginners , intermediates and those advanced skiers wishing to avail themselves of their holiday injuries insurance schemes.

This Gasthof is actually a 4 star hotel which cleverly disguises itself as a mere Gashof Pension . Bedrooms are superb , large and extremely well furnished ; my bedroom had a first class bathroom with a huge bath ( nice after a day`s skiing ) ,a bed to die for , a large sitting and relaxing area and a wide balcony overlooking the old Church .......a must for any visitor is to go inside this church ......I will not spoil the surprise but let it suffice to say ..........it is absolutely amazing..........you will probably never visit such an awe inspiring church ever again !

Meals in the Eder are something else........breakfast is stated in the brochure as " a hearty breakfast " .......this is a blatant lie ! Breakfast is a means by the Eder to try to kill you by over feeding you with delicious and gargantuan selections............Dinner is worse .............6 .........yes 6 courses ; here in Blighty , one of these courses would normally be my evening meal..........there is a choice of food each evening within these courses ..........I really cannot fault their menu at all.

Underneath the Gasthof is a large Wellness area which was never crowded at all. I went at varying times of the afternoons and found it spacious and peaceful.

The owners and staff at the Eder speak perfect English and could not do enough to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay.

This village is small , by Kitzbuehel standards but has everything a visitor or skier could want. The views on all sides are fantastic and walking is wonderful. Skiing is good in the village and ski buses operate every 10 minutes to the larger slopes outside the village.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Eder ......it felt like home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I really love this place! Quite honestly, this is the best hotel in Maria Alm. The food is amazing. The people are friendly. The Gasthof has creative ideas. - So, I got the information that they will extend the Hotel to a 4* Hotel with swimming pool and climbing wall.... so, there will be more and more features at the number one place in the center of Maria Alm.
See you there!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia74philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maria Alm
0.0 mi away
AlpenParks Resort Maria Alm
3.3 mi away
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
Urslauerhof Berg & Spa
#3 of 7 in Maria Alm
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lohningerhof
Hotel Lohningerhof
#4 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thalerhof
Hotel Thalerhof
#7 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ritzenhof
Hotel Ritzenhof
#1 of 4 in Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eder

Property: Hotel Eder
Address: Am Dorfplatz 5, Maria Alm 5761, Austria (Formerly Gasthof Eder)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Maria Alm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Maria Alm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eder 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eder, 4 star - 50 years of hospitality! "The Eder" has been spoiling its guests for 50 years, first as a guesthouse, and now has a four star hotel. Now, just as then, hospitality, good food, and a special atmosphere are the main pillars of the business. Being so close to the Hochkönig, your holiday in the 4 star Hotel Eder will be relaxing and full of experiences, looked after by a hotelier family, who genuinely enjoy looking after their guests. That's what makes a holiday in Maria Alm unforgettable. Hotel Eder: Love at first sight! Pure alpine Lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eder Maria Alm, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing